We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and welcoming place to stay”
Review of Ollerbrook Barn

Ollerbrook Barn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ollerbrook Barn
Ranked #3 of 5 Edale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Comfortable and welcoming place to stay”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Arrived on a rainy afternoon. Room was comfortable, warm and clean with decent ensuite bathroom. Tea & coffee making and TV in room. Owners were very welcoming. Breakfast was great - you need a good appetite. I would stay there again. Had dinner at Ramblers Arms - nothing special

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spoons m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    15
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
9
14
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Ollerbrook Barn is a converted cow shed. Converted by the current owners with some style while still retaining something of the original charm of the building. The family will make you very welcome while leaving you to your own devices and will look after you well. The room I stayed in was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Two pubs serve evening meals locally and are about a 10 minute walk away, but it is a walk across the fields, so bring your boots,
Breakfast was well prepared with packet cereals, yoghurt and the normal array of bits and pieces making up a full-English! A packed lunch for a day's hiking was prepared for a reasonable fee and it tasted great and did the job.
Recommended for a couple of days in the Peaks.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon_1350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
391 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

On arrival it wasn't 100% clear where to park, and the exterior was a bit untidy and tired. We were all made very welcome by the friendly owners, including the children and dog. Large selection of DVD films to watch if required. Bedding, towels and bathroom all very clean with comfortable beds, breakfast excellent, lovely views of the Edale valley and right on a main walking route.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Geoff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braintree
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Initially put off by cat food left out and depressing hallway, the bedroom was very disappointing. It was impossible to see clearly through the window because the double glazing seals had failed so looked through murky panes of dirty glass. Bed of poor quality, bumpy, squeaky and uncomfortable. Hall and stairway littered with old filthy shoes (not guest walking boots but old plimsoles, paint, dirty tools, plastering tools, etc.) Staircase rough and uncarpeted. No feeling of comfort. Bathroom ok but not great quality.
Decided to check out immediately and received no refund for deposit.
Only plus point is that it is a great location – sadly we did not get to enjoy it.

Room Tip: Do not stay here unless you have the one good room to the top right of staircase
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

This was by far our best ever stay at a bed and breakfast. Not only is the house charming and beautifully situated, but the owners, Mark and Theresa, are warm and accommodating. We booked the Hollins View room - a lovely double with en-suite - and found it to be comfortable and airy. The bathroom boasts a wonderful enormous bathtub (a great bonus after a long day of walking in the hills), thick, fluffy towels, and beautiful locally made artisanal soaps. The room came equipped with local mineral water, a tremendous assortment of teas, coffee, and hot chocolate, as well as complimentary tea biscuits. I have a dairy allergy, and Mark and Theresa stocked their kitchen with soy spreads and soy milk to make sure my breakfast was completely safe for me to eat. In addition, they accommodated my husband's vegetarianism with superior veggie sausages (a full and completely vegetarian English breakfast!). The food was exemplary. Overall, we were terrifically impressed by this small bed and breakfast tucked away in Edale.

Room Tip: We saw all the rooms, and they are equally great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pascale M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012 via mobile

Perhaps I'm being a little harsh, but for the price I expected something more.

The room was clean and tidy, with a tv, tea and coffee making facilities. The bathroom was dated (70s), but clean and stocked with plenty of toiletries.

Breakfast the following morning, plenty of cereals, yoghurts and fruit on offer, a cooked breakfast was provided with the choice of "how do you like your eggs in the morning", (didn't have mine with a kiss!).

Location ideal for walking, and brilliant that they take dogs.

Just think it was a little overpriced for the offering, although I don't know how it compares to other b&b's in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

This is a gem of a bed and breakfast. Both my partner and I had spent a wind swept, rain and mist filled day on the middle of kinder so to arrive at a dry, warm and friendly b & b was certainly a luxury. The place is ideally situated for walks in the Peak and provides easy access via a short walk to both pubs in the village (take a head torch). Mark was a great host and breakfast in the morning was delicious. We very much needed the break and this bed and breakfast certainly accommodated us for this. Would we return? Most definitely. Cheers John and Maria

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Utah1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edale
2.3 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
12.0 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
391 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Rambler Inn
The Rambler Inn
#1 of 5 in Edale
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Stonecroft Country Guest House
2.2 mi away
Causeway House
Causeway House
#2 of 13 in Castleton
230 reviews
1.8 mi away
YHA Castleton Losehill Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ollerbrook Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ollerbrook Barn

Property: Ollerbrook Barn
Address: Ollerbrook Barn Ollerbrook, Edale, Peak District National Park S33 7ZG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Edale
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Edale
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Ollerbrook Barn Edale, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing