We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it.”
Review of The Golden Dragon

The Golden Dragon
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
High Peak
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Love it.”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I love dining in this restaurant. We visit as a family and always find the food and the service superb. Never had any reason to complain.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cheryl_poplar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    15
    6
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tideswell, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing As Usual!”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Visited 26th July 2013 for a birthday meal for my sister!

Great food, a bit slow on service but this is understandable due to it being very busy with every table full, and the staff apologized for this delay very quickly.
Staff were very friendly and made us feel very welcomed at the restaurant! Our waiter was very bubbly, and made light conversation while serving food, as other members off staff did while giving us our bill.

A great restaurant with great staff! And I would definitely recommend you visit if you are in the area!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Em W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Covenham, UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Friendly Dragon”
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Whilst staying in Chapel-en-le-Frith in May with weather that was much to be desired, our family of seven were looking for somewhere to eat that was within walking distance. We found the Golden Dragon very welcoming and a pleasant haven out of the rain (no-one moaned about all the wet brollies that we left by the door). The waitress was very helpful and a table was 'enlarged' specially for us by placing a larger circular top onto the standard table so that we could all dine together. We had the tea time banquet and the food was excellent, plentiful and very reasonably priced. We would certainly book here again if in the area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SmartMart_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Peak, Derbyshire, England
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very good food and service”
Reviewed 9 June 2013

I found these reviews whilst looking for the Golden Dragon’s phone number. Despite some poor reviews we decided to book a table, and we’re glad we did. Everything from being greeted at the door through to receiving our bill was excellent. The staff were friendly and attentive, the food was very good and arrived on the table quickly. We will certainly visit again in the near future.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian_Kath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“as good as ever”
Reviewed 20 May 2013

we went to the DRAGON again on saturday, and,as ever it was spot on! we had the tea time banquet,with chow mein and kung po as main courses,it was lovely.sometimes you do have to wait a little while,this is because everything is cooked fresh,not precooked and then reheated like some lesser establishments do! having eaten here for a number of years we have found that the standard of the restaurant has remained consistantlly high.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 397foodlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Golden Dragon also viewed

Chapel-en-le-Frith, Peak District National Park
Chapel-en-le-Frith, Peak District National Park
 
Chapel-en-le-Frith, Peak District National Park
Chapel-en-le-Frith, Peak District National Park
 
Chapel-en-le-Frith, Peak District National Park
Chapel-en-le-Frith, Peak District National Park
 

Been to The Golden Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing