We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Natural wonder”

Stump Cross Caverns
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Natural wonder”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We went on a rainy day with 3 children aged 10,3,2. We did feel it was a little overpriced for a hour the walk took. We did enjoy the natural sights and the fairyhunt which kept the little ones amused. There are plenty of steps and rough under foot and areas where you need to bend down but its caverns I wouldnt of expected anything different. Wouldnt go again but glad we have been.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    98
    30
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great couple of hours”
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

Great time exploring the depths Really interesting to be able to "go back in time" so to speak. The decent is by a number of steps however it's well worth it. Plenty of different chambers to view, and although can be visited whilst wearing shoes, boots or trainers are better as it can be wet under foot in places

Helpful?
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“EXPENSIVE!!”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Just had a trip to stump cross caverns. Although it was very interesting we found it very expensive. You take an unguided tour of the caves which takes approx. 30 mins. We are a family of 5 so it cost us nearly £30. Its is £7.50 per adult and £4.95 for children and they don't do a family ticket! We all enjoyed it but it was very expensive for just 30 minutes.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank campingqueen2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ringmer, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Good value attraction, excellent cafe”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

I first visited when I was about ten years old, over thirty years ago. Beautiful formations in a fairly accessible cave system. Hard hats essential. Don't go if you're tall & can't stoop for any length of time. Shop interesting & with good information about the cave & its formation.

The only negative is that every major formation has had to be fenced off to prevent damage or removal by visitors, which dulls the effect but is quite understandable and probably more of a sad indictment of humanity rather than a slight on the Stump Cross proprietors. However they saved one of the best bits till last, an entire unspoiled grotto complete with the finest detailed tracery stalactites, lit but fenced off. See it at its best by bringing your eye right up to the fence or take the image with you by poking your camera through. Beautiful.

The cafe provided us with generous portions of delicious food for excellent prices, and some of the best quality and attention to detail experienced in our two days in the Dales. Very sweet staff. Excellent stuff.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TheDashingDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Ok”
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

We've been a couple of times now. It's OK ... Maybe a 7/10 and deffo worthwhile if its wet outside!

Only criticism would be that its a little over priced ... A 25% reduction would be more reasonable.

Helpful?
4 Thank bimeycharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stump Cross Caverns also viewed

Clapham, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Pateley Bridge, North Yorkshire
 
Middleham, North Yorkshire
Lofthouse, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Stump Cross Caverns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing