We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent food time after time!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rems Cafe Bar and Restaurant

Rems Cafe Bar and Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Mediterranean, European, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent food time after time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

We try and go as often as we can, the early bird deal is excellent value too. We have our favourite dishes but the gambas pil pil is the best. The king prawns are cooked in their shells which enhances the flavour so much more - finger licking good! What are you waiting for, get yourself booked in now.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank patang23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    12
    2
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A very nice experience once again!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

This was our 3rd visit to rems and once again it did not disappoint. We dined with friends on this occasion and shared various tapas dishes between us and every one of them was lovely. Everything is very well priced and good value for money. The surroundings are pleasant and every time i have been the restaurant has been full so has created a decent atmosphere.
All in all I would highly recommend a visit here either for the early bird tapas or an evening meal. Thanks again and we shall look forward to returning very soon.

Helpful?
Thank Hawtin007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“The early bird gets the tapas!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

We visited Rems on a chilly November Wednesday evening, arriving just in time to benefit from the pre 7pm early bird special: 3 tapas for £6.95 but we doubled up and had 6 for £13.90! Add the wine (at £14.95 across the board) and 2 bottles of chilled tap water, and this turned out to be the best value meal we have enjoyed in Britain for a long time.

The atmosphere at Rems is relaxed and friendly, and many of the other diners there appeared to be regulars. The service was excellent and the food was extremely good. We enjoyed the house bread plus oil and balsamic, beef meatballs, Cajun chicken, garlic mushrooms, patatas bravas and tortilla. It was all absolutely delicious, although the tortilla would have been (to my mind) better served warm. To be fair the chef did tell us that it came "ambient" when we ordered it, so no complaints. 6 dishes were plenty - and we arrived very hungry!

It was a pleasant surprise to find such good tapas in Chapel-en-le-Frith. We'll definitely be joining the ranks of the regulars!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jackie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just what we need on a Friday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

We have been a regular at Rems for the last 18 months, we love the Friday night atmosphere..busy, chatty and the Happy Hour is an amazing idea.
Then add the Tapas for an treat when you don't want to cook tea, something for everyones taste and appetite..all fresh and so moreish...
It has everything for a fantastic start to a weekend.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great tapas, great quiz”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed our meal here. Ordered a little too much food but it was really tasty. Bread portion easily enough for four, whitebait also plentiful, but most other dishes were really for two to share, so multiply these up. Service was friendly, and we weren't made to look stupid when finding the quiz a little challenging!!! Would recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Mooruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rems Cafe Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Chapel-en-le-Frith, Peak District National Park
Chapel-en-le-Frith, Peak District National Park
 
Chapel-en-le-Frith, Peak District National Park
Chapel-en-le-Frith, Peak District National Park
 
Chapel-en-le-Frith, Peak District National Park
Chapel-en-le-Frith, Peak District National Park
 

Been to Rems Cafe Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing