We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your own home in Edale”
Review of The Old Nag's Head

The Old Nag's Head
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Nag's Head
Ranked #4 of 5 Edale B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Your own home in Edale”
Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Kinder cottage for a weekend of walking, and it was a great base to explore from.

There is one double room, one single, and a double sofabed in the lounge (where you will be disturbed by anyone else going to the loo at night). For a small space it's fabulously compact, with a dinner table a chairs packed away ready to use.

The kitchen came with almost everything you'd need to cook, from wine glasses to tea bags. There isn't a freezer however.

There's also no phone reception, or wifi (there is wifi in the pub downstairs though).

It's not a super-stylish cottage with high-spec glistening gadgets, but it was a great place to stay when the aim is to get outside and grubby. Because once you step outside you are ready to go straight away and explore the Peaks!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank bexlefort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    16
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
8
13
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We ambled into the Old Nag's Head at around 7pm on Saturday evening, once we finally scrambled down a clough to end a cracking walk in the Peaks. There isn't masses of parking, but we reversed into a tricky spot. The pub was full of people wolfing down food and talking animatedly about their day. It had a lively atmosphere and the barstaff were efficient and friendly.

We ordered the steak and mushroom pie and the Edale gammon with some onion rings on the side. Both were jolly tasty. I found the chips, although home-made, were a bit on the sad side. However, the meal on the whole was freshly made, tasty, great value and a good portion. Both of us cleared our plates. They were also offering a carvery which seemed to be regularly refreshed. I would definitely try this pub again - it restored us before the long drive home.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HJ0RD4N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed in Kinder cottage when travelling to a nearby wedding. The accommodation is very well presented with everything you need for a short stay, cutlery, cleaning stuff, towels and bedding. Very comfy beds - event the sofa bed. The accommodation even had a welcome pack with tea coffee and snacks. Milk in the fridge too, perfect after a long journey. The pub adjacent is great for food. The views from Edale are amazing and walking is a must. Yes the bins are in view but look passed that and there are brooks and hills!

Our only tip for staying in Edale is take cash! We took our cards, the cafes only take cash and the cash point in the nearby shop was broken,

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tboo1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oundle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

2 days in Edale staying in the "well presented compact cottage sleeping 6 (Grindsbrook)" at the Old Nags Head, which in reality is a small flat above the pub kitchen. The food was less than average and when eating outside we were bombarded by Jackdaws picking at the plates of food left by other customers - the staff should have been aware of this and cleared away the plates a lot faster, not left them for over an hour. Overall very, very average, but it is in a beautiful setting.

Room Tip: Steep steps to the Grindsbrook Cottage as it is really a flat & there is noise from the kitchen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed for two nights in June 2014 in the Kinder Cottage. It was a great self chartering two bed apartment. It was stocked with everything you need for a self catering break. The kitchen had coffee, tea, cling film and dish cloths etc. The linen on the beds was immaculate and generally the apartment was very clean. My suggestions for improvement would be to paint the shower room to freshen it up. Also the bin area below the apartments, needs to be made bird proof. The resident crows were feasting on the pub waste and making a mess. Over all we had a great stay, being a short walk from glorious hills and local park, pubs and shops. I Would not hesitate to stay again. Great value for money.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank SammyPreston75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edale
0.0 mi away
Little John Hotel
Little John Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hathersage
212 reviews
0.0 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District
0.0 mi away
The Rambler Inn
The Rambler Inn
#1 of 5 in Edale
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Stonecroft Country Guest House
0.0 mi away
Causeway House
Causeway House
#1 of 13 in Castleton
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Nag's Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Nag's Head

Property: The Old Nag's Head
Address: Edale, Hope Valley, Edale, Peak District National Park S33 7ZD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Edale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Edale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your The Old Nag's Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Nag's Head Edale, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing