We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome and nice surroundings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Stonecroft Country Guest House
Ranked #2 of 5 Edale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Warm welcome and nice surroundings”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Pros
Quiet and pretty surroundings
Warm welcome
Breakfast was lovely and Julia was very accommodating to individual needs e.g. gluten-free, etc.

Cons
The place had a few bits and pieces which were not quite cleaned properly since the last guests
It was a little noisy downstairs while we were trying to sleep, which is a shame because the surroundings themselves are very quiet. I would probably stay again though.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireNZ2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madboater, Owner at Stonecroft Country Guest House, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for your kind review. I am glad you enjoyed your breakfast. We strive to cater for everyone and to give as much choice as possible.

I am sorry you did not feel your room was 100% clean. I was in the process of closing my other business at the time of your stay so I apologise if i missed something. The room is stripped and cleaned thoroughly between every guest and thoroughly serviced daily if a guest stays for more than one night. I can only assume something might have been caught up in the bedspread or under the bed when i moved it to hoover. Once again, apologies.

I am also sorry that you heard noises from the kitchen,. We are very careful to be as quiet as possible as, as you say, the house is so quiet, we dont want to disturb guests who come here for the peace and quiet. My husband returns late from work and so dines late: he has now ceased eating dinner in the kitchen to avoid disturbing those in the room above.

We do have notices in each room asking guests to please tell us immediately if something is not to their liking or not perfect for their stay. We would much rather put something right at the time, rather than have visitors leave unhappy. I am disappointed that you did not feel you could come down and mention any of your concerns to us at the time.

I do hope that if you are in the country in the future that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you to Stonecroft again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
31
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Very pleasant and obliging owner. Lovely breakfast with plenty of choice and locally sourced produce. Also, although only two letting rooms, the owner makes available a very comfortable lounge area. Great location if you like good walking.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madboater, Owner at Stonecroft Country Guest House, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for your kind review. i am glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope that we shall have the pleasure of meeting you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

If you are after a place to stay in the Peak district then this place cannot be beaten for location, as Mam Tor is rambling distance away. The B&B is located in between two pubs, both aimed for ramblers and visitors alike as the menus are cheap.

The host, Julia is lovely. Very welcoming and informative and this was a great plus for us.

The decor is not to my taste, yet perhaps it is to others.It states it is en-suite yet technically the bathroom and toilet is on the landing. That is me being super-critical.

Breakfast is punctual, and was quite nice. My only gripe is that we had to share a table with another couple, who were perfectly lovely, yet if you aren't a 'morning person' then you'd have to make chit chat here!

All in all, a very nice B&B in an excellent location.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmygeorge7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madboater, Owner at Stonecroft Country Guest House, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Thank you for your review. You booked the double room with private facilities not the en suite so yes, your facilities were for your sole use but were not en suite. I am sorry if this was not to your liking but it was what you booked.

The decor is of course a matter of personal taste and this is a period property, so we try an decorate to be in keeping with the age and style of the house.

I am sorry you did not like sharing the large dining table with the other two guests, but this is country house accommodation not a large hotel, and as such the type of guests who generally visit us like to make conversation with others: it adds to their holiday experience. The table easily seats 12 people so 4 people dining together for breakfast has never proved a problem before.

I hope that this will not put you off visiting us again, and perhaps next time you would like to book the en suite room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Lovely accommodation, room in good condition and the bed was very comfy. Julia was a very welcoming host and served us excellent food for breakfast. Added benefit was that the wifi worked well. We would highly recommend. Thank you!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_E_29-09-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madboater, Owner at Stonecroft Country Guest House, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. It is a shame you didnt have time to stay longer to see more of our wonderful surroundings. The valley is a truly stunning place for a peaceful break away..
I do hope that we shall have the pleasure of seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crowland, lincolnshire, uk
Level 6 Contributor
385 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Guest houses in the UK vary from the exceptionally bad to the great delight. This is at the top end of my range of expectations. An owner who seems genuinely pleased to meet guests, provides an excellent service and has a clean, comfortable and well equipped house, as well as serving one of the most comprehensive breakfasts I have ever seen.

Wifi worked perfectly, in an area where there is no/poor mobile phone reception, gluten free breakfast available, fresh fruit in the room, thirty seconds from a pub serving reasonable meals and ideally placed to visit the area.

What more could one ask?

Room Tip: There are en suite and some rooms with separate but private facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mozart21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madboater, Owner at Stonecroft Country Guest House, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank you for your lovely review of our home. We have been welcoming guests to Stonecroft for 25 years this year, and many return again and again first as guests then as friends. We ARE pleased to welcome everyone, and to share our little piece of heaven...
I am so glad you enjoyed the breakfasts. They have evolved over the years. As a vegetarian i hated the fact that I was expected to eat off chunky pots and put up with second rate food. Why couldnt i enjoy fine china, beautiful cutlery and glassware and locally sourced organic food? The days of veggies being hippies are long gone. ... i also found it difficult to eat out when i discovered i was coeliac, so it became a project to ensure i could cater for anyone with a special dietary requirement. I know first hand how it can spoil your holiday if you are worrying about finding something to eat!
I hope that we shall have the pleasure of meeting you again before too long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

The house is lovely and clean. Our room was spacious and elegant (no TV). I would like to say that our stay was perfect but unfortunately it wasn't mainly due to the very late check in. As a frequent traveler it never occurred to me to be allowed to check in only at 5 pm in the evening.

Weeks before our arrival we sent an email to ask for a early check in. No reply to the email. We then called the host by phone and were told that unfortunately she could not accommodate our request.

One hour after we arrived to Edale, a hailstorm hit the village. We had to spend the day in pub until 5 pm.

Breakfast was genuine (with vegetarian and vegan options). Check in at 5 pm, check out at 10 am.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madboater, Owner at Stonecroft Country Guest House, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Miss D. Thank you for your review. I am sorry you werent happy with the fact that you could not book in until 5pm. We are not a large hotel, with reception staff on duty 24/7 and i run the business alone. Unfortunately i do need time to clean, shop and i also have another business. It is not always possible to satisfy everyone all of the time. No matter what time we made check in, someone would still be dissatisfied.
This is our family home and we offer award winning country house accommodation, welcoming guests to join us here in the heart of the country for a relaxing break away. We only let two rooms, preferring quality over quantity, and you have a television lounge where you are invited to relax, read the guide books, watch tv or plan your holiday using the wide range of information leaflets provided.. The type of guests that usually stay here welcome the fact that they have the run of the house rather being forced to sit in their room.
If you contact me direct, i will happily give you a list of the larger chain hotels that are perhaps more suited to your requirements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

We visited for a couple of nights for our first wedding anniversary and it was perfect.

Only 5 minutes from the train station which was very handy, and Edale is a lovely quiet place away from the often overly-tourist populated Castleton and so it was a lovely escape in the evenings.

The house itself is very well kept. Vintage feel, which is lovely, and immaculate. Lovely homely touches throughout and everything has been thought about.

The hostess, Julia, couldn't have been more welcoming. We were heading into the peaks for long walks and we were well accommodated for. The breakfasts were fantastic. We were both very well catered for (1 vegan and 1 non-vegan), and the food was great quality.

All in all, a 5* B&B. Excellent accommodation, excellent location, excellent food, and the perfect host. We will be returning again and highly recommend a stay here.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madboater, Owner at Stonecroft Country Guest House, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you for your kind review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Stonecroft. and that you had a memorable stay for your anniversary. Unfortunately the weather was beyond my control, but hopefully next time you visit, we will have a little more sunshine! We look forward to seeing you both again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edale
8.7 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,710 reviews
2.7 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
8.8 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.0 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Rambler Inn
The Rambler Inn
#1 of 5 in Edale
293 reviews
2.6 mi away
Causeway House
Causeway House
#3 of 13 in Castleton
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonecroft Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonecroft Country Guest House

Property: Stonecroft Country Guest House
Address: | centre of the village, third house on the left after the Church., Edale, Peak District National Park S33 7ZA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Edale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Edale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Stonecroft Country Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to our beautiful period Country House Accommodation set amongst the hills in a stunning location in the heart of the Peak District National Park. We are proud to have been awarded four stars, a Gold Award and a Breakfast award by both the AA and Visit Britain for our quality and services and were winners of the Free From Eating Out Awards 2015 for special diet catering (B & B, Guesthouses category). We have also been awarded Gluten Free Accreditation by the Coeliac society which means you can be reassured that we are extremely knowledgeable and qualified to cater for Gluten Free diets. You will find period furnishings, Antiques, organic locally sourced food wherever possible and a wonderful breakfast menu awaiting you at Stonecroft, and if you have any special dietary requirements we have a large varied menu specially for you. Your host is an award winning Chef and a vegan coeliac. Our home is a perfect get away from it all, a chance to relax and escape from the pressures of everyday life. We do not believe that you should be confined to your room whilst staying with us, so you although you will find a television in your room you also have a comfortable guest lounge, with a welcoming fire in winter, where you can relax and watch television in comfort. If you are a walker, the Pennine Way starts a hundred yards from the house, and we will happily provide a packed lunch if you would like one. Come and experience a touch of old fashioned hospitality not often seen today, and let us make your stay at Stonecroft a memorable one. We regret that we do not accept children or pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Stonecroft Country Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonecroft Country Guest House Edale, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing