We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd visit to the WGrand”
Review of Hotel W Grand

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel W Grand
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Petrovac
Llanberis, Cymru
Level Contributor
67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“2nd visit to the WGrand”
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Our second visit to the WGrand and to Montenegro and once again we weren't disappointed with the great fascilities at the WGrand nor with our holiday excellently organized by Thomson holidays.The rep, staff and manageress were again extremely helpful and very welcoming(even remembered us from our previous visit!!)We were in room C31 which had a small,well equipped kitchenette.The room was very clean and fully air-conditioned (which was very handy as the weather for the whole fortnight was very hot-average of 35 degrees)Petrovac is a lovely town and the beach is nice though rather crowded but there are other beaches nearby if you are willing to walk to them .Our favourite beach was to the right of Petrovac past Hotel Danica and through the tunnels -remember to a torch with you -and you arrive at a very quiet beach with sunbeds and a small cafe/bar-ideal if you want some peace and quiet.Yet again a lovely holiday but if I was to visit again I would only go for a week or ten days as a fortnight is too long especially in such hot weather.Also if I stayed at the WGrand again maybe they could change their breakfast menu just a little bit e.g.cooked breakfast and butter that doesn't taste like danish blue cheese!! Hvala WGrand!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gweriniaethwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    28
    13
    1
    2
See reviews for
10
41
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Any
English first
Brecon
Level Contributor
48 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Resort very crowded - early July 2012. Hotel Clean, Room Facilties Good, Staff Good, Air Conditioning Good. Food mmm not so good unlike most european hotels I've stayed in - breakfast plenty of choice, a different choice of bread from that served with the soup in the evening would have been apprecated and the butter smelt mouldy all week, none of the breakfast buffet food was kept chilled during breakfast hours. Although half board usally makes financial sense rather that eating out each night, in Petrovac food and drink is cheap - Pizzas from 4.5 Euros and 500ml beer 2 euros (same price in most bars in this resort). My favourite pizzeria was the one at the very end of the promenade - harbour end - with tables on raised levels My recommendation would be to eat out. Thompson Rep very good local girl Dianja - probably spelt wrong. Also food courses served very quickly timed on one occasion for all three courses to be served and eaten within 30 minutes of sitting down - plates are whisked away as soon as you have finished even if others haven't finished and the next course served almost immediately - maybe because there seemed few staying at the hotel (july) and plenty of staff. Be aware cheaper to buy 4 x 187ml bottles than a full bottle (not just in this hotel but elsewhere) and if its white your wine will stayed chilled in the bar fridge. Petrovac beach very crowded but other local beaches worth walking to. Bus service very good and main bus station very close to this hotel. Be aware that unlicensed taxi drivers approach all the time especially whilst waiting for a bus. Stayed in room B23 which for some reason is the room they seems to attract trip advisor reviewers in. Also as you walk from the hotel down to beach there is a restaurant on the right only about 200 metres from hotel - worth a visit menu at bottom of steps - restaurant up steps and shaded in vines etc
Overall Hotel pretty good but food and food service a let down

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kennmurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire, England
Level Contributor
165 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights at the start of October; just outside the holiday season and found we had the place all to ourselves.

The start wasn't so good - arrived to find the place in mostly darkness. Thankfully the reception was unlocked, but nobody around, just a message with a number to ring. I had pre-booked a month earlier and told the person on the other end of the phone we had a booking. The conversation went something like;

''Hello, we have a room booked. No you dont. Yes we have. No you dont. Yes we have, Booking.com. Oh.'' Surley this is too early for pantomine season?
I was told to wait there then after a few minutes someone came out to meet us. Yes, we had booked and they did have our booking, so we got our room.

A reasonable room- very clean, rather basic but with a TV and a small bathroom. A typical hotel room you would expect in a holiday resort location rather than a city hotel.

Given we were the only guest staying we wasn't sure what breakfast was going to be like but after the first night I was most impressed. We sat on the hotel terrace in the late summer sun and had a wide choice brought out to us; hams, cheses, fruit, yoghurt, cereals, hot and cold drinks. Excellent, all brought to the table by a friendly waitress (even if she didnt speak much English and we didnt speak any Montenegron (?) .

Next morning was completly different. Different waitress, same language difficulties, not interest in serving us, very limited choice, and a bill for the fruit juice. Very disappointing. (We did complain at reception afterwards that breakfast was included in the room rate and fruit juice is normally included so they didnt charge us for it). Also, watch out if you use the hotel phone (Unusually, I couldn't get a reception on my mobile anywhere in Montenegro) and the hotel charges are very high if calling the UK.

So our experience of this hotel is mixed. Would recommend if staying in the height of the summer holiday season, but would probably look to stay somewhere else if visiting out of season.

Petrovac was as expected, a small holiday town now predominatly dominated by tourism, with a few restaurants and a stoney beach. Good location for Podgorica, Bar, Sveti Stefan, Budvar and Kotor if using the buses or have a hire car.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DarrenHenman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

We stayed in room B23 with a kitchenette and sea view. The hotel was almost empty for the first few days, but the staff went to a huge effort,providing us with excellent breakfasts brought to our table each morning. On the third day a party of 17 Germans arrived and the breakfast buffet was huge; I counted 28 savoury choices one day and 4 sweet choices. Choices varied somewhat each day. The evening meals were simple but very filling and tasty; soup, a salad dish, a main meal (chosen from a choice of 3 the night before) and ice cream or cake type dessert. Very little English is spoken in the hotel and town, which suited us perfectly.The hotel is spotlessly clean and towels are changed daily.
We were there in mid October and the weather was very warm and sunny for most of the days.The town must be very busy with tourists in the summer, but it was almost empty when we were there. We took the local bus to Kotor (a lovely old town with a wonderful climb of over 1000 steps up the old ramparts to the old fortress), Budva (the nearest big town with an old part and a bus station with links to other, more interesting, places and to Cetinje (the old capital). The cost of living was cheap, especially when out of the seaside tourist areas. We also walked to the nearby villages and were made very welcome by friendly people who spoke no English. There was a lot of building work going on in Petrovac, but it didn't detract from the holiday.
All in all, it was an excellent and different holiday and one to be recommended, but learn a few words before you go!

Room Tip: At the front of hotel on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank azo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We stayed in room C21 on the second floor with sea view and balcony. Spacious room, with TV, hairdryer, safe, Kitchenette (including fridge) and free air con.

The towels and soap are changed everyday and the linen every three days.

Pleasant and friendly staff, although English was limited, which was not surprising as the UK isn't even in the top ten list of visting countries.

Continental breakfast, with lots of choice, including hot sausage and scrambled egg. The coffee is unfiltered, leaving a thick residue at the bottom of the cup and the fruit juice was like watered down squash. But on the whole very nice.

We stayed half board and the evening meals were of hearty portions. You are given a choice of three main dishes to choose from the night before. The meal is three courses which usually included soup for the starter and cake for dessert. All the food is served on the roof terrace with splendid views across petrovac.

It is a 10 -15 minute strole to the beach, shops and bus station. Plenty of bars, restaurants and gift shops. A beach of two halves, one half is sandy and the other is pebbles. The sea tempertaure was 26 degrees and the beaches are very busy.

Plenty of water activities in the resort and it's cheap and easy to get around to visit other places. Budva 2 Euro (one way) on the bus and takes half an hour.

If you get the chance to visit "Skadar Lake" it is well worth a visit, as is Budva old town.

If you land at Dubrovnik airport, the transfer time is approx 3 hours to the resort of Petrovac. There can be long queues at the Croatian/Monetnegro Border and the weather while we were there topped 42 degrees on one day!

Room Tip: Sea View with balcony is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Globetrotter6110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Notts
Level Contributor
112 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2011

We stayed here for a week before moving on to Croatria. A good small hotel in a quiet spot looking down towards the coast. Spotlessly clean with superb service. Very friendly staff with good knowledge of English. Room good with very comfortable bed. Well serviced room daily. Mini bar and safe deposit in room. Good balcony view over Petrovac and to the sea but view slightly marred by an unfinished apartment block down the (steep) hill - thoughtless planning here. Our room on top floor below restaurant terrace level and contrary to some other reviews we were not disturbed by noises above. This could perhaps vary depending on the actual room location. Buffet breakfasts good, plentiful and with variety. Dinner a bit limited though. Regularly being a soup, salad, a choice of three main courses then cake or ice cream. Main course had to be pre-ordered the day before. A better variety and the ability to see what was on offfer before ordering would be an improvement. Nevertheless the food was plentiful, well presented and usually good and served by friendly, helpful waitresses in most attractive uniforms.

Hotel location is on a steep hillside so not too good for those with walking difficulty. Less than 10 minutes down to the shore - but it seemed twice that climbing back! Weather unusually hot at the time.

Montenegro is a lovely country - took advantage of organised trips into the very mountainous interior. One to the old Royal capital of Cetinje and down to the ancient town of Kotor. Another we would recommend was to the very north of the country as far as the Durmitor National Park via the Moraca Canyon and the Tara Canyon with the spectacular Durdovica Tara Bridge. Magnficient scenery all the way.

Nearest large town is Budva. We liked the the old part very much and it was interesting, but the modern part is so busy and with lots of large hotels. Petrovac is so much nicer, far less crowded

Beaches very crowded as school holidays had started that week - not a problem for us as we are not so beach mad these days! Some lovely views over the coast from the winding and sometimes precipitous coastal roads above. Looking down on Budva or Sveti Steffan for example.

It is a long transfer from Dubrovnik airport varying from 3 to 4 hours but goes through pleasant countryside and with a ferry crossing part way so in fact was quite a nice sightseeing part of the holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for room at front not the side. Would not advise the location for anyone with major mobility pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank historian90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

The hotel is spotless and the staff are very friendly and welcoming even if a little bit limited in their English abillity. Our room was large and bright with a lovely sea view and small kitchenette. Bathroom was modern and clean and had fresh towels every day. The bed was very comforatable. We were pleasently surprised on arrival to find fresh fruit provided (this was kept topped up the whole time we were there) and a reasonably priced mini bar. There was a good sized airer on the balcony which was useful along with chairs and table. In our opinion the food quality was good although there are no vegetarian options on the menu. We found out from another visitor that they do do vegetarian but you have to ask for it specifically. We only had one fairly minor issue with the hotel in that we were in room C31 which is under the restaurant. During meal times you would hear footsteps and chairs and tables being moved. This wasn't too much of a problem in the evening but during our stay we had some pretty early wake up calls when large coach loads of visitors checked out early in the morning, creating pretty impressive noise levels above our heads!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bec-n-Ade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Petrovac hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Castellastva
Hotel Castellastva
#1 of 10 in Petrovac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Danica
Hotel Danica
#6 of 10 in Petrovac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rivijera
Hotel Rivijera
#5 of 10 in Petrovac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Monte Casa Spa & Wellness
Monte Casa Spa & Wellness
#2 of 10 in Petrovac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Renome
Hotel Renome
#9 of 10 in Petrovac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vile Oliva
Hotel Vile Oliva
#4 of 10 in Petrovac
3.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel W Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel W Grand

Property: Hotel W Grand
Address: | Brezine bb, Petrovac, Budva Municipality, Montenegro
Region: Montenegro > Budva Municipality > Petrovac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Petrovac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel W Grand 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotelopia, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel W Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing