We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Misleading photos, Horrible Service, Dirty Rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Manoulas Mykonos Beach Resort
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Misleading photos, Horrible Service, Dirty Rooms”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We had a terrible experience with this hotel, the photos are totally misleading, the room we stayed in was dirty, there was sand on the floor, and the view was nowhere close to full sea view (more like a pool view), even though we invested in a superior room. The AC was old and it made an awful loud noise, but we couldn't turn it off and open the windows because mosquitoes would come in. When we told the receptionist about this problem, she was very rude and annoyed.
Bathroom: there is room to leave any toiletries. The shower had black mold and the towels were very worn out (they were clean though).
Wi-fi connection: was only available at the reception, and you had to sit close to the router to get any service. So everyone would crowd around the reception for some wi-fi.
Restaurants: there are only two restaurants and you have to walk down a slope to reach them. Both are a bit pricey, but Hippie Fish was definitely worth every cent.
Swimming pool: there are not enough sun beds for everybody, you had to either wake up early or ask for one. When we asked for an extra sun bed, we had to carry it, they wouldnt help us.
Breakfast: minimal variety, the juice was watery and when we requested an early breakfast (we had an early check out), they didnt make any effort to serve us. They just left the door of the kitchen open and we could only have the leftovers from the day before. There was not even water or one person to serve us (this was around 7:30 am, not really early).

Room Tip: Dont get a room near the pool, its too noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nura_Harati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    142
    76
    32
    27
See reviews for
66
197
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I will be comparing this hotel to another 4* hotel IN greece.

If I have one nice thing to say about this hotel it would be the setting.
Can you really spend a good time in a nice setting and a poor service?
It's a real shame.
When i first got to the hotel the receptionist couldn't be more disrespectful.
She didn't inform us about the hotel facilities, we had to insist to have someone helping us get our luggage to the room.
The we got to our room. The floor was dusty. When we made a call to have it cleaned, the staff made us look like we lied and it was crystal clear. Fine we will skip it.

There is barely a room service and you can't reach them after 8:30pm.

Room Tip: Don't take a room on pool level. too noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McShisho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Agios Ioannis Diakoftis hotels

Camberley, Surrey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

I travelled to Mykonos for a relaxing week away but somewhere with some style and fun should I want it. Manoulas is a 15 minute bus ride from the town but at 1.6 euro that's hardly an issue. The beach itself is quiet... compared to Super Paradise for example! All those places are accessible from the town bus station.

As for the hotel.... lots of noise on here as to whether it's 4* or not but I found it clean, friendly staff, OK breakfast and a (salt water) pool which was well maintained and not too busy. My room did not have the greatest of views (126) but it was fine, decent a/c and the only gripe being the a rather bad picture on BBC World News as the only English TV... but not an issue given the stunning beach, sunsets and so on.

2 restaurants on the beach - Hippy Fish and Manoulas... I'd happily recommend either but was generally surprised at the high prices across the island in general. I guess the financial crisis is a long way from this island.

So.... it's a 4* (just) but with nice people, well maintained, great beach and not far from the town and other, more energetic, sites! Enjoy and chill.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mandk2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

This has to be one of the nicest places we have stayed (and we have stayed in a large number of 4 and 5 star hotels. The location is perfect, just a short 1 minute amble to the sea and a really good restaurant (Pili) when you get there. Hotel is intimate, really nicely decorated and with extremely friendly staff who went out of their way to help even when we were trying to cope with multiple changes of flights due to of the Greek strikes as we were due to leave. We had a sea view - definitely worth investing in, we had also invested in a superior room. This was a really good size, couldn't fault the layout. Breakfast was fine, not the full works of a big conglomerate hotel - but that isn't what we wanted - only suggestion would be a decent orange juice. All in all - really good experience and one we hope to repeat next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackieSUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

My partner and I chose this hotel from the clever but somewhat deceiving professional photos.
We were placed in room 205 on the ground level above the pool.
The room is supposed to have a sea view - well it did - if you sat on the front porch all day long.
The room we were given was a narrow, long, concrete, almost windowless, badly ventilated, stuffy box, on a par with a concrete-lined sea container. It had virtually no ventilation apart from a tiny, computer-case sized fan in the shower, that struggled endlessly to provide ventilation.
The entry door and one small window by the door was the only other ventilation and light entry. I reckon the inmates of Alcatraz had more ventilation and sea views than this room. We struggled to get decent sleep in this stuffy hot-box of a room.
The room stank of sewage as soon as we opened the door. This smell came from a grate in the bathroom floor where the drainage line ran. If you filled the wash basin and emptied it, this drain overflowed all over the bathroom floor.
The shower measured 24 x 24 inches (500 x 500mm) - but it had a shower caddy that intruded on one side by 6 inches (150mm) and taps and plumbing that intruded on the other side by 8 inches (200mm). If you were a stick insect, you'd be right at home in this shower. As it was, we couldn't even turn in the shower without taps or shower caddy gouging into us.
The shower curtain didn't even fit around the shower, it just slides along a straight rail that goes over the top of the toilet pan. As soon as one commenced showering, the shower water went all over the floor, all over the toilet seat and cistern - and it even wet all the toilet paper!
The shower contained black mould in the corners and between the tiles. This is not good enough for a hotel that professes to be 4 star.
There is nothing but bare walls all through the bathroom. Not a hook, not a shelf, not a place anywhere, to store any of your toiletries or clothes.
The mattress was hard and the pillows not up to the required level of comfort.
There is a safe in the room - and the hotel promptly demanded 1.50 Euro per day for its use. I find this type of customer gouging outrageous, and represents nothing more than meanness on the part of the owners. We never paid the demanded sum and never got the use of the safe.
Information about the hotel is all rattled off to you verbally - there is no written information in the room about the hotel facilities, hours, pool hours, or all the details you need. You are obviously supposed to memorise all the info.
The restaurant was recommended by the people as being part of the hotel and good value. We found the restaurant particularly expensive - and when we tried to charge our meal to the hotel, the restaurant staff were reluctant to do so, stating that the hotel and restaurant were "operating under different managements".
Breakfast was minimal - there was no toaster, the "orange juice" merely watery cordial, the fruit selection was just a few apples and oranges in bowl and some watermelon. I took one of the apples and threw it away in disgust after two bites - it had been lying in that bowl for months, I would say.
The Hotel is not "right on the beach". The restaurant has that claim, The hotel is spread over a steeply sloping block and some parts of the hotel are 400M from the beach. It was 250M from our room to the beach, down many sets of steps and slopes.
Overall, we have never been so disappointed in a hotel that promised so much, and delivered so little.

Room Tip: Just choose a room in another hotel that has better rooms and way better value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Onetrack139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
53 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

My wife and I visited this hotel for 3 days in July 2013.
Unfortunately we stayed in the hotel for only a few hours each day. So, my review is based on the fact that we used it only for the basics.
The hotel was built in 1982. However the main premises (lobby, reception, outside area) seems to be renovated recently. These areas are clean and tidy. Wifi signal is available only in main areas and maybe in some rooms (we had weak signal).

Rooms (218): Nice room with view to the pool, the sea and the island of Delos. It was clean, with decent furniture, a fridge and a design TV set. Some details, such as the bathroom and the bathroom equipment reveal the “age” of the hotel. The towels (at least the first set that we had) looked very used although they were clean.

Pool area: It is nice and relaxing area with quite enough sun beds and umbrellas. The pool bar was working but I cannot comment on the quality of the service since I never used it. Pool water is salty water.

Breakfast: The area of the breakfast is divided in two. Internal & External. The external area which is close to the pool, is the most “famous” since it is hard to find a table especially in rush hours (9.00 – 9.30)
The quality of the breakfast is average. Only the basics were available (Coffee, croissants, bread, cheese, juice, yoghourt, eggs etc.) The only differentiation was a Greek homemade delicacy (Halvas) which was improving the total image. Unfortunately there was no note on what it is and non-Greeks visitors were avoiding it… That was a pity since it was very tasty.

Parking area: Big enough to hold most of the cars of the visitors.

Beach: Beach is 100 steps (literally) away from the pool. It is a nice, clean beach with clear waters. Umbrellas & sun beds are charged 12€ (July 2013). Also, very close to the hotel but not accessible with the car, is the “Kapari” beach. It is not organized (no sun beds or bars) but some locals say that you can see the most beautiful sunset in Mykonos. Unfortunately we didn’t have the chance to visit it.

In general, I would recommend this hotel only if the price was a bit lower. With less money you can find rooms to let of similar or higher quality, closer to the city center (without breakfast of course). However, Ornos village is in a close distance (1.5Km max) and there you can find anything you like. Great beach, Nice beach bars, good restaurants and lot of people having fun.

Room Tip: Rooms with sea view are OK. I would select a non-sea-view room to save some money...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gpagi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We stayed here for 10 nights in June. The room price was ok and included breakfast (ill come to that in a moment). The Hotel was clean and we found the staff friendly and polite. The view from the room was amazing so i'd advise you book a sea view as most of them have a private balcony. Breakfast was the biggest let down - the selection was very basic and only 2 hot items available. Quite cheap ingredients, no orange juice and the eggs were well done to say the least. If they dealt with issue, the hotel would be far better rated i think. Nevertheless, we really enjoyed our stay and would not rule this hotel out if we were to return..

Room Tip: Book a sea view room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanMonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Ioannis Diakoftis
0.5 mi away
Yiannaki Hotel
Yiannaki Hotel
#1 of 22 in Ornos
716 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bellissimo Resort
Bellissimo Resort
#6 of 12 in Agios Ioannis Diakoftis
245 reviews
6.2 mi away
Aphrodite Beach Hotel
Aphrodite Beach Hotel
#5 of 5 in Kalafatis
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
De.Light Boutique Hotel
De.Light Boutique Hotel
#4 of 12 in Agios Ioannis Diakoftis
274 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lithos by Spyros & Flora
Lithos by Spyros & Flora
#1 of 12 in Agios Ioannis Diakoftis
393 reviews
3.1 mi away
Makis Place
Makis Place
#3 of 6 in Tourlos
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manoulas Mykonos Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manoulas Mykonos Beach Resort

Property: Manoulas Mykonos Beach Resort
Address: Agios Ioannis, Agios Ioannis Diakoftis 846 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Mykonos > Agios Ioannis Diakoftis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Agios Ioannis Diakoftis
#8 Luxury Hotel in Agios Ioannis Diakoftis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Manoulas Mykonos Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Manoulas Mykonos Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manoula`s Beach Hotel Agios Ioannis
Manoulas Beach Agios Ioannis
Manoulas Mykonos Beach Resort Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing