We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Sensational Trip!!!

Myself and 3 girlfriends booked ourselves onto a Scandinavian kayaking adventure last July. We were... read more

Reviewed 5 January 2019
ggtay81
,
Manchester, United Kingdom
A Swedish Kayaking Adventure

A last minute cancellation of another holiday led us to book our Swedish adventure and after... read more

Reviewed 8 October 2018
davidwwilliams96
,
London, United Kingdom
Read all 15 reviews
  
Reviews (15)
Filter reviews
15 results
Traveller rating
15
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
15
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews camping gear day trip kayaking adventure excellent service top notch every night amazing trip equipment gothenburg airport driver scenery organisation heating quality tents stick
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 15 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2018

A last minute cancellation of another holiday led us to book our Swedish adventure and after finishing our our 4 day trip we all agreed we were very happy our original plans had fallen through. We were collected from our B&B early on our first day and greeted by the driver/instructor, who was very friendly and personable. It was about an hour and a half drive north to a smart little harbour where we were shown all the equipment and told a few tips about safety and navigation. The kayaks are really BIG and fit in loads of gear.

Setting off I had a few last minute nerves but after 5 minutes in the kayak I started to relax and enjoy the amazing scenery. The best thing about the trip for me was the variation. You really have a choice to stay close to civilisation or stay out near the outer islands and barely see anyone. In the morning, you're feeling like your paddling around 'the land that time forgot', surrounded by impressive rock formations jutting out from the sea, then later in the day your feeling very Swedish, eating cinnamon buns in a cosy little fishing village.

Most of the area is protected from the wind and waves but we did have a windy day where the sea was a little choppy, this only added to the fun though, and it was really exciting having the water splash over the kayak occasionally.

The equipment, especially the kayaks and tent, really needs a mention as it is amazing quality. We even had someone come up to us to checkout the tents (which they seemed in awe of..), apparently the 'Hilleberg' make is a big thing in Sweden.

We had a choice of 4 single kayaks but we chose 2 doubles and we were very glad we did. They are amazingly stable boats and it was a lot of fun paddling with someone else and chatting. We were a little sad to see the kayak be driven away at the end of the trip as it became part of the group.

Overall, I cannot recommend the trip and the service enough.
Excellent service, information and equipment, the rest of the trip was on us and we really feel we made the most of our time in Bohuslän.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank davidwwilliams96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2018 via mobile

I was nervous having never camped or kayaked before. Darren and Joanna were friendly and quick to reply to emails, it was simple to book, and they were great at answering any questions I had. Everything was well organised, they had arranged and thought of everything including transport from the airport, camping gear and instructions on how to use it.

We really enjoyed being close to nature, having the freedom to explore the different beautiful islands in such clear blue water and walking up the rocky hills to get different scenic viewpoints. We had 2 clear nights of no clouds, it was such a magical experience seeing shooting stars and gazing at the milky way. Sunrises and sunsets are stunning in this part of the world. Being able to camp on a beach and have the privacy of the whole island to yourself was really quite special. There is a calm peacefulness out there that makes a wonderful relaxing contrast to living in a busy loud city.

The gear was really high spec, easy to use and reliable. I highly recommend the comfort package and chairs, as they made a big difference.

Thanks Darren and Joanna, we had a fantastic honeymoon!

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Hoa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2018 via mobile

Incredible place to kayak, breathtakingly beautiful scenery and a wonderful wilderness to explore! SKA is an awesome company to do it through! Great communication, excellent service and 100% reliable. They're very friendly in person and over email and will make sure you have everything you need!! Thanks Darren!

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Lauren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2018 via mobile

We were 4 new kayakers/wild campers on the brink of retirement (but we still consider ourselves middle aged!). As mentioned by others I can not recommend Darren and Scandinavian Kayaking Adventures highly enough - great equipment and service which includes a preordered supermarket shop with all your provisions provided at cost.
We were well up to the kayaking although it was quite physically hard at times as it was unusually breezy when we were there. The navigation was a little challenging on occasion although that was down to the competence of the user! Worth having a mobile in a waterproof bag to check your location on GPS on occasion if you’re not sure - and a portable recharger might be handy too.
A couple of us also watched an online video beforehand of how to put up the tents which we found really helpful.
A great experience!

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank randjt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018 via mobile

We had an awesome time! The equipment provided was great, the kayak was top notch. Amazing service! The coastal islands are super cool to explore. All the oysters you can eat. What more could you want? A memorable adventure... :-)

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Brian v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews