We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First class”

Losehill House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 9 Restaurants in Hope
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Baslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“First class”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

A great hotel restaurant in a fantastic location. The Orangery restaurant is tastefully decorated and the service was excellent. We chose the seven course tasting menu and each course was a delight and left us wanting more. It's not cheap at £49.50 each but the skill and preparation needed for each course makes it good value. Definitely worth a visit.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    29
    11
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth it's weight in gold!!! ”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for our anniversary and we came away feeling refreshed and relaxed..we will definitely be back. We arrived to be greeted and shown the lounge where we offered drinks while we waited for our light lunch. After which we were then shown our room...the rooms from both the bedroom and bathroom were absolutely stunning. For dinner we had the tasting menu and we certainly weren't disappointed. The seasoning was perfect..and the presentation was worthy of any Michelin starred establishment . My wife used the pool and sauna in the morning but the pool was slightly cold at that time in the morning but it was 8am so fully understood that it may not be up to optimum temp. Breakfast like everything else did not disappoint. We would highly recommend this establishment to anyone.

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful surroundings but ridiculous price”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I have just had a family celebration Saturday evening meal in the stunning surroundings of Losehill House in the Hope Valley, Derbyshire. We live locally and have eaten there on several occasions but there has been a serious plummet in value since our last visit.
Our party included three children, thirteen and under, at least two of whom would have been happy without the mandatory three courser. While I do not wish them to have been offered fish fingers, I would have expected a nine year old to be able to eat adequately without paying the statutory forty quid-a-head that the menu demanded.
This forty pounds was for the basic three-course supper. At this price I would welcome a reasonable provision of vegetables with the meal but these entailed a healthy supplement which we declined.
A small glass of coke that included ice-cubes was £2:50 as was a glass of lemonade. We chose one of the most modest bottles of white and red on the wine list at twenty six and twenty one quid respectively. Nice but excessively priced when we would have been happy with a good house red or white, had it been available.
The portions were adequate but mains could have benefitted with vegetables thrown in without having to shell out even more.
The deserts were pleasant but one of our party who chose the cheese option (a mini cheese option of four modest but interesting cheeses, not the full Monty cheese board) had to pay a £3:50 supplement. Crazy when you think that the desert component of the forty pound menu must have been at least ten pounds.
Several of us chose coffee after the meal. This featured on the menu as coffee plus petits fours, at a supplement of four pounds per person. When I pointed out on paying the bill, that the petits fours had not arrived, the coffee supplement was reduced to a modest seventeen pounds for two average size cafetieres.

In summary, this is a charming boutique spa-hotel with stunning Peak district views. The service and surroundings and presentation could not be faulted, but at four hundred and fifty eight pounds for six adults, an admittedly voracious thirteen year old and two kids, excluding tip I think there are tempting high quality alternatives in and near the Hope Valley

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Laurence B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tideswell, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lunch and a Walk”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Went for a walk on Mam Tor in the wonderful Peak District yesterday and dropped into Losehill House Hotel for a bite to eat and drink. Walking for two and half hours solid we were more than ready for a beer!!. The whole expereince at the Hotel is superb, a very warm welcome, really comfortable seating and views of the Peak District to die for! The beer was local - can't recommend Thornbridge Japur beer too highly and the food served was outstanding. We ended up staying longer than expected because we were so relaxed in the hotel. The hotel was full of other customers most chilling out after spa treatments so the atmosphere was brilliant. If you are looking for top food and great service with a backdrop of the magnificant Peak District you have found a great venue.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“beautiful place terrible food”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We were treated to a voucher for sunday lunch by our family for our anniversary. Which we thought was a lovely idea I wish they hadn't bothered. We arrived and thought wow what a wonderful setting it all went down hill from there . we went into the bar to wait and a waiter eventually wandered in and mumbled did we want any thing. We sat and had a drink and he returned with the menu still not showing much signs of life.
I ordered the beef and my husband the pork . We were shown to a table by the side of a lady eating in her bath robe. The beef came running with blood which I don't like so I swapped with my husband but the pork was horrible it came in a rectangle shape and tasted like sausage meat. I mentioned this to the waitress who gloomily said I'll tell the chef.
The desert of peaches and blossom cream was incredible it was again some cream in a rectangle shape and a few slices of peach so thin you could have read the paper through. The coffee , begrudgingly served in comfy chairs was not particularly nice either .
All this cost over £70 . the place is absolutely beautiful , just a shame about the staff and food

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank munchies14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Losehill House Hotel & Spa also viewed

Baslow, Peak District National Park
 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 

Been to Losehill House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing