We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place in a nice setting, but..”
Review of Round Meadow Barn

Round Meadow Barn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Round Meadow Barn
Ranked #6 of 6 Hope B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice place in a nice setting, but..”
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Very nice location, nice set up. Gives you the feel of the country side.

My partner and I stayed here for our Christmas getaway. We were planning to sleep in on our first morning. But we were told that "this is not a Hotel, you have to leave at 9:30 and come back in the evening." Since my partner and have not had a lot of Bed and Breakfast experience. We are not sure if that is a norm. I have to mention that that was during the Christmas day and we were told that they have visitors. So we just assumed that customers have to go away while the visitors are in.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kamandagcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    7
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
6
12
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

No complaints with this bed & breakfast, which is in a lovely setting and close to lots of great activities in Derbyshire.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCWorldTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisbech, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2011

My wife and i needed to have a week end break , as we have never visited the peak district before we were recommended by friends to visit Hope . We had in the past travelled to most parts of England but the peak district was absolutely amazing .
What made our break that little bit extra special was staying at Round meadow barn ,Jill and Geof were the perfect host and Ellie their pet dog was so cute. Throughout our break my wife and i felt very much at home .If anyone wanted a relaxing break this has to be the ideal place .
There is a lovely seating area to the front of the house (a perfect place to relax) the only sounds we could hear were the birds , cattle and in the far distance we could hear the muffled sound of the passing trains .
Jill would occasionally bring us a hot drink along with home made flapjacks which was very welcoming , they just could not do enough for us .
The bedroom and bathroom were spotless and the views from our window were amazing.
The surrounding Towns and villages were having there own celebrations , the whole area was buzzing with festivities so it was by chance that we were there at this time .
If you enjoy walking , wildlife with tranquil surroundings and the option of taking a 10 minute drive to the pubs and restaurants this has to be the perfect place .

Room Tip: Room with the view is a must !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bagman70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2010

Round Meadow Barn is in a lovely quiet area, reached from off the main road, up a quiet country lane via a private track to the Barn.

The area is well served by buses and the nearby train station.

The second we got to the front door we were welcomed by Gill (Geof was away for the weekend helping his son) she showed us to our room which was large, very clean and tastefully decorated in a homely, country style.

We stayed in one of the en suite rooms which had tea/coffee making facilities and shortbread biscuits. In the bathroom there were towels, soap, shampoo and shower gel provided, the fittings in the bathroom were all good quality and the bathroom was very clean, the two seater settee in the room was a nice touch for relaxing and watching the t.v.

After a quick spruce up we went downstairs to go out for the night, Gill saw us, asked us if we needed a torch and made sure we knew where we were going.

We called at the travellers rest pub which is on the way to hope and only a 10 minute stroll away, selling hand pulled beers and meals throughout the day, we called there both on the way out and on the way back, we didn't try the food but the hand pulled
beer was rather nice.

Hope is about a 15-20 minute walk away and Castleton around half an hour, we walked to hope and back that evening to eat, there is a path all the way there but I would advise that you take a torch with you.

After a lovely night's sleep in the comfortable bed we went down to breakfast, Gill again welcomed us, asked us whether we wanted tea or coffee and suggested we helped ourselves to the many cereals, fruit, fruit juice and preserves on offer.

Gill made us toast and then presented us with a perfectly cooked, lovely and very filling fried breakfast.

Our stay was only an overnight one but we would certainly go back again and definitely for a few nights next time, we had a lovely, comfortable stay in a very clean establishment and were made to feel very welcome.

Thank you Gill for a lovely stay, we'll be back soon.

Kind Regards, Wayne and Janet.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hezzie2125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hope
2.2 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District
1.7 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
3.0 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Little John Hotel
Little John Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hathersage
212 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
2.2 mi away
Causeway House
Causeway House
#1 of 13 in Castleton
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Round Meadow Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Round Meadow Barn

Property: Round Meadow Barn
Address: Round Meadow Barn Parsons Lane, Hope, Peak District National Park S33 6RB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Hope
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Hope
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Round Meadow Barn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Round Meadow Barn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Round Meadow Barn Hope, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing