We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Yorke Arms

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pateley Bridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Yorke Arms
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pateley Bridge
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

We have just returned from an overnight stay at The Yorke Arms. We stayed in the Pheasant bedroom and were very comfortable, with a lovely large bed, luxurious toiletries, a cafetiere of coffee and fresh milk, freshly baked flapjack and brownies and plenty of magazines. But of course, the main attraction was the food and the real reason for choosing to stay here. We were blown away by the quality. Every tiny part of each course was planned and executed to perfection and every mouthful delivered exceptional flavours and textures. I also loved the personal service, we were met at the door and shown to our room straightaway. Afternoon drinks were served in the residents bar with handmade crisps by attentive staff. Such is the personal touch that we didn't need to sign for them and when we asked for a bottle of water to be brought to the room as we left the restaurant, we didn't have to give our name or room as staff simply know their guests. As we enjoyed an aperitif prior to dinner, the chef came around to ask if we had any questions about the menu and made us feel very welcome. Again, in the morning when we asked to borrow a map book (as we mistrusted the way our Satnav had brought us), the lady at Reception helped us by giving really detailed directions for a more direct route. All in all, a thoroughly enjoyable stay, amazing food and I very much look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tallulah2127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    93
    24
    15
    13
See reviews for
43
276
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
197 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

We went for the food, but as a hotel it is excellent. Lovely log fires in a gorgeous old building, with good size rooms and very comfortable beds, and helpful staff. The range of drinks was impressive, and the setting is beautiful, although you might prefer to go in decent weather, as it is a bit remote. Breakfast was also very good - a pleasant change from the usual standard (and not great quality) English breakfast that is so common.

Room Tip: Although all rooms are good, we felt it was worth upgrading to the suites for a special occasion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikePatx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

A perfect pint of Black Sheep in the quaint lounge in front of a roaring log fire was just what I needed after a long drive.
I was a bit peckish so asked for a bag of crisps and was served a nice bowl of crisps and had a good chat with the friendly and courteous waiter who was genuinely interested in our conversation.
Our evening meal was excellently cooked, well presented and without problem, even though we were a fair sized party. Food was delicious and not over seasoned, which can be an experience in some Michelin star establishments.
I experienced only courteous staff who showed none of the disinterested traits mentioned by some contributors to TA.
The room was well set out, reasonably spacious for a property of this type, clean and with good facilities that all worked properly.
I felt very welcome and will come back.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank pierrebleu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

We knew their reputation as a high end hostelry with a Michelin star restaurant in a beautiful setting - so we were expecting a lot. Booked ourselves a one night stay with dinner to treat ourselves for our wedding anniversary. We were not disappointed - we had a wonderful visit. Frances Atkins culinary delights were exceptional - food beautifully presented and packed with flavours to die for. We selected a delicious (but pricey) wine to go with the food and overall our evening was everything we had hoped for. Bedroom was spacious but with that cosy feel that you just don't gets in chain hotels. Breakfast was scrumptious and generous - black pudding was a special highlight. It poured with rain the whole time we were there but we were so comfy in the hotel it didn't matter and we still managed a fairly long walk on the Sunday with flask of tea courtesy of room tea-making facility - thankyou! We were sorry to leave this cocoon of delight and it is definitely on our "to do again" list when next we can justify it! Now let me think...

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnneKLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake District
Level Contributor
223 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

My partner and I were walking around Nidderdale when we came across the Yorke Arms, perfect just at lunch time and the heavens had just opened! It looked fabulous from the outside, what a find, now all we needed was a huge log fire, hot soup, real ale and somewhere to dry the waterproofs! When we walked in, I have never felt so un comfortable, we asked if they were still serving lunch and were looked at as if we had just crawled out from under a stone.... we were told that lunch was rather an exclusive menu and perhaps not what we had in mind..... I thought my partner was going to explode! I asked for half a lager, after looking to see that a small glass of red wine was £6.95..... and my partner asked what real ales they had on....again it was very clear we werent wanted, they didnt have lager and just one beer. He did say he would see if he could 'find some crisps for us'....... I suggested my partner sat down in the foyer area and we politely took off our waterproofs and put our rucksacks down, our coke and glass of beer came and a dish of crips was put on the table. All the while we sat there a women kept walking by (very smartly dressed) and just kept 'watching' us, she never spoke or actually looked straight at us, but as if she was counting the cushions to make sure we didnt pinch them! we have never felt so uncomfortable. We finished our drinks and left, they couldnt get rid of us fast enough. There were 3 people having some lunch, otherwise the place was deserted. Not a nice yorkshire welcome!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Helvellyn2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esher, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

We have been coming now to The Yorke Arms for at least 8 years, why ? When we live 300 miles away and there are so many quality hotels, good restaurants, in lovely settings around the country . Well, because in the case of this wonderful establishment it is difficult to better the experience. both from the quality of food and service as well as the quiet, isolated but stunning setting in the Yorkshire Dales. Frances Atkins and her team of talented chefs excel in providing culinary delights of originality and superb taste, the hotel team led by John Tullett compliment the experience with style and grace. But for us it is the sheer excellence of the dining experience that entices us back again and again, year after year. It never fails to excite and satisfy for which we give grateful thanks to this supremely talented chef and her team.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnSnel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

We planned this special trip for my husband's 40th birthday. Given previous advice regarding room choice I telephoned many months in advance to get the right room. I choose room 15, which was part of the old hotel, with a massive bath capable of allowing two people comfortably.

On arrival to the hotel we were welcomed warmly and shown to our room. We were very pleased with it. Beautiful comfortable furnishings and a bathroom to die for (though no door if you are bothered by privacy). We immediately set about to have bath. No hot water. After discussion with reception apparently the boiler had broken. They were very apologetic and we were upgraded to one of the superior courtyard apartment suites (room 17). Again, the furnishings were beautiful and a great space, but a bit lost for a one night stay - ideal if you are spending a few days at the hotel. BUT the bathroom had a normal bath, so for us we had lost the something we were really looking forward to, and we preferred the original room.

The dinner was overall very good. Drinks and nibbles in the bar. Meal and wine ordered. We ordered a jug a tap water for the table. The waitress recommended we didn't have the tap water as it wasn't considered ideal. What! Crisp Yorkshire water. It was ok to drink from the tap in the room (as there was no bottled water on offer here) but not in the restaurant. Starters and main courses were some of the best food we have ever tasted. Subtle flavours permeated through the food. Absolutely amazing. The dessert however let it down. I am fully willing to accept I may have made the wrong choice, but both desserts were lacking flavour, taste, and artistic flair. It is as though they haven't got a pastry chef at the moment. I left most of mine.

We asked a couple of questions about the flavours in the food via either the waiter or waitress throughout the meal and neither knew the answer. They were not difficult questions and it was clear they didn't know their product. They didn't offer to find out either. The waitress didn't enquire about why I had not eaten my dessert. I know we should comment if we have something to say but it is difficult to do this in a quiet restaurant.

We had a great sleep in extremely comfortable bed. The breakfast was also excellent.

To summarise; beautiful food and flavours, let down by the dessert and table service. The faulty bath/hot water let down a key element of the trip but understand things happen and they tried to rectify the problem. For the cost I expect perfection and sadly it was a little lacking.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bunnyhop_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pateley Bridge
11.5 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
17.3 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,405 reviews
8.1 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#2 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,191 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
12.1 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yorke Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yorke Arms

Property: The Yorke Arms
Address: The Yorke Arms, Pateley Bridge HG3 5RL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pateley Bridge
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pateley Bridge
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
The Yorke Arms Hotel Pateley Bridge
Yorke Arms Pateley Bridge
Yorke Arms Hotel
The Yorke Arms Pateley Bridge, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing