We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good campsite”
Review of Upper Booth farm

Upper Booth farm
Ranked #2 of 2 things to do in Edale
Attraction details
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good campsite”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Please don't go to this campsite, the tranquil setting, clean facilities and nice hosts mean that this should be reserved for those in the know! Bacon butties at weekends are an additional plus.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank HillwalkerandDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    8
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Small and exclusive”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Staying during the bank holiday weekend at the end of May, we were looking for somewhere to stay to attempt another go at finding the summit of Kinder Scout and thought this was an ideal location.

We pitched in the top field in a relatively flat area by the trees running alongside the stream (having the advantage of being an early arriver, so could pick our spot!) and spent a wet few days in and around the area.

The campsite is hilly, which is why they restrict the number of people camping, as it's small, the toilet block is only a short walk away. The owners sell bacon and eggs which we tried and were nice.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ian-Laura-staffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful Setting. Very unfriendly owners”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Arrived with a group. Not all angels, but not badly behaved. A confrontational approach by the owner spoilt the weekend. I would never use this site again unless the ownership changed.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Haedwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Quiet , civilised and the place to camp”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Have stayed many times at Upper Booth and continue to be impressed with its setting , its rural charm and shower block to refresh after a day toiling in the dales.

Well done to all involved

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank didicum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect Stay in a Walking Paradise”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Upper Booth Farm is a small camp site set in the very Heart of the Dales National Park. The location is simply stunning nestled in a bosom hills with infinite views along deep valleys. The Pennine Way passes right though providing easy walks to nearby (20 minutes) Edale and its lovely pubs, or more challenging walks up and along the ridges of the peaks (we did a 12 mile circular walk taking both paths and cross country).

We rode our motorbikes to the site and the drive is one one of the best ever, gentle and tight bends, great views, woods, straights - it had it all.

The camp site is very well run. I booked very late by e-mail and followed it up with a telephone message. Both were replied to quickly. The site has a mixture of flat and sloped areas. The site was declared full when we stayed and yet the space we all had was extremely generous. I do love it when camp site owners are not greedy with space.

The wash block, which was cleaned regularly, is designed with a grass roof to help it blend into the environment reflecting the owner's dedication to recycling and their pride in the beautiful place in which they live.

The site was welcoming, peaceful and civilized and I will definitely stay again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vij G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Upper Booth farm also viewed

 
Castleton, Hope Valley
 

Been to Upper Booth farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing