We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base to explore the peaks”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ollerbrook Cottages
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great base to explore the peaks”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed in Wagtail cottage in Oct 2013 - have been meaning to write a review ever since, and have finally got round to it! The cottage was small but perfect for two, and very comfortable and well-equipped. The owners were helpful and friendly, and the location is ideal for the peaks and the Pennine Way. Edale itself is only a short walk away. Overall we couldn't have asked for a better experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank P N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PJG1, Owner at Ollerbrook Cottages, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for your review. It is really good to hear that you couldn't have asked for a better holiday experience here in the Peaks and I am delighted that you found the cottage comfortable and well-equipped. We hope we might see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
25
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The owners were very helpful in arranging a short break at short notice for ourselves and young infant in Wagtail cottage. The arrival information provided was excellent and the extra touches to welcome us with the cake and the equipment to look after our young infant were really appreciated. The cottage was exactly what were were looking for and is very well decorated with all the provisions you could wish for. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PJG1, Owner at Ollerbrook Cottages, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. I am so glad that you found all the booking information helpful and that you enjoyed the cake! We are very happy to provide equipment for infants - from a bath and intercom, to travel cot and a highchair, as we remember ourselves how much there is to pack and how easy it is to forget something essential.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Curlew cottage. The cottage has everything we needed and was characterful and cosy. It was really convenient to be able to walk straight from the front door or with only a short drive to a host of excellent walks. We even had good weather! An excellent Easter break.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suburbiton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PJG1, Owner at Ollerbrook Cottages, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for your review. I'm so pleased that you found the cottage cosy and full of character. We are always trying to find ways to make the cottages a home-from-home and to find ways that make our visitors' stay more comfortable and enjoyable, so it is good to read that you found this so.The area around Ollerbrook and Edale is simply wonderful with a variety of walks to suit all levels straight from the door. As well as walks further afield there are a selection of stately homes on our doorstep - Chatsworth and Lyme Park, Haddon and Hardwick which make for a good family day out, and if the weather is less friendly, the caves in Castleton (famous for Blue John) make for a good visit, too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edale, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We have spent time recently in Plover Cottage, a charming characterful sanctuary with splendid views and a lovely garden to sit in. The cottage is comfortably and tastefully furnished; indeed stepping into the cosy sitting room makes you relax immediately. The owners have put themselves out to make everything enjoyable for the holiday-maker: this is the most generously equipped cottage we have ever stayed in and thoughtful little touches abound. Everything is of an impressive standard. We enjoyed sitting in front of the open fire and being soothed to sleep by the Ollerbrook owls. When you arrive, the cottage is warm, lights are on and there are flowers and a welcome tray. Thank you to Paula and John for making our stay so pleasant.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank madgec1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PJG1, Owner at Ollerbrook Cottages, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. I am so pleased that you found the cottage welcoming, comfortable and relaxing, and it is so kind of you to say the cottage is the best equipped that you have stayed in. We do try to think of everything that we can to make our guests' visit enjoyable and comfortable. The trees and shrubs are just beginning to come into blossom now and so the views and garden look really stunning - no wonder the owls don't want to leave! It was lovely too to have such thoughtful and kind guests to stay - Max misses you too and sits by the gate looking for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skegness, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Have just returned from Ollerbrook Cottage, staying in Wagtail cottage. The cottage was lovely, it was equipped with everything we could need, from kitchen utensils to books, dvds, towels, hairdryer, maps, torch, they thought of everything. There was a lovely welcome tray left for us- cake, tea, coffee and milk which was really appreciated. The flowers in the cottage were also a lovely touch. We had our own private garden area which was nice, it would have been better to sit out in the sunshine but we didn't have as much as we would have liked. There is plenty to do though that the rain didn't spoil anything for us. Just one thing to mention though- just be careful if you are tall, there are some low beams in the cottage!!
The area around the cottage was so peaceful, we hardly heard or saw anyone the whole time we were there. There are some lovely walks across the fields/ hills for you to walk across. Whiles we were there we went to a few of the nearby villages- Hope, Castleton, Hathersage. There are some nice tea rooms and little gift shops to look around. I would definitely recommend these cottages if you are after some peace and quiet or a walking holiday.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank emmasyl_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PJG1, Owner at Ollerbrook Cottages, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed your holiday at Wagtail Cottage and that you found the garden peaceful and the surrounding area interesting. We do try to think of everything that makes our guests' holidays comfortable and a home from home, so it is good to hear you that we ticked that box for you! Castleton and Bakewell are good places to visit when the weather is poor, but Edale still offers plenty of good walks from the door, whatever the weather. We hope that we might see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Would just like to add a few comments to those already recorded. No matter the weather this is a wonderful cottage to return to. We stayed in Curlew and everything we needed was supplied. Warm and cosy we had a great weeks stay (our 2nd in the same cottage). Would recommend without any hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David R R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PJG1, Owner at Ollerbrook Cottages, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Thank you for your kind review. It was lovely to see you again and I'm so glad you had a great week, despite the weather. It's getting towards that time of year when the open fire is a must. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We have had a week in Edale staying at Curlew Cottage. The cottage is lovely, so well furnished with beautiful white crisp bed linen, everything just immaculate. When we walked into the cottage it was so lovely and warm, with milk in the fridge and a delicious cake on the teatray.......what a welcome. We would thoroughly recommend this holiday cottage the view from the bedroom window looking up to Mam Tor is brilliant. We visited Chatsworth and several other places but the highlight of the week was our Sidecar Safari ...we were picked up from the cottage by Bill Purvis and his amazing Russian Motorbike and Sidecar and taken on a delightful ride through the stunning Peak District, along country lanes and picturesque villages...amazing. The Nags Head at Edale, is just a short walk across the fields where you can have delicious food at reasonable prices. I cannot speak highly enough of this delightful Cottage and the owner is lovely.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oscarhosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PJG1, Owner at Ollerbrook Cottages, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Thank you for your terrific review. I am delighted you found the cottage so welcoming on arrival – we do try to create a cosy home from home for our guests. You are right, the view from the bedroom window is stunning at all times of the day, but perhaps best enjoyed first thing in the morning drinking a cup of tea in bed! Thank you also for introducing me to the Sidecar Safari – it will be hit amongst our guests, I am sure. It was a pleasure to meet you both and I look forward to seeing you again for your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edale
21.5 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
2.2 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
14.6 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Rambler Inn
The Rambler Inn
#1 of 5 in Edale
293 reviews
0.6 mi away
Stonecroft Country Guest House
2.0 mi away
Causeway House
Causeway House
#4 of 13 in Castleton
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ollerbrook Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ollerbrook Cottages

Property: Ollerbrook Cottages
Address: Middle Ollerbrook House | Ollerbrook, Edale, Peak District National Park S33 7ZG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Edale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Edale
Hotel Class:4 star — Ollerbrook Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have three luxury self-catering holiday cottages set in the heart of the stunning Edale Valley. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ollerbrook Cottages Edale, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing