We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colosseo Star should not be allowed to run hotel business”
Review of Colosseo Star

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Colosseo Star
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Agios Prokopios
Malmo, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Colosseo Star should not be allowed to run hotel business”
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We booked for three nights and the best thing about Colosseo Star Hotel was when we decided to leave the hotel after just one night all though we had already paid for three nights. Awful hotel!!!

Colosseo Star Hotel was a smelly place because of the salt lake located right on the edge of the hotel. You had to either walk along the stinky salt lake or walk on the very busy main road, to get to the beach. The location is really bad. The real view is a lot different from what is shown on booking.com. And it’s not even close to the beach because of the long way you have to walk around the stinky salt lake or the even longer way when you walk on the very busy main road. The owners have no knowledge what so ever of security for families with small children. We even confronted the owner but he didn’t care all though our 1,5 year little daughter hurt herself on the staircase that had no protection at all. At last George, the owner, told us he would pay our money back for all three nights but when it came down to business he sent his wife instead and she said we wouldn’t get a penny. We booked on booking.com for the amount showed on their site but Colosseo Star overcharged at our account. They also overcharged on the breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lars1264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgekavouras, Owner at Colosseo Star, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
The hotel does not smell at all!!! You can only smell the lake (salt lake) when you pass from the lake to go to the beach but if you can't smell it at all you could reach the beach from the main street!!! i just want to inform you that around this lake is the parking area of Saint Prokopios beach which happened to be the best beach on Naxos and always full of people!!!

You claim that you left our hotel because your child harm herself, but i think you had already ask and accept the offer for another apartment at the new 5 stars hotel on the beach which was not available on line when you made the reservation for COLOSSEO STAR!
The breakfast is 5 euro per person, it includes coffee/ tea, bread, butter, honey, marmelade, cake, egg, orange juice. Did we overcharge you for this???? if you ask something extra ,( like sandwich) you will pay for it, it is normal!
Your reservation was non refundable, we did n't tell you that we will give your money back! we did not refer to this at all! You just call us to infom us that you will leave the hotel (you probably did not notice that the price was non refundable so you thought that you will not pay for the days you will not stay and you just noticed it when you return to your country).
When you blackmail us (by e-mails) to give you your money back otherwise you will write bad review we informed you that there is not any problem to write your review but you need to write the reality!!!
I have been involved in turism over 25 years so i know how to run a hotel!!!
COLOSSEO STAR is one of the best hotel on Naxos as you could see the reviews!!!
i am really sorry that COLOSSEO STAR was not the hotel you were looking for but for many other is the best place and they are coming again and again!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    18
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
48
33
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Hotel owners Maria and family made our stay wonderful. Great pool and play area for kids. Peaceful at night. Clean rooms with comfortable beds. Free shuttle to port was great.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katven2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muenchenstein, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Just back from Agios Prokopios (Naxos) and already looking forward to next year. In September 2010 we were for the first time in Colosse star and since then we are regular guest, Yes, we are almost part of the family! For us, the hotel and the town is perfec. We had never before having to come back again and again feeling. In Agios Prokopios, it is different. George and Maria are not only super friendly but much more. Don't forget Sofia, who is responsible for the daily cleanliness and moor. As I said it suits us all, friendliness, generosity of the host family, etc. Maria, Geroge und Sofia, we will see you soon again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bakar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

We could not be bothered waiting 2 hours for a bus to take us to Agia Anna. We saw the Colosseo van at Naxos port, and all 5 of us jumped in. We came off the main road and down a dirt track past a taverna and on to the Colosseo Star.... so quiet, so pretty. I bet the other people in the van wished they were staying here. 2 of the girls in our party were seasoned Island hoppers and their mouths were open when they saw the size of the rooms being offered to us. We took a double and a triple. I had planned to spend my birthday in Koufonissia but I decided we should stay here longer - we weren't going to get better value for money anywhere else. The double room would easily sleep 4 - and I mean easily. The triple room was on 2 floors. Both had well equipped kitchenettes.
The pool was lovely and warm and surrounded by grass - not wet tiles. All the windows in our rooms were fitted with mosquito nets so we could sleep with the windows open and the air con off. It was a short walk across the lakes to the beach (3 mins I guess) - or a 5 minute to walk into town which had well stocked mini markets, ATMs, ticket agencies, bakers etc. Having been to Naxos several times before, I wanted to go to Plaka beach which was a 40 minute stroll which takes you past the Paradiso taverna - highly recommended. However, if you walk up the dirt rtack from Colosseo Star (avoid the taverna playing loud live music - the service in there is not great) and turn left at the top, you come to an amazing taverna less than 50 yards ahead, the name of which escapes me, but served a consistently high standard of food to a predominately German customer base. The owner even presented me with a birthday dessert, complete with sparklers, and got the whole taverna to sing Happy Birthday to me.
The bathroom facilities at the Colosseo Star are what you would expect in Greece, and I had no problem with wifi on my mobile. We all loved this place; definitely the biggest and best value rooms we have ever had in Greece. If you want peace and quiet in beautiful garden surroundings, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ootytooty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Lovely spotless hotel with beautiful views of the sunset and beach. The apartments are well contained and maintained, everything you need is here. We cooked our own breakfasts and lunches in the kitchen. the two bed apartments are very spacious. Its an ideal spot for kids. The owners couldn't be friendlier & helpful. There was a tennis court at the hotel which we made use of and the pool is fantastic, water is so clean and warm. Finding it hard to find any faults here. Perfect for relaxation.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JAtravel11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2010

Loved our stay at the Colosseo, the service was excellent - every afternoon we were brought free snacks and drinks as we lounged around the pool. We also had an issue where we lost our passports on the ferry (left a bag on there in the mad rush to get off) - George & his wife were fantastic in helping us locate it - they rang the ferrry, the police, and drove us down to the ferry dock & waited with us for an hour til the ferry came in (late) and we could get our bag back. It's just a short walk to a nice part of the beach, and to town. You have to walk through an area with salt pools, which some people said were smelly but we didn't find them offensive, and we were there in hot & sunny july. The place is awesome for kids - we took our 2&1/2 yr old daughter, but there were other families there with younger and older kids. The pool is warm with loads of toys for children, and the playground is great. Also really liked having grass surrounding the pool - didn't have to worry about my daughter slipping on wet tile. Recommend you stay here!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrsg15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2010

This was my second time in Naxos and Aghia Prokopios particularly. I really enjoy Aghia Prokopios as it has a lot to offer and is the closest beach town to Chora.

Colosseo Star is a very nice facility. Our room was spacious, bright, air conditioned and clean. While the bathroom was clean, it was cramped and there was no shower and not even a real bathtub. There was a shower head attached to a flexible hose and you were supposed to sit in the small tub (seat built-in) and wash yourself. It was difficult to not spray water everywhere...including your towel and the toilet paper. Bathing here was a real drawback.

When I booked the hotel, I knew that it was not right in town. There were two routes into Prokopios, either past the drying lakes (which in the wet season would not be possible) and then along the beach or up the dirt road and then down the paved road (no pedestrian walkway here) and into town.

Breakfast was also supposed to be available...instead we received some kind of pastry each morning (if they saw us). This was not too much of a burden as we went to my favorite cafe in town.

The staff was very friendly and I can find no fault with them. There are several Colosseo facilities and one night on our way back to the Star, we were waiting for the bus when George went by in the Colosseo van, he picked us up and took us back to the star.

The Star also has a very nice pool.

While I would not recommend the Star, I would say that it is a nice place overall, but for location and the bath.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank johnsilb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Prokopios
0.2 mi away
Agios Prokopios Hotel
Agios Prokopios Hotel
#5 of 21 in Agios Prokopios
355 reviews
0.2 mi away
Anna Studios
Anna Studios
#12 of 21 in Agios Prokopios
92 reviews
0.1 mi away
Birikos Studios
Birikos Studios
#8 of 21 in Agios Prokopios
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Liana Hotel
Liana Hotel
#3 of 21 in Agios Prokopios
213 reviews
13.1 mi away
Adonis Hotel
Adonis Hotel
#1 of 1 in Apollon
254 reviews
2.2 mi away
Saint Vlassis Hotel
Saint Vlassis Hotel
#2 of 58 in Naxos Town
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colosseo Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colosseo Star

Property: Colosseo Star
Address: Agios Prokopios 84300, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Naxos > Agios Prokopios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Agios Prokopios
#6 Family Hotel in Agios Prokopios
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Agios Prokopios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Colosseo Star 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COLOSSEO STAR is 3 minutes on foot from Saint Prokopios beach. The rooms include satellite tv, air- conditioning, refrigerator, kitchen, hair dryer, wi fi, we could also provide you laptop, free of charge.The apartments have sea view and pool view balconies, there are studios with sea view balconies or pool view verandas. There is swimming pool for adults and children, play ground, Basketball/ volleyball and tennis court. You could have a drink or a mini launch at the pool bar. Breakfast price is 5 euro per person. We provide free pick up service from/ to the port/ airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Colosseo Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colosseo Star Naxos/Agios Prokopios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing