We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, but disapointing resort”
Review of Hotel Vile Oliva

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Vile Oliva
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Petrovac
Bucharest
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, but disapointing resort”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed 7 nights at Vile Oliva in Petrovac, and the hotel responded our expectations, while the resort did't, because it is small, crowded and nothing to do really, except from admiring the landscape which is quite impressive.
The beach is narrow, crowded and dirty, with red pebbles, not part of the natural lanscape, which is rocky, but brought there to make up a beach.
The hotel however is new, nice, with spacious rooms and all the amenities, the personel are trying hard to please, but they hardly speak any English. We particularly liked the food, wich is varied and tasty.
Two major shortcomings of the hotel are the mosquitoes, by the thousands, so make sure you have repellents and also the lack of hot water in the rooms. The water is barely lukewarm and has no pressure at all, so the only showers that we could take were at the spa center.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carina77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aleksandar82, Director of Sales at Hotel Vile Oliva, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. We will try to improve our services.
However, regarding pebble on the Petrovac beach, this reddish pebble is authentic natural pebble like the nature of Montenegro is authentic. Petrovac beach is famos for its natural reddish pebble.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    112
    67
    35
    15
See reviews for
114
115
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Usually there was no hot water in showers, very basic breakfast, wifi problems. Rooms are nice and cosy, but nothing special. Room service is ok, and reception girls were really nice, but in general - very basic hotel, nothing special to be expected

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank Ivan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Hotel looks OK but then you soon notice the cheap fixtures and fittings. Some of the staff are really helpful while others are just unpleasant. Our first experience on entering the hotel was to be offered a badly located apartment on the hope that we would spend more to be located closer. When we did not fall for this ploy they became unpleasant and unhelpful which was not a particularly nice start to the holiday.

The food is good though!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Petrovac hotels

Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Summary:

When you first walk in to the Lobby, it is very nice and you get excited to see your room.
Once you open the door to your room, not very nice. Dirty walls, insects, no hot water for showering, broken balcony doors., etc. etc. almost everyone in our Tour group asked to move rooms upon arrival.
I'm not saying the rooms are a wreck, just a real let down after the Lobby lol. Bedding appeared clean and neat.

Hotel staff was very pleasant and professional. Most spoke some English/Russian.

The Town is actually very pleasant and safe area: a Tourist town. Ringed around an Adriatic Bay, Hotels dominate the landscape with private dwellings interspersed. At time of this review there was a definite construction boom in process. One could not walk more than 300 meters without seeing some type of rennovation or new construction.

Indeed, on the beach side of Hotel Vile Oliva there is new construction, so the view from their property is pretty much ruined. On the other hand when we were there the construction was light and not too early [7:30 ish], the workers were very quiet by construction standards. Of course, there were waiting for concrete to cure so after 14-28 days there will be fresh construction activity.

The beach was somewhat clean, but there was no apparent city sanitation department clean up of the beach on a daily basis. It was not unusual to get a mouthful of something undesireable when swimming. The water made me ill one day, but no long term effects.

It is a shame too, because the beach and Sea is the huge draw for that area. There is a Marina directly in the bay so an oily film is usual in that area. The Ponta side accumulates the most trash, flotsam and jetson.

If you are a Hiker, it is a nice base camp for day hikes and motorcycling. Some light climbing gets you access to areas that are isolated and breathtaking. Super photo ops imho.

The food was average but decent. If you have a stomach prone to disturbance on holiday you will fare well here. If your looking for Authentic Montenegrin cuisine...maybe not here. They are catering to Europeans. More Pizza restaurants than anything else. If your wealthy, then Lobster can be had for around 70 Euro/kilo. Thanks, but no thanks.

The people in Town were the Best. Local people and Tourists were mostly happy, friendly, non-hostiles. I had no idea but Montenegrin ladies are very attractive. Long, sleek dark hair and beautiful smiles. I am married, but a single guy might find a diamond in the rough here. I don't know if that last bit qualifies as a Hotel review, but Hey I am married, not dead.

Room Tip: Don't take a bungalow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kiev_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Excellent hotel. It is situated in a superb location, 50 meters from the beach. The rooms are spacious, clean and well equipped. The food is very tasty, great variety of food. The staff is very friendly. Hotel facilities iare excellent: a children's playroom, outdoor and indoor swimming pool, gym, massage. The only downside is there is no wifi in the rooms. I recommend it to families with children

Room Tip: Apartment (2 to 4 Adults)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Snezana U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013 via mobile

Very nice place. But you better to know, that's here are construction site nearby, the new hotel across the road are in construction state, so get ready to hear any mechanisms sounds :)
Anyway a nice price and good employes. Car rent, small swimming pools, garage, conference hall and internet in room (free).
It's good place for a nice price.
Oh, i forgot, this hotel should think about more diffirent menu for meal, cause it's same all day by day and it's more useful to lunch in near restorans.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Sergey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Big 3* hotel in the olive wood close to the sea. Very rich breakfast and dinner. Apartments are big, light, clean, but sometimes with broken switches, hangers, etc... Without safe. Without own beach and sunchairs.

Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Lena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petrovac
0.4 mi away
Monte Casa Spa & Wellness
Monte Casa Spa & Wellness
#3 of 10 in Petrovac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rivijera
Hotel Rivijera
#5 of 10 in Petrovac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Castellastva
Hotel Castellastva
#1 of 10 in Petrovac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palas
Hotel Palas
#2 of 10 in Petrovac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hotel Slovenska Plaza
0.5 mi away
Hotel Danica
Hotel Danica
#6 of 10 in Petrovac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vile Oliva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vile Oliva

Property: Hotel Vile Oliva
Address: Petrovac Ulica 8 Broj 11, Petrovac, Budva Municipality 85300, Montenegro
Region: Montenegro > Budva Municipality > Petrovac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Petrovac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Vile Oliva 4.5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a olive tree park near the reddish sand beach Vile Oliva complex in Petrovac provides an mediterranean experience along with special admixtures of Montenegro ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Vile Oliva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing