We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great proximity to beach, overall decent hotel.”
Review of Lagos Mare

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lagos Mare
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Agios Prokopios
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great proximity to beach, overall decent hotel.”
Reviewed 26 June 2011

We stayed here just two nights. Overall, we liked the hotel a lot - though it was a little rough around the edges in some places. And the furniture - for some reason it really stood out to me as cheap - which is not something that normally strikes me in a hotel. But still - the place was clean, the staff very friendly, the main pool was a pleasure to swim in, and the breakfast spread was super-yummy. There was even live music on one of the nights we stayed. The best part though was that the hotel was a 5-10 minute walk to a beautiful beach, and only a 10 minute / 10 euro taxi ride into Naxos town.

My criteria:
1) Cleanliness - as I said, some things were a little rough around the edges (a room direction sign for example had fallen off a wall), but overall, the place is spotless.

2) Staff - very friendly and helpful. We tried to rent a car last minute, and the nice lady behind the desk (Nancy) tried at least three places for us - sadly in vain. That leads me to the useful European travel tip - don't try to rent an automatic car in a small town last minute. :(

3) Location - when we were booking, we couldn't decide whether it was better to stay in Naxos town by the harbor or by one of Naxos's renowned beaches. We chose the beach and we're happy with that decision. From the hotel, it was only a 5-10 minute walk to the very beautiful beach of Agios Prokopios. The water there was delicious. And there are tons of little restaurants and shops along the waterfront. We were able to purchase snorkeling gear at one of the little tourist shops and enjoy a morning snorkeling. At the same time, we went frequently into the town of Naxos. The ride is less than 10 minutes, and cost only about 10 euros each way. We might have saved more money doing this in the reverse (staying in Naxos town, and taking a taxi to the beach) - but we were happy with how it worked out.

4) Ability to sleep - We definitely got a good night's rest at this quiet and comfortable hotel.

Bottom line - a comfortable and relaxing hotel by the beach and a short ride from town. It also seems like a good place for families, as there were several staying at this hotel. Not the most romantic place ever, but we were happy honeymooners nonetheless.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlm2053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    89
    37
    11
    10
See reviews for
73
185
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2011

the hotel has a really great chef and the food was about the best we had in greece - using ingredients from naxos. the staff were friendly and the atmosphere very good. our room had a good balcony and there was a very relaxed atmosphere. it is a short walk to the beach and this is a hotel we would go back to

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hnwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2011

This hotel was a wonderful surprise!
Nice accomodation (we had an upgrade to a suite), wonderful location (10 minutes walking from a beautiful beach), very clean, good restaurant, and most of all, a fantastic staff.
In what concerns staff, we had never met such a friendly, cheerfull and helpful team in a hotel, and we have quite a long experience in travelling...
We are going advertise this hotel and this island to our friends !

Room Tip: Take a room near the sea front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Belinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arroyo Grande, California
1 review
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Hotel exceptionally clean, quick, fantastic views of the sea and cozy niches to recline, curl up and read around the pools. The staff is top knotch, well trained, kind, helpfull and always with a terrific attitude. We would recommend this hotel to any of our friends going to Naxos.

Room Tip: use the guide on the website to preview the roos
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlt78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 31 August 2010

The service here was second to none (mainly thanks to the Manager), our room was great and had a good sea view and there are 3 well kept pools. The location was close to a great beach and away from the hustle and bustle of the main town which we enjoyed. Nothing was too much trouble and any assistance we needed was happily given.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen053692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2010

I stayed in this hotel for 1 week this August. The hotel is definetely good, but I think it does not deserve 225 EUR/night. Generally, it is one of the best hotels you can find in Naxos island, but with this price you must be able to compare it with a Hilton or Sheraton standard hotel. In my humble opinion, the hotel does not have this standard. In the pros, I would say that the staff is very helpful and polite and they will do their best to support you in any possible way. The rooms are spacious and clean. Satellite TV is also there and you can enjoy a variety of english, german and french channels. The hotel also offers various services after demand (such as massage, spa, fitness center, hair stylist etc) as well as an excellent restaurant. I dined there and my experience was very positive. Last but not least, the hotel has excellent surroundings (beautiful swimming pools, nice and well-cared garden etc).
On the negative side, the breakfast (although good) could have been better (no fresh orange juice for example and relatively limited variety). The greek channels were not working properly in the TV (the received signal's quality was really bad). Moreover, the furniture in the room is decent, but not what you would expect from a room of this price.
If money is not a problem, you should definetely stay there. You will enjoy one of the best accomodations in Naxos.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ntsaousis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 9 August 2010

We had great service and rooms were kept very well. The only areas for improvement are that breakfast should be different each day or have a larger variety. Also the house keeping service needs to be more decreat as they were an interference with getting ready for the day and waking up. Had a great stay and enjoyed the pool area. Connie and Kaz.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kazim_Reza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Prokopios
0.4 mi away
Liana Hotel
Liana Hotel
#3 of 21 in Agios Prokopios
214 reviews
2.1 mi away
Saint Vlassis Hotel
Saint Vlassis Hotel
#2 of 58 in Naxos Town
425 reviews
0.3 mi away
Naxian Collection
Naxian Collection
#1 of 21 in Agios Prokopios
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Finikas Hotel
Finikas Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pyrgaki
334 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kouros Art Hotel
Kouros Art Hotel
#6 of 21 in Agios Prokopios
127 reviews
1.9 mi away
Galaxy Hotel
Galaxy Hotel
#7 of 58 in Naxos Town
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lagos Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lagos Mare

Property: Lagos Mare
Address: Lagos Mare Agios Prokopios, Agios Prokopios 843 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Naxos > Agios Prokopios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Agios Prokopios
#9 Romantic Hotel in Agios Prokopios
#13 Family Hotel in Agios Prokopios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lagos Mare 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience absolute comfort and undiminished personal care in the chic ambiance of Lagos Mare Hotel in Naxos.Discover the elegance of the Lagos Mare 4-star hotel in Naxos and experience an unparalleled stay with the special attention you deserve in a truly splendid environment designed to cater to our eclectic guests' particular needs.Lagos Mare is a luxury Naxos hotel situated in Agios Prokopios, ideally close to one of Europe's most wonderful beaches with soft sand and crystal clear water. Created to reflect Cycladic finesse with its clear lines and smooth curves, this Naxos hotel manages to fulfil your holiday dreams in its supreme setting. The Lagos Mare Naxos Hotel luxury rooms and suites only succeed in providing you with upscale Naxos accommodation and an unsurpassed level of comfort in their delightful spaces decorated with fine furnishings making it one of the finest Naxos hotels. Even more, the gracious, ever attentive staff will go out of their way to make you feel at home.In Lagos Mare Hotel in Naxos Greece every spot gives you a chance for unwinding and rejuvenation. The beautiful swimming pools, the pool bar and the well-cared garden, as well as the exquisite "1924" restaurant and the beauty and wellness spa centre, make our hotel one of the most bewitching luxury Naxos hotels, where you will enjoy life's refined pleasures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lagos Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lagos Mare Agios Prokopios
Lagos Mare Hotel Agios Prokopios
Lagos Mare Naxos/Agios Prokopios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing