We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hotel - relaxing and beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mykonos Grand Hotel & Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Amherst, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful hotel - relaxing and beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2010

I was in contact with the hotel several months before our trip in order to make other arrangements such as spa appointments and to inquire about other activities like tours, cooking classes, and other things they offered at their hotel. They were extremely helpful and prompt in their response. The hotel offered a lot of other activities such as rental of a speedboat with your own captain, rental of a helicopter to tour the island and other island, a romantic and private beach dinner to name a few. We ended up not doing any of those activites due to cost however.

I did make use of their spa. Although they have an extensive list of treatments which was impressive, I was not to impressed with the body scrub that I had or the vichy shower. I have had better in the past. I did enjoy the seaside olive oli massage and would recommend that. They had a nice enough locker room area and fitness area. Although the gym only had three cardio machines that were always full. As a person who goes to the gym as much as possible while on vacation, I did appreciate the equipment that they had there - cardio, free weights, stationary strengthening equipment. My only complaint would be the temperature of the actual fitness room - too stuffy unless you stood by the air conditioner.

The outdoor facilities were fantastic! I loved their private beach with the umbrellas and lounge chairs. The Mediterranean Sea was absolutely gorgeous. I loved their pool (was surprised it was a saltwater pool - had never experienced that) because it was huge and very clean. I loved how they had cabanas if you wanted to stay out of the sun. And i loved that they had a couple of tiers for the lounge chairs so that you could hear the ocean but not necessarily have to lie down on a lounge chair at the beach.

The champagne breakfast was delicious. The had a great assortment of food. And their mixed drinks at their white bar and pool side were memorable. i loved their passion fruit mojitos.

The concierge staff was always willing to help out with suggestions. There were so many ladies at the front desk who were always greeting us and making sure we had everything we needed. in particular, Georgia, the main concierge(?) was very insightful about restaurants on the island.

The hotel is about ten minutes away from Mykonos town. they do not have a shuttfle from the hotel which would have been nice however, there is a bus to town that you can catch just a block away from the hotel and we used that once because it was convenient and cheap. Also, they did offer decent rates for car, scooter, or atv rentals. We did end up renting a car because if you rely on a taxi you will wait FOREVER! Apparently they have only 32 taxis on the island. Can you believe it?! While getting a taxi from the hotel was tolerable, waiting for one in Mykonos Town was brutal. Having a car was great because then we could go to parts of the island not accessible by bus.

Lastly, our accommodations were fantastic! We stayed in one of their newly renovated spa rooms with a seaside view. Gorgeous! It was an open space floor plan for the room to the spa bathroom. The bathroom space was even bigger than the actual bedroom space which I was totally fine with. There was a seperate enclosed bathroom area. Then there was a steam room shower with one of those rain water spouts. Separate sinks in opposite corners. And a huge and modern tub right in the middle of the bathroom. i loved the steam shower and used the steam room every day. Plus, we had a lovely balcony overlooking the sea. The bed was very cozy and the entertainment area was great complete with dvd player, flat screen tv, cd player, radio, and av/usb outlets so you didn't have to have multiple adapters and use various outlets in the room. The temperature control in the room was terrific. Turn down service was very creative! One night it was bottled water which I thought was standard. But the next night, it was two boxes of dominos along with a cute little card that had a greek saying on it. The next night they gave us keychains. I thought at first we couldn't keep the dominos, but when they gave us the keychains I realized they were gifts for us. Very nice touch. Also a nice touch was their turn down basket which had things like book lights and a jump rope for us to use in our room. And the bath products were L'Occitane. All in all this hotel was beautiful, very well thought out, extremely helpful, and very relaxing. I would recommend it to someone in a heartbeat. Fyi, it is part of the small luxury hotels of the world group which is no surprise to me.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chgoatheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    997
    116
    26
    4
    6
See reviews for
165
764
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2010

We have just returned from 7 nights at the Mykonos Grand on our honeymoon and have to say it exceeded all of our expectations. We are both used to saying in very nice hotels through work so we weren't sure how this hotel would compare but it was absolutely beautiful. The views from the room and the pool area were breathtaking. The bed was THE most comfiest bed I have ever slept in. The staff were extrememly friendly and helpful and just couldnt do enough to ensure we had a great stay. The facilities were great - we enjoyed playing squash and table tennis everyday, using the free internet, going to the hotel beach and having drinks in the bar in the evening watching the sunset over the sea. The food was also exceptional although the dinner was very pricey if you don't have the all inclusive rate. The only real downside was that it wasnt near enough to walk to the bars and restaurats of Mykonos town so it became a bit pricey to get taxis everyday. However, at the end of the trip we found some great restaurants on the beach within walking distance - only wish the hotel would have told us about these earlier!! All in all I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a luxury hotel of complete relaxation in the sun.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyTravelChica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2010

We stayed at the Mykonos Grand for 10 days and had high hopes after reading all the great reviews, however it did not meet our expectations. We are season travellers and have stayed at many 5 star hotels around the world, however the Mykonos Grand fell short.

Negatives:
-Bathrooms are tiny and the tubs are not well designed in the Sea View rooms.
-Shower head was filthy and mildew on the tub, which the cleaning lady did finally clean but on the 8th day of our stay.
-Forced and rigid service by manager and most other staff with the exception of the ladies at the front desk.
-On one of the days had to stay in the room most of the day because was feeling ill and in the afternoon when I started feeling better and left the room, the cleaning lady was very visibly upset and made comments to us.
-Overpriced food - a small salad was 14 euros, oh and did I mentioned the unwashed lettuce that still had live small bugs on it???

Initially we did mention some of the issues to the manager but after the awful service (or should I say lack of service) we received from him, we thought what's the point?!

Positives
-Maria and the ladies at the front desk were great, and provided us with recommendations and anything else we needed.
-Pool and beach are nice as were the views from the room.

After a few days of our stay, we did consider leaving, however we thought let's make the most of it, unfortunately it did not get better.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SeasonTraveller75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malibu, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2010

The facility, the rooms, the linens, the expresso maker in your room, the steam shower, the free wifi, the advanced audio visual. the pool, the kindness of the staff, the spa, the views, the food, etc. this is a PERFECT hotel.

We had an awful starting Mykonos experience as we were originally checked into Royal Myconian which is a pit! There is no way thier reviews are legitimate. We hung in with them until we saw the bed bugs!!

We checked into The Mykonos Grand at midnight and were told put the other hotel behind us and enjoy our stay.........boy was that easy! The Mykonos Grand took what could have been a disaster trip and made it one of the most memorable trips ever.

For a honeymoon, anniversary, or the most relaxing time in your life, this is your place.

Thanks to Panos, Theo, Maria, Athena and the the entire gracious staff for a wonderful trip!!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BRNR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2010

Have just returned from this hotel where a group of eight friends spent a week This is a superb hotel - the position - the facilities - the pool & beach - and the staff - all marvellous. The staff cannot do enough for you - friendly and helpful. The weather was also wonderful. My seaview room with balcony was just heavenly. I and my friends cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janie000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2010

Wow! I am still overwhelmed with the great experience we had in this hotel. My wife and I are seasoned travelers and regularly stay in 5-star hotels. None of those we have stayed in even comes close to the Mykonos Grand Hotel.

We have stayed for one week and have been pampered like never before. The staff and management make all the difference. Everyone, from room maid to operational director is extremely nice and helpful. They make you feel very special. They do not just go the extra mile, nope, they go an extra hundred miles to make sure you spend a great vacation.
The hotel is very well maintained and spotlessly clean. There are lots of facilities (gym, spa, beach, etc) and the food is great, too.

If you go to Mykonos there is only one place to stay, the Mykonos Grand. Period.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reiseschatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2010

We just got home from an amazing week at the Mykonos Grand. I cannot say enough wonderful things about this hotel. From the moment we stepped foot in the hotel, we were treated like gold. Maria from reception brought us straight to the VIP room and offered us a glass of champagne and proceeded to tell us about all of the wonderful restaurants, beaches and sights that Mykonos had to offer. After a quick tour, my husband asked someone in the kitchen for a cup of coffee. We were quickly escorted to a table and even though breakfast was over, Maria (one of the waitstaff, who was simply amazing) made sure that not only did we have coffee, but she also brought over assorted fruits, yogurt, bread and honey. Irene at the front desk was also amazing. Always a smile, always willing to help. The room was fabulous, the beach and pool fabulous and breakfast and lunch were fabulous (we did not eat dinner at the hotel). All in all, I would go back anytime. The hospitality was second to none!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KSasso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Ioannis Diakoftis
3.4 mi away
Rocabella Mykonos Art Hotel & SPA
1.6 mi away
Boheme
Boheme
#1 of 82 in Mykonos Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
1.7 mi away
Myconian Ambassador Relais & Chateaux Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Nissaki Boutique Hotel
Nissaki Boutique Hotel
#1 of 25 in Platys Gialos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
1.4 mi away
Palladium Boutique Hotel
Palladium Boutique Hotel
#2 of 25 in Platys Gialos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
4.5 mi away
Myconian Villa Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mykonos Grand Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mykonos Grand Hotel & Resort

Property: Mykonos Grand Hotel & Resort
Address: Ayios Yiannis, Agios Ioannis Diakoftis 846 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Mykonos > Agios Ioannis Diakoftis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Agios Ioannis Diakoftis
#1 Family Hotel in Agios Ioannis Diakoftis
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Agios Ioannis Diakoftis
#2 Romantic Hotel in Agios Ioannis Diakoftis
#2 Luxury Hotel in Agios Ioannis Diakoftis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mykonos Grand Hotel & Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mykonos Grand is a unique resort on Mykonos, on one of the island's most famous beaches Ayios Yiannis known for the glorious sunsets. The resort's Cycladic architecture of cube shaped whitewashed buildings linked by pathways and terraces is combined with classic interior ambience. The hotel offers 96 bedrooms and suites including Superior rooms and luxurious Suites with private pools. The resort's facilities include an outstanding spa, tennis and squash courts, an impressive stone-built amphitheatre for inspiring yoga sessions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, HotelsClick, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Bookgreece.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mykonos Grand Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mykonos Grand Hotel And Resort
Mykonos Grand Hotel Agios Ioannis
Mykonos Grand Resort
Grand Hotel Mykonos
Mykonos Grand Hotel & Resort Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing