We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is it really a 5 stars?”
Review of Naxos Island Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Naxos Island Hotel
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Agios Prokopios
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We spent part of our honeymoon there in the suite with private jacuzzi.
As soon we arrived nobody helped us with our (heavy) luggage...and we immediately found it a little bit "strange" for a 5 stars hotel...
The room was not ready at the moment so they offered us a welcome drink, which was really appreciated!

The room was large (except for the wardrobe!) and cleaned and the bathroom was amazing!
A very "big problem": there was a closed door near the bed and when we arrived the receptionist told us "don't worry! That's just a closed door!"...but at 8 am we discovered that the door was facing the reception and we could not sleep because everybody was shouting (the clients, the receptionists, the staff responsible for the breakfast and for cleaning...Furthermore, in the afternoon, some client also tried to open our room (nobody could understand that this was a "private room"). When we told it to the receptionist, she ignored the problem and pretend she did not understand English, telling that the wind is noisy (?).

Furthermore, in the private jacuzzi there is no "privacy" as other people could walk in front of it to reach their rooms...

The staff was very kind but...the most incredible thing is that THEY DO NOT SPEAK ENGLISH very well! When we finished the bath foam, we went to the reception to ask for it (should we really ask for bathfoam in a 5 stars hotel?!) but, instead of it, they bring us some body lotion (don't you see we already have it but we miss bath foam???).
Cleaning ladies don't speak english at all and I also had some problem at the Hair and Beauty Salon, where the hairdresser could not speak a single word of English and the beautician had to remove the clock from the wall to point with her finger the hour of the appointment...is it normal? I don't think so!

We had lunch once in the Taverna and we enjoyed it a lot (and the dessert was offered by the hotel)...amazing tzatziki!

To sum up: the hotel is nice but too expensive and definitely not a 5 stars hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank sarapare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
There are newer reviews for Naxos Island Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2013

We have just returned from Naxos, and this hotel was absolutely fantastic. So clean, modern, gorgeous and relaxing. It has a wonderful roof bar and restaurant with gorgeous food and drinks and a wonderful view. And the prices were so reasonable, and the staff were just lovely.
This place is exactly what you want.
It really was just gorgeous. The beach was really amazing - just like the Bahamas. It's a quiet town with some lovely restaurants. I will 100% go back and will definitely stay here again. Thanks Naxos Island Hotel - we really loved it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EatDrinkHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Picked this hotel because of the positive reviews here on TA. We were not disappointed. From arrival to departure, the level of service was superb - possibly the best independent hotel experience we've had anywhere. The owner and staff went out of their way to make sure we were always happy and to check if there was anything they could do to make our stay more enjoyable. The hotel is beautifully appointed and it's clear that a great deal of investment has gone into making this one of the best hotels on the island. The restaurant has stunning panoramic views from the roof terrace and the quality of food is excellent. On the few occasions we had small issues they were always dealt with promptly and efficiently. The owner even came back to the hotel late at night when we had a problem with the air conditioning. Definitely recommended and would stay again.

Room Tip: Try the jacuzzi rooms. Adds a little extra especially if you plan on being in or around the hotel fo...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mcent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

From the moment we first walked in, we felt welcome. Of course, the beach is a very short walk away, and there are shops and tavernas close by. But this hotel was special in a very personal way, and we felt like good friends instead of 'customers'. Vangelis, the owner, was always around, and took pride in making us feel comfortable. The rooms are fresh and new, and kept perfectly clean. The rooftop terrace/pool is nicely situated with beautiful views from mountains to ocean sunsets. Even the food is excellent, made with home-grown ingredients, and prepared with care. On the rooftop you will also find a very wonderful man named Elvis running things. After only a few days, I consider him to be a personal friend of ours. An unusual gem of a hotel. Highly rated in every way.
--- Richard & Rosann from Montreal.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rosann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We really like our yearly holiday in Naxos. The beach is Agios Prokopios is outstanding and the people there extremely welcoming.
This year we enjoyed a few times the facilities of the Naxos Island Hotel and will gladly do it again next year. The roof terrace restaurant benefits from a spectacular view and the food is totally affordable and enjoyable. The service was excellent and the staff very patient with us all. We also used their fitness room which is perfectly decent. We happily recommand this hotel for the location, view, food, wine, staff amd the general ambiance.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank evaram r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We stayed in Naxos Island Hotel in mid-July, after researching on TripAdvisor and I can say it was successful option however which negatively'll describe below.
Generally a very good hotel that tries very hard, although new look, worthy of 5 *, but still wants much effort to justify.
Its facilities are comparable 5 * but in practice it turns out that it still needs some work in terms of information and education personnel and other details to support these 5 stars. But this certainly does not lack is the will and the effort to reach them!
Explaining the negative points I will start arriving at the hotel where it happened to have a shift at the front desk clerk from Sweden or Norway with many years of residence in Greece but which despite her goodwill was difficult to be able to consult fairly well in language of the country in which she work so to say the same things over and over again trying to understand each other and in the end we are left with the questions. Of course anyone can work wherever he/she can, but should be able to speak very well the language of that country since working on this!
Of course I must say that she was very kind, helpful and willing but there was and the first non-permitted for a 5 * hotel, events.
In this effort, therefore, she abandoned the reception area, coming to the area in front of the hotel where we had arrived by car, to find a gentleman, who probably was the one who had to get our luggage and carry them into the slot and then in the room. There trying to say that the employee must use the special for this purpose trailer. He took one of the four luggage and left leaving the receptionist to load literally the rest and to bring them in the slot.
In a few minutes one of the two principal returned without the suitcase to get the key - card room and left again. He returned once more but to finally get the rest and to move all the room!
When installing in the room, we consumed the first time some of the kinds of mini bar, which are expected to be replenished the other day, which was not to explain to us in retrospect that the first batch of the entire contents of mini bar was free, which is very positive, but we were not given from the beginning.
When installing in the room, we consumed the first time some of the kinds of mini bar, which are expected to be replenished the other day, which was not to explain to us in retrospect that the first batch of the entire contents of mini bar was free, which is very positive, but we were not given from the beginning.
The next morning I noticed that on the balcony of our room there was a parasol which was not fixed to the rails, so I can not use it and that is why I informed the front desk to the fact to fix it however it was fixed at noon the next day .
Passing at breakfast definitely not 5 *. Little variety, no fresh orange juice, without fresh jams but individual standardized portions, the same for the praline - MERENTA and butter. At 10:20 ` with ending breakfast at 11:00` there was only a portion of egg and not replenished, as well as there were no boiled eggs but I had to ask and get.
As it is summer and we all would like to get our breakfast outside, it was limited to only protection from the sun some umbrellas which had to constantly move to our cover and there should be a fixed blinds.
In the space of the room the only negative point was about the wardrobe for clothes which is why the small amount of even the tops touched the bottom of let alone shorts and dresses.
Of course there are too many positives such as:
-Very good area where the hotel is located in one of the best beaches on the island, only 10 minutes `drive from the town of Naxos,
-Very beautiful and elegant exterior appearance of the hotel,
-Very good cleanliness, very comfortable room with equally large, comfortable and beautiful bathroom with the High-tech toilet (where make up and massage)
S High-tech also very functional beds with triple electrical recall
-Beautiful and functional decoration with all the comforts for 5 * (refrigerator, hair dryer, safe, towels, bathrobes, double and triple cushions, anti mosquito device, multiple nice lighting, cordless telephone, toiletries in the bathroom, balcony with satisfactory nice view - room 116 and Skado-TV 32 ``).
-Nice and very good view Roof Garden with great attraction the telescope to see the moon, with prices a little expensive but very good food.
Finally the room for this season is good value for money.
All in all the hotel is very good, with many possibilities why infrastructure and facilities to quickly become on par with the 5 * but still wants effort .
Definitely deserves congratulation, however, the desire and will to succeed soon everyone from the owner up to the newest employee.
Finally, the crucial question if we would go back the same hotel the answer is definitely YESand I'm sure every day will be even better!
As for the island, this is definitely one of the most beautiful Greek islands.
Sure you have to eat or have a drink at the Roof Garden of the Hotel and admire the view and the quiet, as well as to eat in the tavern of "Maro" at Court Square, to buy traditional sweet and drink ¨ Kítros ¨ of Halki Naxos and buy the famous local cheese products that are incredibly delicious (graviera etc).
PS. Because many written for the bathroom and that many did not like the glass between the room and the bath, to say it is very beautiful and that internally the window has blinds so if you want does not appear anything.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sokpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Spent a wonderful week at Naxos Island Hotel earlier this summer. It's a 2 minute walk from Aghios Prokopios Beach, a nice long stretch of sandy beach with beach chairs and umbrellas and many tavernas to choose from. This hotel opened in 2012, and the rooms and public areas are handsomely furnished and decorated. Our group gathered each evening at the rooftop bar/infinity pool for drinks, sunsets, and to decide where to go for dinner that night. The hotel serves very good food, and there are many other dining options in Ag. Prokopios itself or walking south along the beach toward Aghia Anna or on to Plaka Beach. But the very best thing about Naxos Island Hotel is the staff: from owner/host extraordinaire Mr. Vaggelis Kavuras to Elvis at the rooftop bar, Fani (fahn-nee) organizing the excellent breakfast buffet, Annette at the front desk, and the hard working housekeepers -- many thanks for making my stay memorable. Naxos Island Hotel gets my vote for best hotel in Aghios Prokopios and probably Naxos as well.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Prokopios
0.1 mi away
Liana Hotel
Liana Hotel
#3 of 21 in Agios Prokopios
220 reviews
0.5 mi away
Naxian Collection
Naxian Collection
#1 of 21 in Agios Prokopios
332 reviews
2.3 mi away
Saint Vlassis Hotel
Saint Vlassis Hotel
#2 of 58 in Naxos Town
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Agios Prokopios Hotel
Agios Prokopios Hotel
#5 of 21 in Agios Prokopios
370 reviews
0.6 mi away
Iria Beach Art Hotel
Iria Beach Art Hotel
#17 of 123 in Naxos
213 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Marandi Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Naxos Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Naxos Island Hotel

Address: Naxos Island Hotel Agios Prokopios street, Agios Prokopios 843 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Naxos > Agios Prokopios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Agios Prokopios
#4 Family Hotel in Agios Prokopios
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Agios Prokopios
#6 Romantic Hotel in Agios Prokopios
Price Range: £124 - £286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Naxos Island Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Naxos Island Hotel is a 5 star boutique hotel, contructed in traditional Cycladic style. The hotel is a miniature of Naxos Island where each room retains the features of a village and it is made of marble, emery and plaster. In addition each rooms presents one village with information and photos. This beautiful 5 Star hotel offers magnificent rooms with sea view from the balconies or rooms with a small garden and a private jacuzzi. It offers also gym, spa, beauty treatments & various types of massage, massage rooms, two restaurants, aquarium with sea water and fishes from the sea around Naxos Island, roof swimming pool, roof bar, newsagent, hairdresser salon, private parking, conference room and 24 hours reception service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Naxos Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Naxos Island Hotel Agios Prokopios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing