We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place and great hosts” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Agios Prokopios Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Agios Prokopios Hotel
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Agios Prokopios
Certificate of Excellence
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great place and great hosts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2009

We spend 2 nights at Agios Prokopios Hotel in Sept. We were travelling with our 7 month old infant and Naxos is a great island. Its a family island with great beaches, less crowd, less noise and many families around. We got a great deal as this was off-peak season.. the hosts Vaglis were a great couple... very friendly and helpful. We got a large room with a nice kichennette. The internet was fast and they had many good books. The supermarket and beach are close-by. The breakfast though not great is adequate and loads of nice restaurants nearby for food. I did not have an international license so could not get a bike on hire otherwise a quad bike is the best way to see the island. We spend our 2 days relaxing near the beach and enjoying the tranquail sea.. There are some nice restuarants near the port as well so one can try them. We tried 'Asian restuarant' for Indian/ Chinese food and it was not that great. Highly recommended Naxos and Agios Prokopios Hotel...

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Charu_Akash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    111
    16
    11
    7
See reviews for
100
136
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2009

I have spent most of the last fifteen years inspecting and assessing hotels all over the world for some of the best known tour operators and five years in Greece for one of the main tour operators. This is one of the best finds in the budget market which I have made in the Cyclades. Off season it is incredible value for money. Vaggeli and Effi speak excellent English and welcome all nationalities with courtesy and are a dedicated team. The pool was spotless even though few were using it, the surrounding area is smartly cared for by other members of the family who own adjacent hotels and apartments, there are well cared for gardens and I was especially impressed by the cooked breakfasts which would keep anyone happy all day as these are so often disappointing at budget properties. Perfect for couples, famillies with young children and anyone looking for a quiet holiday away from peak season.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris_cotswolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bodø
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2009

Quiet hotel, perfect for frosen notherners, who like sun and beach, 150 m to the beach. Extra positive, little library with lots of books in many languages, I contributed with a couple of books from Norway. And not to forget, tenniscourt, that we could use free of charge. Vaglis provided extraordenary service to us. Free of charge he collected us at Naxos harbour when we arrived, even thou we had not asked for pickup. Our islandhopping ended in on jump, 17 days in Naxos.....

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philli_carter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2009

We had a great stay in September during the shoulder season. There are so many great reviews that I would be repeating them to say what a good time we had. I just wanted to add a few notes that you might find helpful.

When we arrived on the ferry it was pretty chaotic. Another hotel tried to “hijack” us and take us to a different place. The passenger van that this hotel uses has the hotel name on the side of it so look for that when you arrive. The driver of the other hotels van may try to mislead you if you ask about the hotel name, ask the other passengers to make sure that they are going to the same hotel.

Directions: The hotel is just a little bit off the main road. Assuming that you know where it is generally located at here is how to find it. From the intersection at the beach go inland past various restaurants and small markets. There will be a parking lot with a small faded sign with the hotels name, this is easy to miss. If you do not see the sign and get to the top of the hill(about a long city block), where there is a gas station and a grocery store, then you have gone about twice too far. From the main road the side road to the hotel is a single lane road that zig zags around another few building and past another hotel. The hotel will be on the right side of the road.

The bus service into the main city was very good.

I few issues that other reviews brought up.

Value: My impression is that the hotel would be rated the top end of midrange hotels. This isn’t meant to be a negative comment, it is a wonderful hotel but don’t expect a mint on your pillow or a plush bathrobe. If you go at the peak of the peak August season then it sounds like it is pretty expensive(duh!) but at that time of year a very high end hotel would have been astronomically priced especially located so close to a great beach. When we went in September it was a great bargain.

Rooms: Our room was on the top floor and had a view of the mountains. It had a nice and airy feeling. It looked like there were two rooms on the ground that had entrances on a corridor that would likely be darker. I didn’t ever see anyone using those rooms so they may only be used when the hotel is otherwise full. It would be good to book your room directly with the hotel and request a room on an upper floor to get the best location.

Breakfast: Our room had a kitchenette and there is a good size grocery store only a two or three minute walk from the hotel so we always made or own breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MyScreenName2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
141 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2009

The hosts were very welcoming and helpful, but the woman who picked us up from the port was unfriendly and didn't seem to try to find us as we stood around looking for a sign. The location is excellent though, hidden right behind the cafes, markets, tavernas, and bars where you didn't hear any noise but were right there- Not to mention near the beach too, 5 min walk max. They also give you towels for the beach which was a plus. The room was no frills, thin blanket and lumpy pillows, but it did have a mini kitchen which is a nice feature for families. The shower had low pressure warm water, and it had a useless shower curtain that only blocked half the water from draining out into the main floor drain, thus getting the whole bathroom floor soaked every night. We had our own balcony/bistro table overlooking the courtyard pool area. The walls are paper thin too, so you can hear everything echoing as people moved around in the morning. The pool was very nice, but closed early at 8pm. There's also a scooter rental place, that the hotel recommended around the corner, which was a cheap option to get around the island- 15min to Chora, the main port town, 5 min to Plaka Beach, 15 min to Kastraki Beach.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank occasionaltravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2009

It was our second stay at this hotel and we love it. This summer we stayed at the hotel for 2 weeks and we will come back next summer. It´s our dreamholiday.
The Nilsson Family from Sweden

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nilssonsweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FRANCE
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2009

a very good place to stay in Naxos...a good location between naxos village and the rest of the west coast. A beautiful hotel very well kept up and managed by Vaggelis and Effie...always ready and sincere to help with a smile. A perfect choice for your (my) next vacation. Cheers

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PELICAN53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Prokopios
1.8 mi away
Naxian Collection
Naxian Collection
#1 of 20 in Agios Prokopios
5.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
2.4 mi away
Saint Vlassis Hotel
Saint Vlassis Hotel
#2 of 59 in Naxos Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
0.0 mi away
Liana Hotel
Liana Hotel
#2 of 20 in Agios Prokopios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Nissaki Beach Hotel Naxos
Nissaki Beach Hotel Naxos
#3 of 59 in Naxos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
0.1 mi away
Birikos Studios
Birikos Studios
#12 of 20 in Agios Prokopios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.1 mi away
Colosseo Star
Colosseo Star
#11 of 20 in Agios Prokopios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agios Prokopios Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agios Prokopios Hotel

Property: Agios Prokopios Hotel
Address: Agios Prokopios 84300, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Naxos > Agios Prokopios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Agios Prokopios
#3 Family Hotel in Agios Prokopios
#8 Romantic Hotel in Agios Prokopios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Agios Prokopios Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is very close to the beach and to the area of Agios Prokopios, it has rooms, studios, and apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Agios Prokopios Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agios Prokopios Hotel Naxos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing