We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (46)
Filter reviews
46 results
Traveller rating
46
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
46
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shooting lodge safari tent his team wood burning stove the barn fantastic holiday hot water bottles amazing memories every evening perfect venue wedding venue magical wedding logs and kindling special place oil lamps ice machine table tennis
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 46 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2016

We took a large group of family and friends to The Gathering over a long weekend in September 2016. We had exclusive use of the site and were extremely pleased with the accommodation and our hosts, Tommy and Kirsty (and Baxter the dog), who could not have been more welcoming and helpful. The setting, right at the top of Edale village, is spectacularly beautiful.

The trip had been *some* time in the planning and I had originally visited the site in March 2016 when only two of the large tents had been installed and the building works to the Shooting Lodge were a work in progress. So when we arrived on the Friday afternoon, and saw what an amazing transformation had taken place, we were thrilled.

The accommodation at the Gathering is simply fantastic. The tents each have three bedrooms (a double, and two twins), toilet/bathroom and large living dining area. They are well equipped with almost everything you could possibly need. The Shooting Lodge has been finished to a very high standard and has a large dining area, hall, bar and kitchen in the main building downstairs. There are two bedrooms (sleeping six in total) and two bathrooms above the dining room and kitchen. There is also a self-contained annex next to the bar, with its own kitchen/dining area and two ensuite bedrooms above. This section of the Shooting Lodge I found particularly impressive - as good as any boutique hotel I have stayed in.

Throughout the planning process and during our stay, the owners Tommy and Kirsty were extremely helpful and flexible, answering my many, many emails promptly and politely. They checked on us regularly during our stay to make sure we had everything we needed, but without being intrusive.

I would thoroughly and wholeheartedly recommend that you take a visit up to Edale and visit this amazing place. I can't wait until I get the opportunity to return and I know that the rest of our party felt the same.

Thank you so much for such a wonderful and memorable stay!

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sally R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom N, Owner at The Gathering Edale, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2016

Hooray! So glad it worked for you all and that you had such a great time. Do come back again soon - we'd love to see you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2016

I would normally choose luxury over life under canvas but The Gathering has changed my views entirely by combining luxury and camping with real style. The stunning location sets the scene and the tent is extremely well equipped for six people with comfy sofa and chairs plus a dining table and all the cooking and dining equipment needed. Thoughtful touches include board games, cosy woollen throws and everything needed for cocktails! The bathroom was beyond expectations and having a candlelit bath by a wood burning stove is blissful.
We stayed in the autumn of 2015 but the stoves ensured we stayed cosy at all times. Local facilities are nearby (but not too close) for pub meals and pizzas. Tom and Kirsty are great hosts for whom nothing is too much trouble. Overall, an experience not to be missed.

Date of stay: October 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom N, Owner at The Gathering Edale, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2016

If you'd waited a year you'd have been here in a heatwave! Thank you Mary for your review and we're very pleased that you enjoyed the stay with us. Do hope you can come again soon. Tommy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2016

My family and I (all 29 of us plus babies) stayed in The Gathering last weekend and what a brilliant weekend it was! From the moment I booked, Tommy the owner was so helpful, answering a million and one questions we all had and then during our stay, nothing was too much trouble. The tents were like nothing we'd seen before! Comfiest beds in the world, complete with hot water bottles for the cold evenings. Even the shower was great, yes there was a shower and toilet in the tent! I'd recommend The Gathering to anyone, it was such a fantastic weekend! Great walks in the area and delicious wood fired pizzas from the bottom of the farm. Already trying to plan our return next year :)

Room tip: If you can, get a big enough group that you can hire the whole place
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurenheasman2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom N, Owner at The Gathering Edale, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2016

It was great to meet you all and so glad you had a great family gathering - a 92 year span is probably our record so far! Very much hope to see you all again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016

I dont usually do reviews - but I had to for this amazing place.
We took the whole family to the Gathering on a whim ( i'm not usually a happpy camper) and had the very best sort of family holiday possible.
Such comfort and homeliness deep in the heart of the high peaks.
Room for a family of six with animals to spare.
For an amzing price you get your own suite of hotel rooms - In the middle of gods own country.
Just gonna make a list:
Beds - Moooooost comfortable beds known to mankind. Espeially after a day spent trecking through breathtaking back yard(the high peaks)
Bathroom - Hot water on tap!
Wood burning Stove for cosy heat and easy cooking - wood stocked up every day by Geoff.
Ice bucket delivered each evening for cocktails! Come on - I would go again just for that.
Fire bowl for glowing evening meals and games.
Power socket in the tent if you need - but lots of power and wifi in the barn for grumpy teens.....
waterfalls and pools to swim in nearby and biking and walking to fill your boots.
Tom and Kirsty always on hand for help and advice.
We caved and gorged with acclimbatize who were fantastic - we did an amazing whole day with them deeep underground and high above ground and covered in water - at a great rate.
we did a lazy day on the monsal trail hiring excellent bikes at the station and cycled the beautiful abandoned train track, over viaducts and through tunnels, ate a long easy delicious meal at the Monsal Head, and then a lazy afternoon swimming in the river under the viaduct.
Great meal at the Heathersage Social Club - I got Jane Fonda, she got Bob Marley and the teens got bands from the 80's they had never heard of but their parents had - you will understand if you go. (dont miss Little John's grave - he's really buried there - no, really!)
And every evening back to warmth and comfort and fire side food and hot water and happy teens.( amazing meat from the Hope Butchers)
Thank you to Kirsty and Tom for redefining "camping " for me - I think I could do it again....

ps. dont forget to order a shop to arrive before you get there - we had cold beers and Rose (and foood) waiting our fridge with ice bucket filled - on arrival!

Room tip: We were in the top tent - parking right next to the tent and disabaled access and facilities if needed.
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benppp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom N, Owner at The Gathering Edale, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2016

That's music to our ears - so glad you had such a great time and enjoyed what we've created here. Really look forward to your next visit and further exhausting those lads of yours!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2016

We hired one of the safari tents for four days to celebrate a special birthday - booked at the last minute as usual and how lucky! It was glorious.
Arrived in the dark. We didn't get lost as we followed the travel instructions to the letter - there really is a gate and private lane up to The Gathering to the left side of the Old Nag's Head. We were able to offload right next to the tent before parking at the top of the drive and walking back.
The tent has three bedrooms, separated by canvas 'walls' and heavy curtains offer privacy. First job is to warm the lounge/diner/kitchen area with a wood burner that doubles as the oven and a second wood burner which heats the water and bathroom. Lighting is by paraffin lamps and some battery powered LED lamps. There is one socket in the tent for charging. It's all very easy to use and very comfortable.
It is dark in the tents even during the day so a head torch is useful but then you spend most of the time outside. The surroundings are beautiful for walking or mountain biking (all right on your doorstep) or just relax by the outdoor fire on the decking. The beds are simply amazing. Our only problem was gales which sounded like there was a hurricane outside - that's the joy of camping, even when as glamorous as 'The Gathering'.
Definitely recommend going to Hathersage Social Club - it's a must. We had an amazing Persian 5 course feast. The breakfasts at Coopers Cafe are also a highlight.
Finally, Tommy, who runs the Gathering, is such a lovely person, incredibly kind and hospitable, from the start of the booking process through to our waving a sad goodbye. You really must stay there!

Room tip: Get there early so you can nab the king-size bed! Take a head-torch and some insect repellent.
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ingrid_Bergmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom N, Owner at The Gathering Edale, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2016

So glad you had a good birthday weekend and yes, the Hathersage Social Club is adored by everybody who has been there while staying with us. Do hope you can come again. Tommy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews