We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Harefield Hall
Nearby Hotels
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$322
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$432
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$350
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$333
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Unicorn(Ripon)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Yorke Arms(Pateley Bridge)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Talbot House(Pateley Bridge)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Black Horse Hotel(Grassington)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (382)
Filter reviews
382 results
Traveller rating
278
70
14
14
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
278
70
14
14
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshoneymoon suitestunning viewsbar areawell stocked barlog firefour poster bedwedding venueenjoyable stayfantastic hotellocal villagereal alesmoked salmon and scrambled eggsbeautiful buildingpielovely foodcomfy bedweekend break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
221 - 226 of 382 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We stayed in the bunk house at Harefield Hall for my sister's Hen Do weekend. The whole experience was brilliant. The staff were really helpful right from the start answering my many questions and assisting me with the booking process. On the weekend itself we were really well looked after. The bunk house was perfect; really clean and spacious and at a competative rate. We had both breakfast and lunch in the hotel and both were really good. The Hall is situated in lovely grounds and we enjoyed a number of short walks before heading into Harrogate. After the Hen do, a number of the girls in our group contacted me to say how good the accommodation was. I would thoroughly recommend the hall to anyone, but particularly for group bookings - just right.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jo l, Manager at Harefield Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Our 'Bunk House Hens'!! The Bunk House is a fairly recent addition to Harefield Hall, given the current financial climate we felt it would be a great use of these two rooms for two reasons. Firstly it makes the Hall accessible to customers who are on a 'budget' and secondly it serves to increase our customer base which is crucial to increase revenue to facilitate further improvements. I'm pleased you enjoyed the new bunkhouse and your stay in general, best of look for the 'Hens' big day.

Kindest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

I booked this hotel after reading reviews on Trip Advisor. I booked one night stay on Saturday 8th March and combined the trip with some walking along the Nidderdale Way.
First impressions were how smoky it was inside with a wood burner we could smell smoke all the way through the building. I paid a little extra for a superior room and although the room was spacious clean and tidy the bathroom was dull and old fashioned and let the room down.
The staff are fabulous very friendly and nothing was a problem to them. The hotel has huge grounds and I would imagine in summer it looks lovely. We sat outside with a bottle of wine and enjoyed the sunshine. Its situated just outside pately bridge and easy to walk into the the centre but very dark once you leave the car park. A nice hotel but does need some updating in parts.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Creamtea1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jo l, Manager at Harefield Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Thanks for your review and your observations. As I mentioned in my response to the previous reviewer we took Harefield Hall on four years ago, the buildings and grounds were in a terrible state after years of neglect. We have been endeavouring to renovate the Hall and Grounds as fast as we can when funds and time permit, as we have to do a lot of the work ourselves when we're not working with customers. I'm sure you will appreciate how difficult it is in the current financial climate and with room prices being driven down to such a degree to make enough money to facilitate improvements. It becomes a vicious circle. That said we do as much as we can as often as we can but this does take time. As you will have read in previous reviews the ongoing improvements are a common theme and many customers love coming back to check on our progress and feel that the friendliness and atmosphere more than compensate for any imperfections. I believe that the bathroom to which you refer is 'on our list' to be renewed, but I must stress that it is perfectly functional, clean just a little dated. I hope that if you return it will have been updated by then….hopefully! Regarding the fire, it isn't a wood burner, rather a very large 15th Century open fire place which can give rise (extremely occasionally) to smoke under certain climatic conditions. I apologies if you feel this affected your stay with us. I'm glad you enjoyed the other aspects of your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We discovered Harefield Hall, by chance, when on holiday in 2012. We were impressed with the wonderful food, atmosphere, stunning building and location that we vowed to return. Which we did in 2013 for a wonderful Holywood new year's eve where the food, decor and party atmosphere did not disappoint. It was only fitting that we then returned for Valentine's in 2014, where we were again met with fantastic food and a warm welcome by the staff and hosts Mike and Elaine. We are already planning a return trip. This really is a gem of a place, which we cannot recommend enough, and has become so special to us that we are now planning to have our wedding here.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank sparkles s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jo l, Manager at Harefield Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

It's always very heart warming when we here that a customer/s have formed a connection with Harefield Hall, we fell in love with this building over 10 years ago and had the opportunity to begin renovations when we took over four years ago. It is and continues to be a labour of love so thank you so much for your kinds words of support. We look forward to making your big day a very special one.

kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

From the moment my husband and I walked into Harefield Hall, we loved it. The rooms were quirky and full of character; there was a welcoming roaring log fire in one leading to a cosy bar area lit with candles and fairy lights. We booked to stay for a Fawlty Towers Murder Mystery Evening which was held in a lovely intimate dining room. The food was delicious and they served home-made chips! Above all, the staff were friendly and helpful. Best things about Harefield? The homely atmosphere, staff and food. We enjoyed it that much we booked for the 'Scarefest' in October. If you're reading this, don't hesitate... go!

Room Tip: If don't intend to go to bed early, stay in a room above the bar!
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmazingGrace011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jo l, Manager at Harefield Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Hi Mark, Thanks for the great review, we're so glad you enjoyed the Harefield Hall and the Fawlty Towers evening. It was great fun for us too. We have another themed evening coming up on 17sth May which is a Jazz Evening with an Evening meal and also on the 31st May we have a 1920's Murder Mystery evening including a 3 course dinner. Hope to see you at one of these…or both!! Thanks again hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We have just returned from Harefield Hall having visited this weekend for the Fawlty Towers Murder Mystery Night.

On arriving, we immediately felt at home and relaxed. The whole feel and atmsophere was lovely. Our rooms were just superb. Lovely size rooms with High Ceilings and very tasteful period style furniture. A big comfortable bed and lovely views.

Down to the bar which had a lovely ambience about it with a genuine period feel and subtle lighting and a well stocked bar with genuine real ales and an excellent selection of pure malts.

The Fawlty Towers murder mystery was just so much fun. The food was nothing short of excellent served by very friendly, efficient and attentive staff. A truly memorable evening.

After a great nights sleep it was down to Breakfast and what a selection. Everything from a Very full English to Eggs Benedict. Again, the food was excellent, all locally produced and fresh.

In Summary I cannot praise Harefield Hall enough. Mike and Elaine are perfect hosts with lovely friendly staff to match. The whole feel of Harefiled Hall is conducive to a an enjoyable stay. We cannot wait to come back !! Thank you so much !!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jo l, Manager at Harefield Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Hi Mark, Thanks for the great review, we're so glad you enjoyed the Harefield Hall and the Fawlty Towers evening. It was great fun for us too. We have another themed evening coming up on 17sth May which is a Jazz Evening with an Evening meal and also on the 31st May we have a 1920's Murder Mystery evening including a 3 course dinner. Hope to see you at one of these…or both!! Thanks again hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews