We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not the same...”
Review of Penny Pot Cafe

Penny Pot Cafe
Ranked #3 of 5 Restaurants in Edale
Price range: US$3 - US$9
Cuisines: Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“not the same...”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

ok, but nothing outstanding. Now it is not owner managed, the atmosphere is not the same somehow. You get served, its ok. It does its job.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JuliaSReid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    44
    7
    4
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rushton Spencer, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Penny Pot Breakfast Rip-off”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

The worst breakfast I have ever received for nearly £8

3 of us ordered the Penny Pot breakfast including ‘extra’ beans and sausage. The idea was to have a full English breakfast before setting out all day walking yet when it arrived it was served on an oval plate not much larger than a tea cup. It consisted of scramble eggs on 1 totally soggy slice of toast (no other toast that was it) 2 cheap slices of bacon and a cheap type sausage which had obviously been cooked earlier in an oven and microwaved hot again. There was ½ tomatoes again microwaved plus beans. What a joke how can that be described as an English breakfast especially considering how small it was? Plus when we order extra sausage we assumed it was above and beyond the ‘standard English breakfast’ The mug of tea was extra and just less than £2

So if you want a joke of an English breakfast visit the Penny Pot Café and you too can feel totally ripped off. Question for the manager… do you think it’s wise to rip people off so they will NEVER visit your establishment again even though they visit the area frequently? If you don’t have the equipment to cook the ingredients from cold, don’t advertise an English breakfast and try to charge people £8 (including tea)

Myself or any of my walking friends will tell everyone they know to avoid this café, this could total over 100 people that would be advised never to visit this establishment in future.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jane_leek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Good value cafe in a pleasant spot”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Having cycled for a few hours up hill and down dale, we were well and truly ready for this very good afternoon teaa prior to getting a train (it is next to the station). The menu is fairly limited, and there are only a few tables, but we were able to sit outside very comfortably, and the coffee and cakes that we had were fine. Service was friendly and rapid.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NationalTrustPeak, Manager at Penny Pot Cafe, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your coffee and cakes (and our convenient location). We hope to see you again the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
203 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
“Lovely scones!”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We went here for a much needed cuppa and scone after walking up Mam Tor, the nutmeg and apple scone was one of the best I have ever eaten so highly recommended!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Riotstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NationalTrustPeak, Manager at Penny Pot Cafe, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Pat’s speciality scones have been a big hit this year. We are glad you enjoyed the nutmeg and apple version. We hope to see you again soon – there may even be a different recipe scone for you to try!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollaston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Cosy little cafe”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stopped for a cuppa on a walk from Upper Booth to Edale and back again - didn't haven't anything to eat, but the cakes all looked very tempting! Not too busy even for bank holiday weekend. Good service, friendly staff - very clean.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthantsAquababe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NationalTrustPeak, Manager at Penny Pot Cafe, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
We are impressed with your will power, not many people can resist all the delicious cakes on offer! We are glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Penny Pot Cafe also viewed

 
Castleton, Hope Valley
 

Been to Penny Pot Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing