We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Room, Modern Bathroom, Great Service”
Review of Lagos Mare

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lagos Mare
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Agios Prokopios
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Clean Room, Modern Bathroom, Great Service”
Reviewed 13 July 2010

The hotel is modern, the staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful, and our room had a great modern bathroom and was spotless (we stayed in the executive suite). An unexpected surprise for the foodies: they try to source all their restaurant ingredients locally and have had a celebrity Greek chef consult on their menu. If you know what you are doing when making your choices, their breakfast buffet is very good. We also had good luck with the appetizers for one dinner, but less luck with the mains (but we were ordering the food at an odd time, so that may be an unfair assessment). Our room also had two relatively nice balconies (one had a pool view, the other a mainly rural view). It has good access to a terrific beach (not excellent access, you have to walk 5-10 minutes, but it is good access--we enjoyed the walk).

That part of the review is easy. The more difficult part is assessing the value. The hotel is not a luxury hotel. The price we paid was a little less, but not much less, than the price we paid for a truly luxurious hotel room in Positano, Italy and in Athens. Maybe that is just the price you pay for visiting Naxos? This was our first visit, so it is hard for us to say. We did pay much more for true luxury in Santorini, so maybe good accomodation on Greek islands is expensive?

It would be much easier to recomend the hotel if it was on the beach (which would have improved the views and been more convenient) or if it cost less. If it was cheap, it would be a great "cheap and cheerful" clean hotel, but it is not really cheap.

So, I suggest you continue your research. It may be, that like us, you conclude that obtaining accomodation on Naxos involves compromises. If you want a clean, modern hotel close to a terrific beach and not too far from town, then you might have to pay the premium and stay at the Lagos Mare. Ultimately, we enjoyed it as a good "base of operations" and would certainly consider staying there again. There is no doubt that the staff try hard to make sure you enjoy your stay. As long as you are not expecting a luxury hotel, and you are OK with the price you are paying, then you will be happy. Once we got over the fact it was not a luxury hotel despite the price (and afterall, for a family of four the price was not that bad), we were happy, and enjoyed our stay. Naxos is great. Our first impression of Naxo was not that great, but once we pressed past the first tacky port street and into the real streets of Chora, or rented a car (easy to do from the front desk of the hotel) and drove into the mountains, or walked for kilometers along the beautiful beach, we realized Naxos was indeed great.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toute_le_Monde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    88
    37
    11
    9
See reviews for
70
182
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2010

Very friendly staff catering to all your needs so that you can enjoy your vacation. Proximity to one of the best beaches in Europe is a big advantage. Large rooms with all the comforts available.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrispanatha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
1 review
Reviewed 11 July 2010

very good hotel. The personel was very kind and helpful with us. Best choise in Naxos

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikos_Zog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2010

We spend 7 days in this beautiful hotel from 3 until 10 of July 2010.
We would like to thank all the staff for their efforts to make our stay so amazing.!!!
Special thanks for our 1st anniversary and for the nice surprise of the sweet cake in our room that day.
Keep going like that, certainly we recommend the hotel for the services, the place (ag. prokopios sea is the best of the island) and all the staff.
See u again soon!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MARIW_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2010

We stayed at the Lagos Mare as part of our honeymoon and found the staff extremely friendly and especially the general manager Constantinos who went out of his way to help us. The hotel location was outside of the main town but was excellent and within walking distance to the neighbouring local village that was lovely and had a number of excellent local teverna's.

The hotel pools were excellent and well kept and in general we were really impressed with the hotel and Naxos in general and will be definitely back in the near future !!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ED9989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAUWATOSA
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2010

My wife and our twin 18 year old daughters stayed at the Lagos Mare for 3 nights. The hotel was beautiful and the staff was extremely helpful. My wife arrived later than we did and there were some complications caused by a general strike. When I had trouble using my calling card to contact our travel agent the staff at the front desk made the call for me at no charge. They were friendly and helpful every time we had contact with them.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dafwcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2010

We stayed here after visiting Athens and Mykonos, and for a similar price we got a WAY better deal over there in terms of quality and price. This hotel is anything but "luxurious" and "sophisticated", and the pics in their website do not reflect the reality. The location is awful (being able to see the sea at the distance is not the same that having a "seaview"). I would never recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pedrocesr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Prokopios
0.4 mi away
Liana Hotel
Liana Hotel
#2 of 21 in Agios Prokopios
207 reviews
2.1 mi away
Saint Vlassis Hotel
Saint Vlassis Hotel
#2 of 58 in Naxos Town
414 reviews
0.3 mi away
Naxian Collection
Naxian Collection
#1 of 21 in Agios Prokopios
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Finikas Hotel
Finikas Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pyrgaki
325 reviews
1.9 mi away
Galaxy Hotel
Galaxy Hotel
#7 of 58 in Naxos Town
392 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kouros Art Hotel
Kouros Art Hotel
#6 of 21 in Agios Prokopios
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lagos Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lagos Mare

Property: Lagos Mare
Address: Lagos Mare Agios Prokopios, Agios Prokopios 843 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Naxos > Agios Prokopios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Agios Prokopios
#9 Romantic Hotel in Agios Prokopios
#13 Family Hotel in Agios Prokopios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lagos Mare 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience absolute comfort and undiminished personal care in the chic ambiance of Lagos Mare Hotel in Naxos.Discover the elegance of the Lagos Mare 4-star hotel in Naxos and experience an unparalleled stay with the special attention you deserve in a truly splendid environment designed to cater to our eclectic guests' particular needs.Lagos Mare is a luxury Naxos hotel situated in Agios Prokopios, ideally close to one of Europe's most wonderful beaches with soft sand and crystal clear water. Created to reflect Cycladic finesse with its clear lines and smooth curves, this Naxos hotel manages to fulfil your holiday dreams in its supreme setting. The Lagos Mare Naxos Hotel luxury rooms and suites only succeed in providing you with upscale Naxos accommodation and an unsurpassed level of comfort in their delightful spaces decorated with fine furnishings making it one of the finest Naxos hotels. Even more, the gracious, ever attentive staff will go out of their way to make you feel at home.In Lagos Mare Hotel in Naxos Greece every spot gives you a chance for unwinding and rejuvenation. The beautiful swimming pools, the pool bar and the well-cared garden, as well as the exquisite "1924" restaurant and the beauty and wellness spa centre, make our hotel one of the most bewitching luxury Naxos hotels, where you will enjoy life's refined pleasures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Bookgreece.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Lagos Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lagos Mare Agios Prokopios
Lagos Mare Hotel Agios Prokopios
Lagos Mare Naxos/Agios Prokopios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing