We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stop for breakfast”

Wildings Tea Room and Riverside Terrace
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stop for breakfast”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Stopped here for breakfast before a walk in the Yorkshire Dales. The service was excellent, the food was lovely and fresh, didn't try the cakes but they looked delicious. Will definitely go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JAH42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    45
    17
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
York, UK
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

A potentially difficult day, with two unconnected problems meaning that all "main meals" were off th menu and the credit card machine had failed! Nevertheless, we persisted and were rewarded with good salads, hot baguettes and decent coffee (Latte). Service was competent and friendly and the riverside ambience very pleasant.

This restaurant is 14 miles fro Harrogate and should properly be listed under Pateley Bridge. There is plenty of competition here but Wildings merits a further visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank flipper2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Appalling customer service”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Having taken my family, including my elderly mother, out for the day we had the most awful experience at Wildings Tea Room. We selected to share a cafetiere but it was so heavily filled with ground coffee that we found it tricky just to push the plunger down! The coffee itself was so overpowering that it tasted like thick tar which immediately made our stomach turn, which is saying something as we are all avid coffee drinkers! After trying to add hot water to no avail, we then politely explained to the waitress that the coffee was rather strong and could she possibly bring a second weaker cafetiere. It appeared evident that nothing was wrong with the coffee, merely that it had been made far too strong. Another waitress appeared moments later demanding to know what was wrong with the coffee. At no point did she show any customer care or consideration, apologise, or value our opinion. Her answer was simply "that's the weakest coffee we do." Furthermore, my crumpets were heavily lathered in butter to the extent that they were greasy. On paying the bill, we were charged for the coffee we had not drunk. I explained that as we had not drunk the coffee I was not prepared to pay for it, to be answered in an aggressive manner with "you have to pay for it because we wasted £6 worth of coffee on you!" I was absolutely flabogasted at the way in which this waitress spoke to me and the whole experience upset my aged mother. Never before have I experienced such lack of respect, care, and general customer service. Never again will I be visiting this tea room and all I can hope is that other people do not stand for the same disgraceful customer service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Customerreview2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, England
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Just what you'd expect from a real English Tea Room”
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We often call in here when in Pateley Bridge. A lovely old pump room by the river that has been converted into a tea room. The decor is a little old fashioned but that is part of its charm. Excellent location by the river & adjacent to the car parks. Lovely outside seating area by the river.

Homemade baking at its best. Cakes are delicious & portions are generous.
Hot sandwiches are to be recommended.
Service is very good, staff are attentive & will respond quickly to any requests.
Elderly & disabled customers are made to feel comfortable & welcome.

They also have a curious selection of magazines to read; old copies of the Dalesman & Interesting local walking books.

Wildings is a popular place so you may have to wait till you're seated.
Don't worry, it's worth the wait.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nickel40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
607 reviews
378 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 289 helpful votes
“Reliable place with some really nice simple food”
Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

We have eaten here 3 or 4 times a year for several years & have found it very reliable over that time. The menu has plenty of choice with good simple food, the steak pie is excellent! Slightly disappointing that they don't provide real clotted cream with their scones but the cakes & puds are very good so there are plenty of sweet choices. Efficient staff and seats inside & out so we've never had to wait long for a seat.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Corb2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wildings Tea Room and Riverside Terrace also viewed

Pateley Bridge, North Yorkshire
Pateley Bridge, North Yorkshire
 
Pateley Bridge, North Yorkshire
Pateley Bridge, North Yorkshire
 
Pateley Bridge, North Yorkshire
Pateley Bridge, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Wildings Tea Room and Riverside Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing