We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (46)
Filter reviews
46 results
Traveller rating
46
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
46
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shooting lodge safari tent his team wood burning stove fantastic holiday the barn hot water bottles amazing memories every evening perfect venue wedding venue magical wedding logs and kindling special place oil lamps ice machine table tennis
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 46 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2016

Our daughter chose the Gathering as a place to celebrate our Ruby Wedding anniversary together as a family. There were six of us plus our little grand daughter. What an inspired choice. We had always camped with our children as they were growing up and indeed camped in Derbyshire on our honeymoon in the year of the drought. This was camping like we had never experienced before. The beds were really comfortable and the tent was brillianly equipped. We had deliveries of logs and kindling each morning to fuel our two woodburning stoves and had plenty of hot water in no time. With the paraffin lamps inside and the fire cauldron and barbeque outside we soon set about creating a lovely atmosphere and enjoying a most wonderful and relaxing time together. Tommy was a brilliant and friendly host and with the help of Geoff couldn't do enough for us to ensure all was well. The setting is stunning with a beautiful walk along a stream and up the valley only minutes away. We had the most perfect time here.

Room tip: We were in the Gritstone tent, one of two in a small field beside the lane down to the Gathering barn. The setting is brilliant.
Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom N, Owner at The Gathering Edale, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2016

We're so pleased you enjoyed your anniversary, returning to your honeymoon destination! Great to meet you all and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2016 via mobile

We are currently heading home from our stay at The Gathering, we had booked a Monday-Friday break with my brother his wife and my 4 yr old niece. We stayed in the Portland safari tent, it was amazing, the tent was just as described but exceeded our expectations.
Tommy & Kirsty just couldn't do enough for us and went above and beyond to ensure we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
The luxury of a lovely bathroom and a wood burning stove to keep you warm and dry is just glamping at its best!
They were super dog friendly which made our stay even more relaxing.
What a fantastic holiday, amazing place, amazing memories we just didn't want to leave and we will certainly be back!
There's so much to do locally I think next time might be a longer stay.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Elaine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom N, Owner at The Gathering Edale, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2016

We're delighted you enjoyed your stay! Looking forward to next year already. Thank you for coming, Best wishes from Tommy and Kirsty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2016 via mobile

Wow, what a find,
Superbly equipped luxury tents, stunning views at the very start of Pennine Way.
Nights spent barbecuing and sitting around fire pit listening to sheep and watching stars.
Days exploring caves and local attractions., picking wild bilberries for breakfast and having dip in streams just a stroll from the tent.
Idyllic.
Lovely friendly hosts Tommy and Kirsty who couldn't have done more to make our stay as pleasureable as possible - lovely people.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank GARRY P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom N, Owner at The Gathering Edale, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2016

Great to meet you all and do hope you can come back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2016 via mobile

We have just returned from a week long stay at The Gathering & we really have had the most wonderful break. I cannot recommend this place enough - an incredible location at the start of the pennine way and situated next to a stream which adds to the calm and serenity of the place.

We stayed in The Ryedale which is a huge safari tent with a king size bed and two further rooms with single beds to sleep 6 in total. The bedding and bathroom could have come straight out of a boutique hotel and for people that normally get out of bed at 6am, we had ridiculous lie ins as the beds were just so comfy! This is glamping at a completely different level!

The Ryedale has hot running water (I think you have to fire up stoves in the other 3 tents to heat the water) and is accessible for those with disabilities. There is parking adjacent to the tent and very easy access. The hosts Tommy & Kirsty really have thought of everything & the kitchen is very well equipped with a gas ring to make a quick cup of tea or meal. This tent even has a fridge to keep the wine and beer super chilled! There is a dining table for 6 in the tent, as well as outdoor table and chairs, and a really comfortable sofa and chair next to the log burner which throws out heat. Don't be frugal with the logs - keep the fire topped up and Tommy or Geoff will replace kindling and logs every day. We were even brought ice every evening for G&Ts - what more can you ask for?!

Tommy & Kirsty are the perfect hosts and they have created an incredible bolt hole. They are attentive without being overbearing and the most genuine people we have ever met. We had our 4 year old with us & they even brought her a bag of toys and introduced her to their children to play with. Nothing is too much trouble.

I could go on but you must try it for yourselves. We will definitely be back...

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Sally672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom N, Owner at The Gathering Edale, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2016

We really enjoyed meeting you and our girls are still talking about your daughter - so glad you had a good relaxing week and managed to get some good lie-ins. Thanks for your kind review and we really hope you can come back again. See you soon! Tommy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2016

We had the absolute pleasure of staying in the shooting lodge for one night. We were a party of three brothers celebrating are advancing years and picked this location due to its close proximity to Kinder Scout. Words cannot express that absolute joy we had. The owners could not have been more accommodating the location is sublime, the rooms beautiful, the attention to detail stunning and the Breakfast, so large that 3 x 16 stone men could not eat it all. A mention must however go to the large Pizza had in the lane the night before and the stunning desert at the Ramblers Inn down the road. We will be back and back again to this delightful place.

Room tip: Fantastic Location, brilliant views of Kinder Scout, great proximity to good Bars and Food.
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Meresborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom N, Owner at The Gathering Edale, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2016

Well you were in and out like a mosquito on a mission! We're very glad that your short stay gave you such pleasure, and that you had good walking weather for your ramble onto Kinder Scout. Do hope the visit to Chatsworth on your way home was a success. Many thanks and see you again soon. Tommy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews