We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hope
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

My friend and I booked for a 2 day spa break and were not disappointed. The location is superb and our room had wonderful hillside views from both bedroom and bathroom. The room itself was very comfortable with lovely beds, free wi-fi etc. The food was superb as were the cheerful and helpful waiting staff. The restaurant also enjoys good views and it was lovely to have a sit down breakfast with a menu as opposed to the buffet style breakfast now offered in so many places. Just loved our stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saracengeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,010 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    601
    278
    75
    39
    17
See reviews for
159
657
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
232 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

I've now stayed here on five different occasions, which tells its own story - I love it! You'll either be the same, or you'll wish you'd never set eyes on the place. Why would I say that? Well, its strengths will also to some folks be its weaknesses. First off, the location - it's literally in the middle of nowhere, at the very end of a single track road, admittedly not far from the village of Hope, but still far enough out to feel remote. Don't be put off by the state of this road when you first turn into it - it gets better, and the stretch nearest the hotel looks as if it's recently been resurfaced, though I can't understand why they didn't fill in the ruts and potholes in the first stretch while they were at it. So on location, if you love quiet, this is for you. If not ...
Then there's the food, which is all served for every meal (breakfast included), and from what I can see all their tariffs are inclusive of dinner as well as bed & breakfast. If you expect pie and chips, or burgers, then you'll be disappointed big time. This is gourmet food, of a high standard and locally sources, and attractively presented. You're likely to be introduced to new dishes that you'd never thought of before - and it will all be served in a leisurely fashion in the restaurant, which looks out to hills and grazing sheep. You'll not take less than two hours for dinner, more likely half an hour beyond that, so this is slow food by any reckoning - which to some will be a wonderfully laid back experience while others will think it's inefficient.
In the course of my various stays, I must have stayed in most of the room styles, and some are definitely better than others. This time, it was what they call a double room, which I have to say was on the small side, and with a shower that must be the smallest I've seen - for anyone even slightly over-sized, I think you'd have difficulty getting into it, maybe more getting back out again. So I'd check out what sort of bathroom you're getting in advance, and probably also what size bed you might end up with (the "double" didn't seem to be double anything, certainly not double the size of a single, which you might expect, though it was comfortable enough).
And of course, it's a spa - which is perhaps an over-generous description, as the spa component consists of an outside hot tub that would hold maybe five or six people before it feels uncomfortable, and a smallish (indoor) pool and sauna. So don't expect one of those spa experiences where you get sprayed with water from all sorts of fancy spouts. The thing that really qualifies it for that description would, for me, be the treatments that are available - and which I've had on each visit. The therapists are all local people, and are absolutely first class - worth going just for that.
So, like I say, you'll either love it or hate it - and those who love it will do so for all the same reasons as others will hate it (which more or less reflects the range of the other reviews on here). But I'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Theologyprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

When a hotel of the standing and reputation of Losehill House has had a dinner booking since last winter, for a party of only 18, numerous 'e' mails confirming not only the menu (from which they insisted on knowing the guests choice 4 weeks in advance), were given each persons individual selection as well as the totals for each dish, the timings of each course (to allow for entertainment between courses) and still cannot produce a quality hot meal on time then the client can not be blamed for asking just how they manage to stay in business.
Having discussed timing with the hotel on 'e' mail we took their advice as to the duration of each course (allowing for our entertainment inbetween), the starter was supposed to be served at 7-45; we eventually got it at 8-20; then waited 70 minutes for the main course some of which was 'lukewarm' at best. The quantities of food served were very small (for £35 per head).
To be fair, after I complained vociferously to the Restaurant Manager about the slow service, things did improve slightly.
The owner sent me an apologetic 'e' mail the following day offering a discount after admitting that they had staffing issues and that all the organising 'e' mails had been put under the reception desk and nobody had been told their contents.
A poor experience for a celebration which had been eagerly anticipated by family and friends.
A 'Ruby' wedding can never be repeated.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Freemasonsheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulRodenLosehill, Owner at Losehill House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 August 2012
We are guilty of making a mistake not being inept - 'unskillfulness resulting from a lack of training' or indeed 'having no qualities that would render it valuable or useful'. We were devastated that the final email setting out timings and final arrangements had been filed without distribution to Restaurant or Kitchen due to a member of staff being on holiday- a simple mistake, not to be repeated, which led to the 35 minute delay described that ruined the Ruby Wedding celebration. I can only apologise for the genuine error and reassure the reviewer that we will stay in business despite his worries or best efforts. I also hope that his behaviour to staff and disregard for other guests is not repeated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neath
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

Booked this for the family (two small children). We were not disappointed! What drew us in particular was the suite having two separate bedrooms and a lounge as part of the (very good) online room price. These were of an excellent standard, lovely and clean and good sizes. Bathroom was lovely - a small gripe was that the toilet took several flushes each time, but water pressure was strong elsewhere. Another small gripe was that the free wifi wasn't strong in all the rooms (but who comes to such a fabulous location to surf the internet?!) Talking of the area - wow! The hotel is located up a country lane, with fabulous walks around - we walked both mountains each side of the valley. The views were amongst the nicest anywhere! Breakfast was amazing - superb choice of locally sourced, organic ingredients. Staff were lovely too. I am amazed at the previous review - how this could be described as "average" beats me, certainly not average to me! Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: The suites are very good value for money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulRodenLosehill, Owner at Losehill House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 August 2012
Thank-you for your kind comments - the team really appreciate them. With regards internet and the toilet (now fixed) we will redouble our efforts to distribute the wifi - but sadly we are so far from the BT exchange that our super slow broad band is not our best feature!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

Following the good reviews on Trip Advisor and the beautiful pictures on the hotel website we really looked forward to our stay. We were, however, quite disappointed as the high price we paid was not reflected in the quality we received. The room was much smaller than expected, again taking into account the price! we have had some spectacular rooms for around the same cost. It was awkwardly laid out, e.g you could not see the TV from the bed unless you sat bolt upright. The bathroom was quite dirty. The floor especially was in need of a good clean, as were the tiles. I did not use the bath itself as I didn't fancy it having seen how dirty the rest of the room was. The layout (lots of small uneven steps) outside wasn't suitable for younger children, anyone elderly or unsteady on their feet and as we sat in the garden looking up at the hotel, we thought it could do with a lick of paint and a good tidy up. Breakfast was average, not very much that appealed to us so toast and a coffee before we set off was all we had Bar prices we thought were quite extortionate so only had the one drink. It was a shame because it could have been much more enjoyable had the room been clean and the prices not quite so high. Wouldn't stay again :(

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tinkerbell2712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulRodenLosehill, Owner at Losehill House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 August 2012
What saddens me is that such a review is posted on Tripadvisor and yet every attempt for us to gather feedback is ignored - questionnaire in the rooms, receptionists asking about the stay, an email post stay requesting feedback - nothing.
The comments about cleanliness are very distressing and not shared by our other guests or my personal experiences - but if we had been told about an issue we could have acted.
The uninspiring breakfast menu has over 10 meal choices with locally sourced organic produce and freshly prepared to order, our breakfast is complemented daily by our guests.
However, we will continue to strive to ensure that all of our guests enjoy their stay and welcome feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

We booked this Hotel for one night to break up our journey on returning from a cruise ending in Southampton. We started to get a little worried when our sat nav took us up a single track country road but the journey was worth it. A fabulous small luxurious hotel hidden in the beautiful peak district. The views from the Hotel were stunning & walkers need not take their cars once there loads of walks from the door. Our room was beautiful (room 1) & the whole Hotel marvellous. The food was incredible almost too beautiful to eat. Possibly the best scallops I have ever had melted in the mouth & the deserts were amazing. We loved the Hotel so much that we asked to book a second night. Our room was already booked however so we were upgraded at no extra charge to the bridal suite (Room 25) which was wonderful with a seperate lounge & incredible bathroom with all round jet power shower. We swam in the pool & sat in the outdoor hot tub before breakfast & in the afternoon after a long days hiking which was heaven. This Hotel is one of the best small Hotels I have stayed in. This was our first visit but certainly not our last. Well done to all the management & staff.

Room Tip: Room 1 (deluxe kings room) is light & airy & looked to have been refurbished quite recently.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DurhamMandM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

Waht a great place to stay, where to start? The staff and service were amazing. Tom and the owner Paul took time to fill us in on the history of the hotel. I think what they have done with it is amazing. The food was gorgeous. Great breakfasts to set you up for the day. The Hot tub is superb. The views were wonderful to wake up to from every side of the hotel. The rooms were amazing. i even tried to find out where the sheets were from by looking a the labels. Definitely 9 out of 10.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yorkshire11_67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hope
21.3 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
4.6 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
10.7 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
The Maynard
The Maynard
#1 of 1 in Grindleford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
9.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
9.9 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Baslow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Losehill House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Losehill House Hotel & Spa

Property: Losehill House Hotel & Spa
Address: Lose Hill Lane | Edale Road, Hope Valley, Derbyshire, Hope, Peak District National Park S33 6AF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Hope
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hope
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Losehill House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The finest Hotel & Spa in the Peak District National Park ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Losehill House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Losehill House Hotel And Spa
Losehill House Hotel Hope
Losehill Hotel Hope
Losehill House Hotel & Spa Hope, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing