We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice pub, lovely service”
Review of The Yorke Arms

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pateley Bridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Yorke Arms
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pateley Bridge
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice pub, lovely service”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

It seems we had a different experience to our fellow walkers in other reviews - maybe this is in response to those reviews.

Having had a very hostile reception in a pub in nearby Lofthouses we carried on walking hoping that this wasn´t going to be characteristic of the nidderdale way. Finding the Yorke Arms we were very pleased that despite its "poshness" and our ragged state after walking for 6 hours we were given quick friendly service with our much needed drinks, lovely pint of Black Sheep.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    97
    28
    15
    13
See reviews for
45
290
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

I took my wife to celebrate her birthday last week having enjoyed a Sunday lunch earlier in the year.
We were upgraded to the Gouthwaite suite which was beautiful. The only complaint is the noise caused by turning on any water.
The restaurant, the service, the gardens (particularly the vegetable/salad/fruit area) are all wonderful. I could nit pick about the food but doing so would take away from a great experience. Go enjoy it. It's fabulous!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CampbellAsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
167 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Yorke Arms

The Yorke Arms is about four miles north of Pately Bridge. It is an old building with lots of characters, and the uneven floors and lots of steps that go with such places. We had a brief one night stay in July 2013 (room 15). The room was large, with a comfortable albeit small double bed with a comfortable, soft mattress. The bathroom was also very large, with a proper walk-in shower as well as a bath. One minor irritant was that the wardrobe had those annoying hangers that detach to prevent guests walking off with them, but are a bit of a hassle compared with normal ones; given the level of the hotel I would have expected that they could manage proper hangers. However that is really the only quibble; otherwise the room was excellent.

The lounge was large and comfortable, with wifi in the lounge but not in the rooms (a function of the thick walls of the building, apparently). Staff were friendly and helpful. The kitchen had, at the time of writing, a Michelin star, so is one of the top-rated ones in Yorkshire.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andy Hayler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Staying in Richmond recently and wanted to have a memorable dinner locally, so this seemed the place to go to. Had a wonderful drive over the fells and saw both curlews and a barn owl. Staff very welcoming. Didn't like the dinning room particularly..seemed very dingy and dated though I realise this was probably partly in keeping with the age of the property.
Generally the meal was good but I opted for the cheese course, which I must say, was pretty abysmal, straight out the fridge, foreign and tasteless. There are many local cheeses and they should be on the cheeseboard !

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TS333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wadhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

My wife and I had a one night stay during our walking tour of the Lakes and Yorkshire. The Yorke Arms is blessed to have a beautiful and quiet location. We had a suite which was very well appointed overlooking the front courtyard and comfortably furnished with a homely feel. Do explore the gardens and in particular the wonderful vegetable and fruit gardens which are maintained impeccably...I was very envious. Also say "hello" to the pigs and chickens tucked away at the bottom of the vegetable gardens as given their enthusiasm at visitors, obviously get lonely down there ;-) Whilst not cheap, this is clearly a hotel where you get what you pay for and get it in spades...don't miss it! We stayed for dinner as well (separate TripAdvisor review) and that simply made our visit.

Room Tip: Our suite was wonderful...I can't remember the name, but as you look at the front of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graeme P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We have two elderly dogs and thought the stairs in the hotel would be too much so opted for a cottage, which was excellent. With the weather being fabulous and subsequently hot our two four legged friends thought the kitchen stone floors just what the vet had ordered.
We enjoyed our pre dinner drinks on the terrace and the service was amazing, in fact that was the case through out our stay all the staff were a credit to the establishment. Dinner was superb, each course was a delight both in taste and quantity. I am not really a sweet tooth person but I succumbed on both our nights stay. It's difficult to extoll the merits of a breakfast but again they were excellent.
Only fault was that I filled the bath only to find it was full of cold water as the taps were the wrong way round!
We will save up to go again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biddys78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Standish, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

If you want a get away fro it all break with luxury and stunning food this is the place for you. We have been to the yorke arms on numerous occasions and it never fails to impress. Room 20 is in the courtyard and is wonderful with lots of light and a separate lounge. We had the 8 course tasting menu which was sublime. My only criticism was the delay for coffee. However apologies were offered and no charge made.

I would recommend a stay to all.

Room Tip: The bijou room are perfectly designed but small
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pateley Bridge
11.5 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
8.3 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
7.9 mi away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#2 of 5 in Ripon
1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,529 reviews
12.1 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
457 reviews
8.1 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yorke Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yorke Arms

Property: The Yorke Arms
Address: The Yorke Arms, Pateley Bridge HG3 5RL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pateley Bridge
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pateley Bridge
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
The Yorke Arms Hotel Pateley Bridge
Yorke Arms Pateley Bridge
Yorke Arms Hotel
The Yorke Arms Pateley Bridge, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing