We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful family apartment with excellent hosts!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Chapel-en-le-Frith, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kate Ana...
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful family apartment with excellent hosts!”
Reviewed 13 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We really enjoyed our stay at John and Avrils wonderful spacius and clean apartment. We travelled with our two young sons they were well catered for and loved the bunny rabbit and ginea pig and outdoor toys in the back garden, we all really enjoyed John and Arvils extremely warm welcome, tea and coffee and juice for the boys and a grand tour of their vintage wedding cars. Plenty to do in the local area highly recommed the chesnut centre (animal sanctury). On the second day we did the Pavillion Gardens in Buxton perfect for a rainy day. We will be back! Happy days! :)

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy G
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 24 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed in this lovely apartment for two nights while visiting family locally. The accommodation is very cosy and clean and we were pleasantly surprised to find how many things were provided, eg tea, coffee, milk etc, even dressing gowns and some toiletries. It was lovely and warm and a real home from home. It is in an ideal location for walking into the high street with shops, pubs etc. The owners John and Avril were so friendly and dad really enjoyed the time John spent with him showing him his collection of vintage cars. Would definitely recommend this to anyone and hope to visit again one day.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatW235
1 review
“Brilliant accommodation and owners”
Reviewed 17 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Absolutely fantastic property, perfect for what we were looking for in the area.
Excellent access to the sights, walks and attractions in the Peak District.
Clean, well equipped.
Owners are lovely and genuine people.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fourinaci...
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 20 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed here for three nights and had a lovely time. The apartment is small but has everything you will need. It is comfortable, clean and is a good base for a stay in the peak district. John and Avril are a lovely couple who make you feel welcome from the time of booking. Nothing was too much trouble and the tea, coffee, milk, eggs and cereals were very welcome. We liked it so much we hoping to go back next year for a week.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the property
Liked least: No wi fi
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simondais...
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Utterly delightful stay in a perfect property in a beautiful part of the country with the best hosts you could hope for.”
Reviewed 10 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

I messed up my initial booking and Avril was so understanding, accommodating and flexible. When we arrived, we were blown away by John's collection of vintage Rolls Royces. The apartment itself was spotlessly clean, really comfortable and well-furnished. The location was ideal to explore the High Peaks...Buxton is delightful, Derwent is beautiful. We felt really blessed that we found this place. We were made so welcome; I couldn't recommend it highly enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The company of the hosts
Liked least: The pubs in Chapel en frith
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jun 2016
Thank you so much Simon.
It was a pleasure to meet you and your family and we feel that we have made good friends.
You are most welcome to visit us anytime.
We are so pleased that you appreciated your stay.
Also thanks for leaving the apartment so tidy.


Kind regards John and Avril
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PP_Travel...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed 23 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We stayed here for 2 nights! The hosts were very welcoming and had great amenities! Unfortunately we were extremely busy and didn't get a chance to spend more time in the flat and in the garden! Thank you for a great stay! We hope to come back soon!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Apr 2016
Hello Preeyus and Alex,
Thank you so much for your very kind review and we look forward to seeing you again.
Kind regards John and Avril
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debsontou...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely stay with friendly hosts”
Reviewed 21 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

The apartment was wonderfully warm and clean with a great open-plan kitchen for sociable self-catering. Avril and John gave us great tips for places to visit in the area such as Chatsworth House and we thoroughly enjoyed the beautiful Derbyshire countryside. We loved having a drink with them and learning about the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing