We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location | Decor a bit dated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Stonecroft Country Guest House
Ranked #2 of 5 Edale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2014

If you are after a place to stay in the Peak district then this place cannot be beaten for location, as Mam Tor is rambling distance away. The B&B is located in between two pubs, both aimed for ramblers and visitors alike as the menus are cheap.

The host, Julia is lovely. Very welcoming and informative and this was a great plus for us.

The decor is not to my taste, yet perhaps it is to others.It states it is en-suite yet technically the bathroom and toilet is on the landing. That is me being super-critical.

Breakfast is punctual, and was quite nice. My only gripe is that we had to share a table with another couple, who were perfectly lovely, yet if you aren't a 'morning person' then you'd have to make chit chat here!

All in all, a very nice B&B in an excellent location.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimmygeorge7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madboater, Owner at Stonecroft Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Thank you for your review. You booked the double room with private facilities not the en suite so yes, your facilities were for your sole use but were not en suite. I am sorry if this was not to your liking but it was what you booked.

The decor is of course a matter of personal taste and this is a period property, so we try an decorate to be in keeping with the age and style of the house.

I am sorry you did not like sharing the large dining table with the other two guests, but this is country house accommodation not a large hotel, and as such the type of guests who generally visit us like to make conversation with others: it adds to their holiday experience. The table easily seats 12 people so 4 people dining together for breakfast has never proved a problem before.

I hope that this will not put you off visiting us again, and perhaps next time you would like to book the en suite room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

Lovely accommodation, room in good condition and the bed was very comfy. Julia was a very welcoming host and served us excellent food for breakfast. Added benefit was that the wifi worked well. We would highly recommend. Thank you!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrs_E_29-09-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madboater, Owner at Stonecroft Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you for your kind comments. It is a shame you didnt have time to stay longer to see more of our wonderful surroundings. The valley is a truly stunning place for a peaceful break away..
I do hope that we shall have the pleasure of seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Guest houses in the UK vary from the exceptionally bad to the great delight. This is at the top end of my range of expectations. An owner who seems genuinely pleased to meet guests, provides an excellent service and has a clean, comfortable and well equipped house, as well as serving one of the most comprehensive breakfasts I have ever seen.

Wifi worked perfectly, in an area where there is no/poor mobile phone reception, gluten free breakfast available, fresh fruit in the room, thirty seconds from a pub serving reasonable meals and ideally placed to visit the area.

What more could one ask?

Room Tip: There are en suite and some rooms with separate but private facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mozart21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madboater, Owner at Stonecroft Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Thank you for your lovely review of our home. We have been welcoming guests to Stonecroft for 25 years this year, and many return again and again first as guests then as friends. We ARE pleased to welcome everyone, and to share our little piece of heaven...
I am so glad you enjoyed the breakfasts. They have evolved over the years. As a vegetarian i hated the fact that I was expected to eat off chunky pots and put up with second rate food. Why couldnt i enjoy fine china, beautiful cutlery and glassware and locally sourced organic food? The days of veggies being hippies are long gone. ... i also found it difficult to eat out when i discovered i was coeliac, so it became a project to ensure i could cater for anyone with a special dietary requirement. I know first hand how it can spoil your holiday if you are worrying about finding something to eat!
I hope that we shall have the pleasure of meeting you again before too long.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

The house is lovely and clean. Our room was spacious and elegant (no TV). I would like to say that our stay was perfect but unfortunately it wasn't mainly due to the very late check in. As a frequent traveler it never occurred to me to be allowed to check in only at 5 pm in the evening.

Weeks before our arrival we sent an email to ask for a early check in. No reply to the email. We then called the host by phone and were told that unfortunately she could not accommodate our request.

One hour after we arrived to Edale, a hailstorm hit the village. We had to spend the day in pub until 5 pm.

Breakfast was genuine (with vegetarian and vegan options). Check in at 5 pm, check out at 10 am.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madboater, Owner at Stonecroft Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Dear Miss D. Thank you for your review. I am sorry you werent happy with the fact that you could not book in until 5pm. We are not a large hotel, with reception staff on duty 24/7 and i run the business alone. Unfortunately i do need time to clean, shop and i also have another business. It is not always possible to satisfy everyone all of the time. No matter what time we made check in, someone would still be dissatisfied.
This is our family home and we offer award winning country house accommodation, welcoming guests to join us here in the heart of the country for a relaxing break away. We only let two rooms, preferring quality over quantity, and you have a television lounge where you are invited to relax, read the guide books, watch tv or plan your holiday using the wide range of information leaflets provided.. The type of guests that usually stay here welcome the fact that they have the run of the house rather being forced to sit in their room.
If you contact me direct, i will happily give you a list of the larger chain hotels that are perhaps more suited to your requirements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We visited for a couple of nights for our first wedding anniversary and it was perfect.

Only 5 minutes from the train station which was very handy, and Edale is a lovely quiet place away from the often overly-tourist populated Castleton and so it was a lovely escape in the evenings.

The house itself is very well kept. Vintage feel, which is lovely, and immaculate. Lovely homely touches throughout and everything has been thought about.

The hostess, Julia, couldn't have been more welcoming. We were heading into the peaks for long walks and we were well accommodated for. The breakfasts were fantastic. We were both very well catered for (1 vegan and 1 non-vegan), and the food was great quality.

All in all, a 5* B&B. Excellent accommodation, excellent location, excellent food, and the perfect host. We will be returning again and highly recommend a stay here.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madboater, Owner at Stonecroft Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Thank you for your kind review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Stonecroft. and that you had a memorable stay for your anniversary. Unfortunately the weather was beyond my control, but hopefully next time you visit, we will have a little more sunshine! We look forward to seeing you both again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We have been camping and visiting Edale for many years and had often walked past this B&B. We have just spent a weekend staying at Stonecroft Country Guest House and we could not fault it at all. The breakfast menu was amazing and caters for Vegetarians and Vegans as well. The room we stayed in (Kinder) was lovely and its the little things in the room that add to make a pleasant stay; variety of teas and coffees (with fresh milk if you wish), fresh fruit, free wi-fi, shampoos and soaps as well as dressing-gowns. Julie is an excellent host and will definitely be visiting again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elliemay58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madboater, Owner at Stonecroft Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. This time of year is not the most colourful, nor is it suitable weather to relax in the gardens, but hopefully if you come to visit again you will have the opportunity to do so. I am glad you enjoyed our breakfasts and found the room comfortable. We are very aware how important it is to enjoy a varied breakfast when on holiday especially when someone is on a special diet, whether through choice or through beliefs or allergies / intolerances and this is why we like to offer such a choice. i know through personal experience how important that is.... We look forward to welcoming you back to Stonecroft again in the near future..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I have been camping in the peaks for years, usually in Edale. We have often walked past the inviting looking Stonecroft on a cold day and thought "it looks so snug in there, we should stay sometime"...

So when I decided to propose to my girlfriend on a hike this year I figured it would be a good place to rest up for the night. Julie, the owner was extremely helpful when I contacted her about planning, even placing Champagne in the room for me for when we returned (which she kindly sourced for me as well). The Kinder Suite was wonderful, with locally sourced toiletries, a fruit bowel with fresh fruit, a great choice of tea's coffees, a great sized bed, free wifi and towelling dressing gowns, which always go down well!

We came back like drowned rats but Julie kindly hung our stuff up to dry, the lounge was very snug and the local pubs both do great evening meals, although I would say the Nags head edges it.

The breakfast choices were immense, we went for the full English but there was dozens of choices for people with specific requirements. The food was excellent, all seemed to be locally sourced, not a single fault, the bread was a stand-out as well.

We chatted with the other couple staying over (on their honeymoon as it happened) and they said the other room was lovely as well, toilet / shower are not in that room due to the layout of the large house, but they are not shared either since the other has an en-suite so they had no issues with that.

Views over the hills were great, even if the weather wasn't, but we came away sad to be leaving and will definitely stay again and recommend to others.

Room Tip: There are two rooms let out, the Kinder Suite has the en-suite but both have good views as I underst...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madboater, Owner at Stonecroft Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

I remember your visit well. It was so exciting to know that you were planning to propose. You are such a lovely couple, i was so pleased that she accepted!
I am glad that we were able to help making your planned proposal possible and that you enjoyed your visit to us. I wish you both all the best for a very happy future and that we shall welcome you back to Stonecroft again before too long. Bring better weather next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edale
2.6 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District
7.3 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
401 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
The Rambler Inn
The Rambler Inn
#1 of 5 in Edale
309 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Old Nag's Head
The Old Nag's Head
#4 of 5 in Edale
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonecroft Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonecroft Country Guest House

Address: | centre of the village, third house on the left after the Church., Edale, Peak District National Park S33 7ZA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Edale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Edale
Price Range: £93 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stonecroft Country Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our beautiful period Country House Accommodation, set amongst the hills in a stunning location in the heart of the Peak District National Park. Our multi award winning country home is the place to come if you want a peaceful break away from the stresses and strains of everyday life. We offer luxury accommodation with period furnishings, hand made products and all those little extras to make your stay just that little bit special. You will find a comfortable guest lounge, with a welcoming fire in winter, where you can relax in comfort. If you are a walker, the Pennine Way starts a hundred yards from the house, and we will happily provide a packed lunch if you would like one. If you have any special dietary requirements we have a large varied menu. and lifestyle and allergy diets are what we are famous for, using locally sourced foods, organic wherever possible (your host is a vegan coeliac and an award winning chef). We regret no children or pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Stonecroft Country Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonecroft Country Guest House Edale, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing