We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel for a business stay”
Review of Brandon House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Brandon House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brandon
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Very good hotel for a business stay”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I stayed here with two work collegues. We booked at short notice and the polite staff were expecting us. All rooms we had (Doubles) were to a very high standard with plenty of tea and coffee available. A large TV was in my room. The room was large, warm but not stuffy and well appointed. The bed was very comfortable, I slept well. There was no bath, but a very good shower. Breakfast was good. Cooked breakfast plus cereals, fruit juice and fruit etc.

The price was excellent for a short notice booking.

My only negative comment is access to my room. It was via a badly lit uneven path, past the bins around the side of the building. Anybody wearing good high heeled shoes would have had a few problems. Suggest that this be improved.

The staff were very helpfull and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    113
    45
    18
    14
See reviews for
59
112
15
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We held our Golden Wedding reception and lunch here on the day before Mothering Sunday and were delighted with its success, every aspect of the occasion being taken care of in a helpful, friendly and efficient way.
From the comments we've received, all our guests felt the same, and we would recommend the venue for a special celebration, a stay or a meal at any time.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
broadstairs kent uk
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2014

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome. The staff were professional, warm and friendly. We decided to eat at the hotel and found the food of an excellent standard , well cooked and properly served and this extended to the breakfast and very reasonably priced. The room was spacious, clean, warm and had all the amenities required. We would most definitely recommend any of our friends or business acquaintances to stay here.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beanfeast2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Quite a difficult visit as it was for a funeral with 6 members of the family staying 2 nights and the post funeral tea being held in the hotel. The care, attention and service of all the staff in all aspects was faultless. The food, breakfasts, evening meals and that provided for the tea was excellent.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyBR6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, England
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

My partner and I stayed here for one night in March and from the minute we arrived we were made to feel very welcome by Frank who provided us with information on the area and all the facilities of the hotel. Our room was lovely - really big room which was very clean with modern decoration and the bed was so comfortable. Everyone that was staying in the hotel seemed very friendly too. We didn't eat dinner at the hotel we decided to eat at a local Indian restuarant but the menu looked great and after eating the breakfast (which is the best breakfast we have ever eaten in a hotel - freshly cooked, presented well and good quality food) we felt perhaps we should have eaten at the hotel. Would definately recommend this hotel to anyone of any age - it has a lovely atmosphere and you are made to feel very welcome.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrewFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We previously wrote a bad review for the restaurant as we did have a bad night....but more than made up for it tonight. We were recognised from many months ago as being there on the "bad night" and immediately offered free drinks, we were not very hungry so only had main course, but Andrews Thai curry was fabulous, and my chicken dish, spot on. Love the chunky chips, with the seasoning on, salad lovely and fresh, attentive staff, and the chef came out to check us, all was good and do recommend giving the place a go. Nice atmosphere when you walk in also. We will next go when we are starving, as I can always do the 3 courses, and know it will be nice.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teresa l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We have recently stayed at Brandon House Hotel twice and found both stays to be very enjoyable. On the whole we found the rooms clean and the beds comfortable, the staff gave the impression that nothing was too much trouble. The food was some of the best we have tasted and the local beer they sell made dining a pleasurable experince. With the large amount of guest parking made this hotel ideal for us.
There were some minor issues such as having to wait a while for hot water from the taps when we stayed in a top floor room; the lack of a house phone in the rooms, but who hasn't got a mobile (cell) phone these days. in the smaller room there was not a wardrobe, although there was hanging space on one wall with a number of coat hangers. Also this room needed a towel rail in the bathroom, but the radiators made good towel rails for warm bath towels. These inconveniences did not detract from the overall enjoyment of our stays and we would stay at Brandon House again when we are in the area.

Room Tip: "Family" rooms have much more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brandon
5.8 mi away
Travelodge Thetford Hotel
5.8 mi away
The Thomas Paine Hotel
The Thomas Paine Hotel
#2 of 7 in Thetford
432 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mundford
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Travelodge Barton Mills
Travelodge Barton Mills
#1 of 2 in Barton Mills
292 reviews
13.7 mi away
Best Western Priory Hotel
Best Western Priory Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
486 reviews
5.8 mi away
Bell Hotel
Bell Hotel
#7 of 7 in Thetford
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brandon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brandon House

Property: Brandon House
Address: High Street, Brandon IP27 0AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Brandon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brandon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Brandon House 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Brandon House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brandon House Hotel Brandon
Brandon House Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing