We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
An unforgettable adventure in Sweden

We were 2 couples from Ireland who came to Sweden specifically for this trip. We hadn't heard about... read more

Reviewed 5 November 2018
YOLObrien
Beautiful honeymoon

I was nervous having never camped or kayaked before. Darren and Joanna were friendly and quick to... read more

Reviewed 7 September 2018
Hoa N
via mobile
Read all 14 reviews
  
Reviews (14)
Filter reviews
14 results
Traveller rating
14
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
14
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews camping gear day trip excellent service top notch every night amazing trip kayak equipment gothenburg airport driver organisation heating quality tents stick route
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 14 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2018 via mobile

I was nervous having never camped or kayaked before. Darren and Joanna were friendly and quick to reply to emails, it was simple to book, and they were great at answering any questions I had. Everything was well organised, they had arranged and thought of everything including transport from the airport, camping gear and instructions on how to use it.

We really enjoyed being close to nature, having the freedom to explore the different beautiful islands in such clear blue water and walking up the rocky hills to get different scenic viewpoints. We had 2 clear nights of no clouds, it was such a magical experience seeing shooting stars and gazing at the milky way. Sunrises and sunsets are stunning in this part of the world. Being able to camp on a beach and have the privacy of the whole island to yourself was really quite special. There is a calm peacefulness out there that makes a wonderful relaxing contrast to living in a busy loud city.

The gear was really high spec, easy to use and reliable. I highly recommend the comfort package and chairs, as they made a big difference.

Thanks Darren and Joanna, we had a fantastic honeymoon!

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Hoa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2018 via mobile

Incredible place to kayak, breathtakingly beautiful scenery and a wonderful wilderness to explore! SKA is an awesome company to do it through! Great communication, excellent service and 100% reliable. They're very friendly in person and over email and will make sure you have everything you need!! Thanks Darren!

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Lauren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2018 via mobile

We were 4 new kayakers/wild campers on the brink of retirement (but we still consider ourselves middle aged!). As mentioned by others I can not recommend Darren and Scandinavian Kayaking Adventures highly enough - great equipment and service which includes a preordered supermarket shop with all your provisions provided at cost.
We were well up to the kayaking although it was quite physically hard at times as it was unusually breezy when we were there. The navigation was a little challenging on occasion although that was down to the competence of the user! Worth having a mobile in a waterproof bag to check your location on GPS on occasion if you’re not sure - and a portable recharger might be handy too.
A couple of us also watched an online video beforehand of how to put up the tents which we found really helpful.
A great experience!

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank randjt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018 via mobile

We had an awesome time! The equipment provided was great, the kayak was top notch. Amazing service! The coastal islands are super cool to explore. All the oysters you can eat. What more could you want? A memorable adventure... :-)

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Brian v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

3 nights and 4 days spent on remote, beautiful islands, especially langaskar (probably spelt wrong)
Wonderful warm water, stunning views and as much adventure as you want.

Organisation, information and equipment was all top notch. Service was friendly and relaxed, no problems whatsoever.
It is kayaking and wild camping though, don't expect a warm shower in the morning!

Sweden had an open fire ban when we were there due to the recent forest fires but the company provided heating bags for ready meals so it wasn't really an issue, when the weather is shot you don't want many hot meals.

The kayaks were very stable and safe, plenty of storage space and easy to paddle. We had a 20mph wind in our faces one day but still managed to make decent progress.
The routes are very flexible, really up to you what you want out of the trip. Hundreds of different islands and plenty of wildlife. We even did a bit of hiking to the top of Pinno for the spectacular views.

Couldn't recommend it more.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Richie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews