We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best weekend”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Riverside Cottage

Riverside Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Riverside Cottage
Riverside Cottage side view Riverside Cottage side door tp garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
Riverside Cottage
Riverside Cottage side view
Riverside Cottage side door tp garden
The Beautiful Riverside location of courage and hotel. The River Little Ouse
Cottage Lounge looking towards garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Brandon, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Catherine...
1 review
“Best weekend”
Reviewed 12 December 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Had an amazing weekend with friends. Went for the most beautiful walks down the canal.
Everything is local.
House and garden are lovely.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Mar 2016
So glad everything was good for you and glad you enjoyed your weekend. Do come again!

Matt Arnold

Bridge Hotel Brandon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua M
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage near London”
Reviewed 1 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Brandon lacks a bit of charm but there's still some nice walks departing from the cottage, and plenty of beautiful scenery a short drive away.
The cottage itself is lovely and spacious. Clean, cosy and homely, with the nice added touch of fresh towels and beddings. Huge garden getting plenty of sun. Only downside are the pots and pans which are past their prime. Overall perfect for a week end away from London, highly recommended.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Mar 2016
Thanks for the review and we will attend to the pots and pans forthwith!
Always happy to receive constructive comments as we want to provide a lovely experience for our guests.

Matt Arnold
Bridge Hotel Brandon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie030...
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Peaceful and spacious, beautiful riverside setting”
Reviewed 27 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed here with my husband, teenage daughter and her friend for a long weekend in August. We also brought our little dog - it was her first holiday with us!

The cottage is charming, spacious and clean with plenty of room for everyone including three bath or shower rooms, which was a great bonus. It is well equipped and has its own parking space at the front and enclosed private garden at the rear. We had everything we needed - even a very welcome dishwasher!

Brandon is a small town with a beautiful river, and a very pleasant riverside walk can be taken from the cottage. There are several places to eat within walking distance, as well as a fish and chip shop and Chinese take away. The cottage is situated just behind the Bridge Hotel, where breakfast can be taken if required, and rowing boats are hired out at the reasonable price of £10 per hour. (Yes, we did have a wonderful time messing about on the river!)

The weekend seemed to go very quickly but we enjoyed it very much and will definitely be recommending it to friends and relatives.

I would also like to add that the owners were very friendly and helpful, and even managed to return by first class post an i-Pad charger that we had accidentally left behind. Many, many thanks for that!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfy beds, beautiful river, good location
Liked least: Having to go home!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Mar 2016
Thanks for the lovely review and we're glad everything was good for you during your stay.

Matt Arnold

Bridge Hotel Brandon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan S
Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely surroundings and made to feel very welcome”
Reviewed 1 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the Riverside cottage with our two children aged 9 and 10. We all really enjoyed the 4 nights at the cottage.
We were made to feel very welcome throughout our stay. Despite the weather not being great we managed to occupy the kids for the 5 days. Brandon country park, Thetford park (Go Ape), local boat hire along river Ousse were just some of the attractions within 5 minutes of the cottage.
The owners are very pleasant and clearly work hard to ensure we had a comfortable stay.

We would return in the future

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Mar 2016
Thanks for the very kind comments and hope to see you again

Matt Arnold
Bridge Hotel Brandon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tammo O
The Netherlands
1 review
“Very nice and complete cottage to spend your holiday”
Reviewed 17 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

It was the first time for our family to spend the holidays in the UK.
The Riverside Cottage is a beautiful old house with all facilities for a good stay.
It's located at a central place for visiting Norwich, Cambridge, Ely and the Thetford forest.
When you are looking for a cottage with privacy and spaciousness we can surely recommend this house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Mar 2016
Glad you enjoyed your stay

Matt Arnold

Bridge Hotel Brandon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arvid K
Berkel-Enschot, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: de lokatie in Engeland
Liked least: De plek zelf; cottage lag niet aan de rivier; staat van het interieur.
Travelling group: Tieners
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Nee.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Nov 2015
We would love the opportunity to respond but would need a translation
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing