We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plenty of choice”
Review of The Golden Dragon

The Golden Dragon
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Plenty of choice”
Reviewed 9 October 2012

We sometimes like to take advantage of the popular tea time special offer on eat-in meals, which are really good value for money.
The food here is very good indeed and there is an extensive menu, which also has a Thai section as well as the traditional Chinese. We often get a take-away from here; you get very generous portions, so they are good value.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank griffithcelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    15
    6
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Chinese at its best”
Reviewed 28 September 2012

I live in chapel and this is by far the best Chinese. It's a little more expensive than others but that's because the food is by far the best too. Only ever received excellent service and can't recall ever having to wait a long time for food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sootyface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“tea time”
Reviewed 24 August 2012

good set menu, service a bit slow but worth the wait, Advise to arrive around 5pm. to aviod the rush!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Head_Chef_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“If you don't mind waiting for food you'll be ok .”
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Use to be good . Now it's poor ! The waiting for the expensive items ie Duck , Prawns and chicken is not proffesional at all . Next time i will have my local takeaway

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debster_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fittleworth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good restaurant”
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Ate here on a Wednesday night while staying in a nearby B&B. We had a very pleasant meal.

The starter was crispy duck and, oh boy, what a duck. It was almost a meal in itself and very tasty.

The main meal was slightly over-spiced for our taste but very tasty all the same, nicely presented and the portions were very generous in size. The "mild" satay in particular was fierce and required a little more beer to help calm the tastebuds :-0.

I didn't expect an awful lot from a chinese restaurant in a small town in the peak district and this place is surprisingly good. From the outside it looked fairly unprepossesing and I nearly walked away. Decor is a tad dated. Service was a little slow.

I'd happily go back for another meal when in the area.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Golden Dragon also viewed

Chapel-en-le-Frith, Peak District National Park
Chapel-en-le-Frith, Peak District National Park
 
Chapel-en-le-Frith, Peak District National Park
Chapel-en-le-Frith, Peak District National Park
 
Chapel-en-le-Frith, Peak District National Park
Chapel-en-le-Frith, Peak District National Park
 

Been to The Golden Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing