We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An uplifting experience”

Chestnut Centre Otter, Owl and Wildlife Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Chestnut Centre is an escape from the bustle of life, in a secluded natural valley in the Peak National Park. The centre is home to 4 species of otters including the rare Giant Otter, 15 species of owl, tame fallow deer in the deer herd, foxes, pine marten and the elusive, endangered Scottish Wildcat etc. Truly a ‘Hidden Gem in a Hidden Valley”.
Bamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An uplifting experience”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We took our three year old granddaughter here on this bank holiday Monday and she was thrilled to see the otters. We took her push-chair along and apart from a couple of rocky patches we were easily able to negotiate the paths. The otter feeding times were a real treat and the owls were clearly visible. The deer were not shy at all (as they were on a previous visit) and they came right up to us. The only creature that we did not see was the fox but I would have been very surprised if all the animals were easy to see.

This is a wonderful place to visit in a very natural woodland setting, especially for children and the staff were very friendly and knowledgeable. Thank you for a very enjoyable day out.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank trejanmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol H, Owner at Chestnut Centre Otter, Owl and Wildlife Park, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
We are delighted you enjoyed your visit and introduced your granddaughter to the wonders of wildlife.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    283
    153
    35
    15
    13
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great bank holiday Monday day out”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

The Chestnut centre is in a beautiful fresh clean location in the Derbyshire country side. We came here after visiting in previous years a few times to spend the bank holiday Monday. It's a very popular place for everyone. They have some lovely animals deer, otters, owls, pine martins, pole cats and my favourite the Scottish wildcat. This not only is a place to see these amazing creatures but it's full of education and things to learn. Aside from the great walk and these fascinating animals there is a nice cafe and gift shop. Will definitely return and would definitely recommend.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank katenorthwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol H, Owner at Chestnut Centre Otter, Owl and Wildlife Park, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Thank you for your positive and very welcome review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Just ok”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

This place is quite nice but I wouldn't recommend going here if you're disabled or have small children.

The animals are stunning as is the countryside but the set up and layout make photography near impossible.

When we went it was exceptionally busy. I feel it would be more enjoyable during a weekday.

The price is also a touch steep but I supposed these places need the money for the upkeep of the animals.

Overall it was ok. I would return when there's no children.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Etbl1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol H, Owner at Chestnut Centre Otter, Owl and Wildlife Park, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Thanks for the review. Obviously we do love having children to visit the Chestnut Centre and we hope it can nurture a respect or passion for wildlife etc.
Do come again, as you say during the week and not school holidays, when the park is quieter and more peaceful.

Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“afternoon visit”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We had to be in this area for an appointment so decided to try the Chestnut Centre as i love Owls, it was a lovely day so we paid in the cafe and set off round the park.The first animals we saw were Fallow Deer they came very close to us and were used to people so that was lovely.
Then we saw the Giant Otters at first they were at the back of their enclosure, and we couldn't see them very clearly but lucky for us they went in the water and swam right across to where we were watching and got out. They then frolicked and rolled about then went in their enclosure where we got a good view of them though the window. There are lots of different Owl species many i had never seen before. The terrain is a bit challenging if you are an older guest but we really enjoyed our visit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank dendy355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol H, Owner at Chestnut Centre Otter, Owl and Wildlife Park, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Very pleased you could manage a visit to us and that you had a good time. The Giant otters are amazing and really do have to be seen to be believed.
Thank you for the visit and your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fylde Coast Naturalist's Club visit ”
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Arrived during a heavy downpour of rain and borrowed one of the centres brollies. A large area with fallow dear running around was the first thing we saw. Then we followed the keepers as they did the 12:30 feed. This was fascinating and it helped bring out the otters and Martins so we could see them better. The keepers answered lots of our questions and were very helpful. My favourite was the giant otters, and the cafe was good as well.
All in all a nice place to visit, but not if you are disabled.

Helpful?
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol H, Owner at Chestnut Centre Otter, Owl and Wildlife Park, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thanks for the review and for coming such a long way to visit. We also enjoyed your company such a lovely friendly group.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chestnut Centre Otter, Owl and Wildlife Park also viewed

 
Hathersage, Hope Valley
Castleton, Hope Valley
 

Been to Chestnut Centre Otter, Owl and Wildlife Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing