We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (36)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveller rating
36
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
36
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshooting lodgewood burning stovefantastic holidayhot water bottlesamazing memoriesevery eveningthe barnlogs and kindlingice machinecomfortable bedsweekend breaktable tennisnight's sleeppennine waystunning locationtommygeoff
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 36 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2016

We wanted somewhere different, out of the way but close to amenities for our team building event and The Gathering fitted the bill perfectly. Tommy and his team were fantastic hosts and looked after us superbly from start to finish. The tents were great fun even in October and were very cosy and warm with the log burners lit. The beds and duvets were better than any I have slept in in a hotel and the lunches we delicious home cooked delights (no buffet sandwiches here!). Such a great place and brilliant value too.
The whole team loved it -Glamping at its finest in the heart of the Peak District. You couldn't ask for a better team building venue and we can't wait to go back. Thanks to Tommy and his Team 10/10.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank finlaydawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom N, Owner at The Gathering Edale, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2016

That's great that you all had a good time and we're really looking forward to seeing some of you with your families soon. Hurry back! Tommy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2016

We booked the entire place for our family gathering! The rooms inside the house were gorgeous and the tents were equally wonderful. I am not one for camping but thoroughly enjoyed it, especially with our water bottles and fire to keep us warm. The owners were extremely inviting, friendly and helpful. The walks nearby have truly spectacular views. I could not recommend this place anymore highly.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joscelinlester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom N, Owner at The Gathering Edale, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2016

That's great that you all had a good time for your family gathering - and so glad we were able to find the missing earring! Hope to see you again soon. Tommy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2016

Superb accommodation, well equipped .Excellent nights sleep thanks to the impressive Hypnos mattresses and Egyptian cotton sheets, Hot water bottles for each bed were a nice touch. though we didn't need them.Bathroom had a bath shower and flushing toilet. The water heater kept the bathroom nice n warm. Geoff the site manager made sure that we were well looked after. Stunning views, beautiful location. Warm, welcoming, definitely worth a return visit.

Room Tip: Shooting Lodges well equipped very comfortable, have stunning views. Decking area outside a lovely touch to sit .relax and watch the sunset.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IAN BRUCE T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom N, Owner at The Gathering Edale, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2016

Great to meet you all and glad you had a good time. Do hope to see you again. Tommy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2016

We took a large group of family and friends to The Gathering over a long weekend in September 2016. We had exclusive use of the site and were extremely pleased with the accommodation and our hosts, Tommy and Kirsty (and Baxter the dog), who could not have been more welcoming and helpful. The setting, right at the top of Edale village, is spectacularly beautiful.

The trip had been *some* time in the planning and I had originally visited the site in March 2016 when only two of the large tents had been installed and the building works to the Shooting Lodge were a work in progress. So when we arrived on the Friday afternoon, and saw what an amazing transformation had taken place, we were thrilled.

The accommodation at the Gathering is simply fantastic. The tents each have three bedrooms (a double, and two twins), toilet/bathroom and large living dining area. They are well equipped with almost everything you could possibly need. The Shooting Lodge has been finished to a very high standard and has a large dining area, hall, bar and kitchen in the main building downstairs. There are two bedrooms (sleeping six in total) and two bathrooms above the dining room and kitchen. There is also a self-contained annex next to the bar, with its own kitchen/dining area and two ensuite bedrooms above. This section of the Shooting Lodge I found particularly impressive - as good as any boutique hotel I have stayed in.

Throughout the planning process and during our stay, the owners Tommy and Kirsty were extremely helpful and flexible, answering my many, many emails promptly and politely. They checked on us regularly during our stay to make sure we had everything we needed, but without being intrusive.

I would thoroughly and wholeheartedly recommend that you take a visit up to Edale and visit this amazing place. I can't wait until I get the opportunity to return and I know that the rest of our party felt the same.

Thank you so much for such a wonderful and memorable stay!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sally R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom N, Owner at The Gathering Edale, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2016

Hooray! So glad it worked for you all and that you had such a great time. Do come back again soon - we'd love to see you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2016

I would normally choose luxury over life under canvas but The Gathering has changed my views entirely by combining luxury and camping with real style. The stunning location sets the scene and the tent is extremely well equipped for six people with comfy sofa and chairs plus a dining table and all the cooking and dining equipment needed. Thoughtful touches include board games, cosy woollen throws and everything needed for cocktails! The bathroom was beyond expectations and having a candlelit bath by a wood burning stove is blissful.
We stayed in the autumn of 2015 but the stoves ensured we stayed cosy at all times. Local facilities are nearby (but not too close) for pub meals and pizzas. Tom and Kirsty are great hosts for whom nothing is too much trouble. Overall, an experience not to be missed.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom N, Owner at The Gathering Edale, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2016

If you'd waited a year you'd have been here in a heatwave! Thank you Mary for your review and we're very pleased that you enjoyed the stay with us. Do hope you can come again soon. Tommy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews