We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful hotel”
Review of Hotel Palas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Palas
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Petrovac
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2013

I spent a week here at the end of April. The hotel is very close to the beach with easy walking to the lovely nearby pine forests, monastery and other beaches. Petrovac itself is charming and small but much building work has been going on and was actually happening 24/7 while I was there, although we were told it stops during the high season. Having said that, it was still a lovely holiday, one of the best I've had abroad in a long time. The people are great, the hotel was good, plenty of food and entertainment. There were a lot of lively French folk staying but it added to a general bouyant atmosphere. I'd recommend rooms away from the French club area, this is noisy, especially noticable at night when they have concerts (anyone can join in, very friendly) My room was 327 with a side seaview, quite pleasant but it was noisy late evening. Generally excellent staff and services. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Try and get seaview on the front, great view of the little islands in the bay. Higher seems better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jacquiamee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 1 week in May/June and it was a pleasant experience.The main criticism was that the self catering facilities lacked keeping the food really hot.The content of the food was 1st class for a holiday hotel.The friends we made there joined us for Boules and we had a lot of fun.One criticism here was that the boules were kept on the pitch which opened them to misuse by children etc.I would suggest that they were kept in reception and given to players when required.Overall this hotel had excellent staff and the service was great.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TottonYarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

I went on a one week holiday with Saga. The hotel is situated in a beautiful bay, little shops and cafes dot the coastline. Despite some torrential rain(unusual for late May/beg June) I really enjoyed the holiday. The saga rep was excellent, the lady who served behind the bar was hardworking & the restaurant staff smiling and helpful. The food is as one would expect on an all inclusive deal, but the local wine was drinkable and plentiful. My room was of a much higher quality than I was expecting -especially the bathroom. The maid cleaned every day bringing clean white towels and the sheets were changed after only 4 nights. I certainly would recommend this hotel and the location

Room Tip: I had a partial sea view which was fine but obviously the sea view rooms offer the best vista
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank sue f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Our family stayed in this hotel in August 2012. Booked two rooms with half board service through Neckermann . We were satisfied with this hotel and would choose again, but likely not in the high season when the beach of Petrovac is overcrowded.
The rooms were recently refurbished and the hotel was upgraded to 4* in 2012, so older reviews criticising the quality of rooms are no longer valid. The rooms had a balcony with excellent view on Petrovac beach and the small islands.
Breakfast and dinner was very good, for dinner wine of the house was free.
Very much liked the two large swimming pools in the hotel. Though in August the hotel was fully booked, the inside swimming pool was never crowded.
The hotel has a private beach, but it is operated by another company. Beach service in Petrovac is not so developed like in Italy and since the beach is very small sun umbrellas are very close to each others. You cannot book sunchairs and umbrellas for a week in advance, each morning you have to reserve your sunchairs with the operator guy. The problem, that the guy shows up when he wants, so first day after 9.30 (reception told that we can reserve sun chairs from 8am).
The beach of Petrovac is very small and in August is overcrowded, since it is the closest beach to Podgorica. Montenegrins and Serbians are heavy smokers so you can expect breathing more smoke than fresh air and the sand on the beach is littered by cigarette stabs. Snorkelling is possible at the Southern part of the bay, near to the rocks, but this is the free beach of the bay, so it is the most crowded part. Overall, the beach in Petrovac was a bit disappointing.
There were some minor issues during our stay, which should have been better managed by the hotel, but did not spoil our holiday. E.g.:
- When we arrived the receptionist told that in their system only one room is booked. Checking the vouchers she admitted we really booked two rooms, but they could provide rooms on two different floors. Not really what a family expects, when booking two rooms.
-We were surprised, that the car park in front of the hotel is not free, but quite expensive and was operated by another company than the hotel. The receptionist could not give information, where to park free or cheaper in Petrovac. We found 50 meters from the hotel a car park 30% cheaper.(Mine friends regularly staying in Hotel Palas says, that in June and September parking is free)
-Led lighting in bathroom was broken and hanging from the ceiling, which was not fixed during our stay, however reported first day. Ventilation of the bathroom was not perfect either. There was a problem with the safe in one room, and one room’s minibar was not filled up.
Otherwise the staff was helpful and polite and the restaurant arranged to have an early breakfast, when we went for a birdwatching tour to Lake Skadar.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Károly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

I stayed here for a week in early April, and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The hotel is right on the beach of a lovely bay, with dramatic views of mountains and cliffs. The staff couldn't have done more to make us comfortable, and the choice of food was excellent, with many regional dishes to choose from, as well as a range of grilled dishes.

The rooms were very pleasant, all with balconies, and had air-conditioning and heating you could control yourself.

I particularly enjoyed the indoor pool, which was a good size for proper swimming. There was also a gym, a spa and a hairdresser.

Montenegro is beautiful mountainous country with a proud history, and there were many interesting trips from the hotel.

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel for all ages.

Room Tip: There are some rooms overlooking the sea and it would be worth asking if one was available. I had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Janet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel on a group with Saga.
Hotel lovely, good location, town not too busy. Friendly and helpful staff. Good English.
Only downside for us was the building site next door. This didn't ruin our stay, we got used to it.
Mix of French and English tourists.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LittleJ0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Wonderful hotel, spacious, rooms are large and clean with balconies, the food in the restaurant is excellent. The hotel has a pool, which is cleaned regularly. Its advantage is that it is right in front of the beach, which is clean and sandy. The sea is calm and crystal clear. All recommendations for the Palace Hotel, is one of the best hotels Petrovac.

Room Tip: With a seaview!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sweet44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Petrovac hotels
0.3 mi away
Montecasa Spa & Wellness
Montecasa Spa & Wellness
#4 of 10 in Petrovac
161 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Vile Oliva
Hotel Vile Oliva
#3 of 10 in Petrovac
392 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Castellastva
Hotel Castellastva
#1 of 10 in Petrovac
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rivijera
Hotel Rivijera
#9 of 10 in Petrovac
159 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Danica
Hotel Danica
#5 of 10 in Petrovac
76 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel W Grand
Hotel W Grand
#6 of 10 in Petrovac
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palas

Address: Budva bb, Petrovac, Budva Municipality 85300, Montenegro
Region: Montenegro > Budva Municipality > Petrovac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Petrovac
Price Range: £62 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palas 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Palas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing