We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop over on the nidderdale way”
Review of Roslyn House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Roslyn House
Ranked #1 of 12 Pateley Bridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Stayed here as a central location while walking the nidderdale way in three days.
I had a single room, good quality extra,s in the room, water, biscuits, chocolate and sweets, just what you need after a long days walk
The breakfast had an excellent choice for those of us who don' t always want the usual fry up.
Plenty of places to eat within walking distances and also the advantage of a pick up from the owners to collect your car etc.

Room Tip: I was on the to floor s very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrendaCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoslynHouse, Owner at Roslyn House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2013

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (301)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

219 - 225 of 301 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2013

This was the 2nd time we had stayed here and it has changed hands since our previous visit 7 years ago and is even better than before. Rooms and public areas clean and well decorated, beds comfortable and bathrooms shining. Breakfasts freshly cooked to order with a choice of cereals and fresh fruits to start (eg strawberries). Very good toiletries in the bathroom, de-caff as well as regular coffee in bedroom with biscuits fresh and crisp and NOT custard creams, and even 2 small bars of Cadburys milk chocolate. Have stayed in far bigger, far more expensive places at far worse value. Keep up the good work - you deserve to be very successful.

Room Tip: No lift and 2 flights of stairs if you are on the top floor so those with mobility problems should a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mcatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoslynHouse, Owner at Roslyn House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2013

Great to see you again, thanks for the excellent review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We stayed one night at Roslyn House last week and we wish that we had had time to stay longer. It is a gem of a place. Our stay was a gift from our daughter who thought that her dad might like to visit as he has fond childhood memories of the area. Our room was clean and comfortable with a lovely little en-suite shower room. We were on the top floor (room 6) which did mean quite a few stirs but not too taxing! The staff are brilliant - really friendly and very efficient and the breakfasts are really amazing.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoslynHouse, Owner at Roslyn House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Lovely to meet you and that you enjoyed your short break with us at Roslyn. Glad the little gift work so well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Just returned from a 5 night stay in order to complete the whole Nidderdale Way (53 miles) offered as a four day walking package by Roslyn House. Excellent, very comfortable, spacious accommodation (Room 1) with delicious breakfasts provided each morning to fuel our daily ventures. The advantage of having a luxury Mercedes estate car to pick up or take out each day is a bonus making a problem free, achievable and enjoyable experience. The Nidderdale Way is a scenic and varied walk in beautiful North Yorkshire, one of the best distance walks we have undertaken. A nice touch was our Certificate of Completion waiting for us in the room on day four. So a big thank you to Lawrence, Liz and staff for your friendly service and assistance allowing us to complete our adventure.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CPnEP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoslynHouse, Manager at Roslyn House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Great to meet you all and many thanks for the fantastic review, Liz and I are pleased you enjoyed the Nidderdale walk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed in Roslyn House In July 2013. We were greeted on arrival by Lawrence who immediately offered to help us with our luggage. Our room was spacious, comfortable, very clean and well appointed with a good size ensuite bathroom. Lawrence and Liz were very helpful and gave us some good tips on where to eat locally. Breakfast was delicious and the young lady who served the food was very attentive and pleasant. Overall a very nice stay in a beautiful part of Yorkshire. It is a good location if you like walking but there are also plenty of interesting places to visit as well.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 4 on the first floor. The room overlooked a side street and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirley565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoslynHouse, Owner at Roslyn House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Lovely to meet you both and thank you for your kind comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

After a hard days walking on a very hot day, Brenda and I had an overnight stay at Roslyn House which provided an extremely comfortable, relaxing stay in a well appointed room. The proprietors were very friendly and welcoming and provided an excellent breakfast. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GillianJ1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoslynHouse, Owner at Roslyn House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2013

Thank you Ladies! Good to meet you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed at Roslyn House for a week from 29th June to 6th July. We had chosen this guest house because we wanted to walk the Nidderdale Way, which is a 53-mile walk in the area, with Pateley Bridge at the centre. Lawrence and Liz, the proprietors of Roslyn House couldn't have been more helpful. The room we had was on the top floor and the only one with a bath, which was very welcome for a hot soak after our daily 12-14 miles of walking. We set off in the morning after having been filled up with an enormous breakfast, and welcomed back at the end of the day's walking with tea and scones. To enable us to do the walk, the 'Nidderdale Way' package included Lawrence coming to pick us up or drop us off at various points on the route, so we could continue our walk from where we left off the previous day. We didn't actually do the whole Way over 4 consecutive days, but just chose the best 4 days for walking during our week there, according to the weather, and Lawrence was very flexible about accommodating our itinerary.

Lawrence and Liz were great hosts. Warm and welcoming and we were even invited to take part in the weekly quiz team at the local pub, where our team won second prize! The rooms were cleaned daily. Water, tea and coffee, sweets and bars of chocolate were nice touches in the room. The bed was extremely comfortable, and a good sized flat screen tv in the bedroom was used to catch up with Wimbledon tennis, although there was also a very large screen TV downstairs in the comfortable lounge.

The guest house is well placed in the town within a couple of hundred yards away from the charming main street. The street is well serviced with a wide variety of interesting shops. There is also a garage and cash machines. We tried 4 different restaurants during the week. The fish and chip shop at the end of the road had some very good fish and chips, but it closes at 7pm so get in quickly! Olly's was an excellent Italian restaurant, which served gluten free pasta, which was useful for me. If you are visiting at a weekend, best to book. The Willows serve nice food and the most fabulous steak pie. The Bangladeshi restaurant was also excellent.

On the days we weren't walking we visited Fountains Abbey, which was a whole day out and well worth the trip, and we also visited the much larger town of Harrogate. Other places in the area worth visiting would be Brimham Rocks and the most charming village of Ripley.

Overall I couldn't fault this trip and hope to go back. I would definitely recommend Roslyn House for an overnight or a week. Many people use it as a base for sightseeing, cycling, or like us, walking the Nidderdale Way. Very highly recommended :)

Room Tip: There are 3 floors. Only one of the top floor rooms has a bath and the rest have showers. All are qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shuna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoslynHouse, Owner at Roslyn House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Great to meet you both, and pleased you enjoyed the Nidderdale Way (in-between the tennis!). Hope the rest of your trip went well, Liz and I would be delighted to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pateley Bridge
0.3 mi away
Grassfield Hall
Grassfield Hall
#2 of 12 in Pateley Bridge
139 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Willow
The Willow
#7 of 12 in Pateley Bridge
107 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lyndale Guest House
Lyndale Guest House
#4 of 12 in Pateley Bridge
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Harefield Hall
Harefield Hall
#3 of 12 in Pateley Bridge
358 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#8 of 12 in Pateley Bridge
49 reviews
10.5 mi away
The Old Coach House
The Old Coach House
#1 of 1 in North Stainley
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roslyn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roslyn House

Address: 9 King Street, Pateley Bridge HG3 5AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pateley Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Pateley Bridge
Price Range: £84 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Roslyn House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Roslyn House is a comfortable guest house located in the centre of Pateley Bridge, just off the main street and only two hundred yards from the river Nidd. It has a pleasant lounge, an attractive dining room and six well appointed en-suite bedrooms. Free Parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, HotelsClick, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Roslyn House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roslyn House Pateley Bridge, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing