We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value and family-friendly atmosphere near the beach” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Birikos Studios

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Birikos Studios
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Agios Prokopios
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good value and family-friendly atmosphere near the beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

After a wild time in Mykonos, was looking forward to some downtime in Naxos which I'd heard has fabulous beaches.

The Birkikos Studios are in a fabulous location - few minutes walk from the blissful Agios Prokopios beach. Also a supermarket, laundry, restaurants, and bike rental places within a few minutes walk. You have to get here from the main port town, but this is where you want to be with the proximity to the beaches.

Maria and her family obviously take great pride in their hotel and were incredibly kind. It seemed like a very family friendly place.

The room itself was quite large, though looking quite dated. That said, it had everything you needed including air con and cooking facilities, and a great clothesline outside. Wifi is available near the front reception, and many people seemed to be enjoying getting a coffee and chatting to Maria. The hotel does have a fabulous pool, which many seemed to be enjoying - though I could never choose the pool over the fabulous beach so close by.

As a solo traveler, this was a bit quiet for me, and not many others my age were staying there, but it was perfectly suitable for a family/older couple looking to keep things low-key and keep the budget under control (as this was extremely affordable).

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leafsgirl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    41
    11
    5
    4
See reviews for
48
59
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

We spent 4 nights at the Birikos studio/apartments in mid September. My husband and I cannot say enough about our stay there and the genuine kindness of Maria and her husband Dimitras. She was always there to greet us at the end of the day with baking she had done or wine her husband had made. We stayed in a superior apartment that was quite large and it was also in the newer building. We had a balcony out back off the bedroom to have our coffee and watch the sun come up in the morning and a larger patio out front to have dinner and watch the sunset. The apartment was spotless. It was a five minute walk to the minimarket nearby for fresh fruit, cheese, wine and all the basics. The local bus stopped out front which you could take to any of the beaches or you could walk 5 minutes to Agios Prokopios beach or 20 minutes to the quieter Agia Anna, all with tavernas close by. This was one of the most relaxing parts of our two week trip to Greece. We would go back to the Birikos in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bucketlist198130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

Stayed here for 6 nights. Were welcomed by Maria the owner with homegrown figs and orange drink. We were given a free upgrade to the superior apartments as the standard we had booked was booked out. The apartment was gorgeous, like a 5 star hotel. Maria offered us their own-produced wine, cheese and home-made desserts. The location is excellent if you want a peaceful base for Naxos. Nearby Agios Prokopios beach is lovely, Plaka beach also within walking distance is really beautiful and unspoilt and there are plenty of retaurants nearby (5 minutes away). There is also a supermarket, pharmacy rentacar/bike and diving school down the road. The bus stops right at the Birikos gate. We are already looking forward to retrning next year.The swimming pool looked lovely but personally we prefer the sea so didn't use it.

Room Tip: For standard and superior roomsthere's a view of the mountains on the east-facing side, hotel ga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maeve O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

This hotel probably has one of the best locations you could ask for when staying on an island. Supermarket, gas station, car/bike/atv rental, restaurants, travel services (i.e. booking a ferry or a guided tour), and the beach are literally within 100m of the hotel. The supermarket is maybe 10m away, as is the gas station and rental place. The beach is a little further down but is less than a 5 min walk even at a slow pace. The staff are extremely nice and the rooms have everything you'd need especially at that price. Very clean, not cramped at all and the a/c blows cold which is the main thing. Another bonus is the pool, coming from North America where all we have is pools, i can tell you this is one of the nicest i've swam in with regards to the chlorine level. The only negative i could pick out is that it is a little far from the main town but with a bike or atv its not a problem at all.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EvanOdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

The fridge door was broken and it was full of ice inside. The shower had also a problem, and the answer to that was: "Whatever you afford, you get" Unprofessional indeed. Therefore the other birikos apartments were very nice, so avoid the old ones on the left of the entrance. Additionally the sheets were not changed in a period of 4 days. only the towels were.
The pool was nice.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael_Marinakis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

The owner was nice and kind and good service but they didnt speak very good english. The room were small and unfortunatly not very wel cleaned (the floor felt dirty wich was a bit disturbing). No cleaning every day. The garden and hotel area were beautiful and maybe 7 minutes walk to the beach. We got the cheapest room so if you dont want it too simple, I would recommend you not to take that one.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sofie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

we stayed for 5 nights with our 3 children and had a wonderful holiday. The location is perfect, 5 mins walk to the best beaches in Greece, shops and restaurants. We had a large apartment with 2 big balconies and room for a table inside as well. well stocked kitchen and large bed rooms. The standard of quality was high. The pool was perfect with more beds than was needed. Marie and her family always around to attend our every need. We will return and highly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank benmillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agios Prokopios hotels
0.1 mi away
Agios Prokopios Hotel
Agios Prokopios Hotel
#6 of 20 in Agios Prokopios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
1.9 mi away
Naxian Collection
Naxian Collection
#1 of 20 in Agios Prokopios
5.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anna Studios
Anna Studios
#13 of 20 in Agios Prokopios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Colosseo Star
Colosseo Star
#11 of 20 in Agios Prokopios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dimitra Hotel
Dimitra Hotel
#8 of 20 in Agios Prokopios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Katerina
Hotel Katerina
#3 of 20 in Agios Prokopios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birikos Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birikos Studios

Property: Birikos Studios
Address: Agios Prokopios,Street, Agios Prokopios 843 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Naxos > Agios Prokopios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Agios Prokopios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Birikos Studios 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Birikos Studios and Apartments is situated in Agios Prokopios, Naxos, Greece. The hotel covers 7 acres. The whole area belonged to the parents of the owner Maria Kavoura.In 1985 the Friendly Double Rooms were built.All of them are equipped with bed,balcony,tv,a/c and a bathroom.The half of them are equipped with a double bed and a kitchen.In 1995 the Standard Studio Apartments were built.They are completely equipped.Some of them have also sea view or at our swimming pool view.In 2005 The Superior Apartments were built.These are entirely equipped with a beautiful bathroom,1 or 2 bedrooms,2 nice balconys and they have also a nice view at our swimming pool or at Agios Prokopios sea.In 1996 the heart shaped swimming pool was built.The chief of the business Dimitrios Kavouras has made since 1985 a gorgious garden with lot of species of flowers,plants,fruits and vegetables.I think that i have correctly described our beautiful hotel in Agios Prokopios.I'm looking forward to seeing you in our hotel.Thank you very much for your attention ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Birikos Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birikos Studios Agios Prokopios
Birikos Studios Naxos/Agios Prokopios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing