We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No complaints, felt completely at home.”
Review of Birikos Studios

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Birikos Studios
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Agios Prokopios
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“No complaints, felt completely at home.”
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Stayed here for 6 nights. Were welcomed by Maria the owner with homegrown figs and orange drink. We were given a free upgrade to the superior apartments as the standard we had booked was booked out. The apartment was gorgeous, like a 5 star hotel. Maria offered us their own-produced wine, cheese and home-made desserts. The location is excellent if you want a peaceful base for Naxos. Nearby Agios Prokopios beach is lovely, Plaka beach also within walking distance is really beautiful and unspoilt and there are plenty of retaurants nearby (5 minutes away). There is also a supermarket, pharmacy rentacar/bike and diving school down the road. The bus stops right at the Birikos gate. We are already looking forward to retrning next year.The swimming pool looked lovely but personally we prefer the sea so didn't use it.

Room Tip: For standard and superior roomsthere's a view of the mountains on the east-facing side, hotel ga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maeve O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    43
    11
    5
    4
See reviews for
50
60
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

This hotel probably has one of the best locations you could ask for when staying on an island. Supermarket, gas station, car/bike/atv rental, restaurants, travel services (i.e. booking a ferry or a guided tour), and the beach are literally within 100m of the hotel. The supermarket is maybe 10m away, as is the gas station and rental place. The beach is a little further down but is less than a 5 min walk even at a slow pace. The staff are extremely nice and the rooms have everything you'd need especially at that price. Very clean, not cramped at all and the a/c blows cold which is the main thing. Another bonus is the pool, coming from North America where all we have is pools, i can tell you this is one of the nicest i've swam in with regards to the chlorine level. The only negative i could pick out is that it is a little far from the main town but with a bike or atv its not a problem at all.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EvanOdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

The fridge door was broken and it was full of ice inside. The shower had also a problem, and the answer to that was: "Whatever you afford, you get" Unprofessional indeed. Therefore the other birikos apartments were very nice, so avoid the old ones on the left of the entrance. Additionally the sheets were not changed in a period of 4 days. only the towels were.
The pool was nice.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael_Marinakis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

The owner was nice and kind and good service but they didnt speak very good english. The room were small and unfortunatly not very wel cleaned (the floor felt dirty wich was a bit disturbing). No cleaning every day. The garden and hotel area were beautiful and maybe 7 minutes walk to the beach. We got the cheapest room so if you dont want it too simple, I would recommend you not to take that one.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sofie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

we stayed for 5 nights with our 3 children and had a wonderful holiday. The location is perfect, 5 mins walk to the best beaches in Greece, shops and restaurants. We had a large apartment with 2 big balconies and room for a table inside as well. well stocked kitchen and large bed rooms. The standard of quality was high. The pool was perfect with more beds than was needed. Marie and her family always around to attend our every need. We will return and highly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank benmillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We had a fabulous holiday at the Birikos. After much trawling of the internet, I know we chose the right place. Firstly, owner Maria and her family were lovely. Without being intrusive, they were always there with a friendly smile and responded to any requests immediately. The location is perfect, set back from the road (not that it's at all noisy) and just a minute's walk to the shop where you can buy everything you need. A couple more minutes walk takes you to the beautiful Prokopios beach where there's a number of restaurants and bars - not too many, just enough to give you a choice each night. The bus into Naxos Town stops right outside the Birikos, taking about 15 minutes, and as the last bus back isn't until 2am you can easily go there for a bigger night out. The two best things about the Birikos are the swimming pool and the private balconies. The pool is big enough to swim in without feeling cramped (other hotels in Naxos of the same price range seemed to have rather small pools) and it was never over crowded. Most of the other people there were French or German and whilst they were all having fun, there was no overly boisterous behaviour (ie no Brits drinking pints!). We really felt that we were having that special holiday experience round this pool that only Greece can deliver (in our opinion). Our balcony was absolutely perfect, completely stand-alone with no-one either side. You'll see from the pictures that all the rooms are designed like this with their own steps and areas - this was a major attraction for us! Lemon trees, bougainvillea and trees full of singing birds surround the rooms - heavenly. The rooms themselves are fine, not luxury, but all you need and are well cleaned every other day. Naxos is a fabulous place for a holiday, there's nothing not to like. We arrived by ferry from Piraeus, which is another great experience, and went on a day trip to Santorini, also not to be missed. All in all, it's 10 out of 10 for the Birikos and Naxos!

Room Tip: The bigger rooms on the first floor rooms have the lovely balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cathymtully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Birikos is a 20min bus ride from the port to Agios Prokopios. The bus is a mere 1.60euros each and takes you to the beach area. From there Birikos is only a 2min walk back up the street. Very easy to find as it has the best pool you can see! The family that run the place have had a lot of mention on here for good reason. They are very natural and friendly. We were treated to freshly cut watermelon on arrival there, which we were told they grew in their garden (a nice hospitable touch!) The hotel and pool were kept very clean indeed. Our room was only 56euros a night and we had a cute balcony big enough for breakfast for two. Our room’s tv was tiny but the fridge was a decent size, which was excellent news as we had spotted the next-door supermarket. The rooms were indicative of the price paid, but comfy and great as a base for your stay. The pool, as mentioned, is a highlight for this property. It’s lovely and deep and has a little diving board and plenty of sun loungers. The hotel snack bar is open till 11pm. They do good basic fast food there. Wifi was very slow from our room, but we managed. There are supermarkets, laundromats (8euro for a load washed, dried, and folded), car rentals and restaurants just a stone’s throw away from Birikos. We were gob-smacked at how easy it all was there! An excellent location! The beach was fabulous! Azure blue waters and so crisp and clean. This hotel comes highly recommended by us. And so too does Naxos island. On our final day we didn’t have to catch the ferry till late afternoon, so Maria (lovely host) stored our bags in a safe place for us until we were ready to leave. It’s all very, very easy in Naxos - a wonderful choice for a chilled out holiday!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smarty18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Prokopios
0.1 mi away
Colosseo Star
Colosseo Star
#12 of 21 in Agios Prokopios
96 reviews
0.2 mi away
Anna Studios
Anna Studios
#14 of 21 in Agios Prokopios
88 reviews
0.2 mi away
Liana Hotel
Liana Hotel
#2 of 21 in Agios Prokopios
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Adonis Hotel
Adonis Hotel
#1 of 1 in Apollon
246 reviews
0.1 mi away
Agios Prokopios Hotel
Agios Prokopios Hotel
#5 of 21 in Agios Prokopios
346 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Proteas
Hotel Proteas
#15 of 21 in Agios Prokopios
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birikos Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birikos Studios

Property: Birikos Studios
Address: Agios Prokopios,Street, Agios Prokopios 843 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Naxos > Agios Prokopios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Agios Prokopios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Birikos Studios 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Birikos Studios and Apartments is situated in Agios Prokopios, Naxos, Greece. The hotel covers 7 acres. The whole area belonged to the parents of the owner Maria Kavoura.In 1985 the Friendly Double Rooms were built.All of them are equipped with bed,balcony,tv,a/c and a bathroom.The half of them are equipped with a double bed and a kitchen.In 1995 the Standard Studio Apartments were built.They are completely equipped.Some of them have also sea view or at our swimming pool view.In 2005 The Superior Apartments were built.These are entirely equipped with a beautiful bathroom,1 or 2 bedrooms,2 nice balconys and they have also a nice view at our swimming pool or at Agios Prokopios sea.In 1996 the heart shaped swimming pool was built.The chief of the business Dimitrios Kavouras has made since 1985 a gorgious garden with lot of species of flowers,plants,fruits and vegetables.I think that i have correctly described our beautiful hotel in Agios Prokopios.I'm looking forward to seeing you in our hotel.Thank you very much for your attention ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Birikos Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birikos Studios Agios Prokopios
Birikos Studios Naxos/Agios Prokopios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing