We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much Needed Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hope
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Much Needed Break”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Events conspired to mean we couldn't get abroad as we'd planned, so we decided to treat ourselves to a couple of days at this place.

This is great for couples - not so much for families as there's not much for little ones to do. It was mostly couples, and very peaceful which was exactly what we needed.

We booked a special offer which ended up costing about £500 for two nights. It sounds expensive, but this included every meal (breakfast and dinner both days, with lunch on the middle day) plus £90 worth of spa treatments each. We totted it up and I think we got about £800 worth of value if they'd charged full price.

The Spa - lovely spa staff and nice treatments, although oddly the spa treatment rooms aren't near the pool, being upstairs near some bedrooms, but it was very relaxing. Try one of the facials, I had the oxygen facial which was lovely and relaxing. The foot ritual was not really worth it, book a proper pedi instead! My hubs had the back massage for men which was great apparently. The pool was teeny tiny, but no-one in it most of the time, and there was a sauna and steam room too, again, mostly you could have this to yourself. There was also a hot tub outside with an amazing view of the hills. It was really hot when we stayed and we lazed around on sun loungers on the lawn in our swimmers.

The food - AMAZING! Honestly, we couldn't move most of the time we ate so much. It was all so tasty and because all the meals were included we thought it would be a shame to not eat, which meant we were never really hungry the whole time we were there. The deal included 3 courses at dinner, 2 courses at lunch and of course a full breakfast both days! It was kind of gourmet British with French influence, perfectly cooked meat, amazing deserts, just gorgeous.

Room - we had a bit of a drama with our room. The first room we were given was nice, a standard double room with a large modern bathroom. It's not a 5 star so I wasn't expecting a truly drop dead gorgeous bathroom and you didn't get one, but it was perfectly nice and clean. However, that night we heard an insect buzzing somewhere in the room. Couldn't find it. The next evening we could hear it again - I turned on the spotlights in the eaves above the window to get some more light and then we realised that there were several wasps in the eaves above the lights - they were those movable spotlights which had a gap around them and as they heated up the wasps were trying to get out into the room. It looked like there was a nest in the eaves! We legged it down to reception and to their credit, there was only one person left who was about to go home but no questions asked she immediately moved us to another room.

The 2nd room was bigger with a freestanding bath in the bathroom and an overhead old fashioned enormous shower head. Unfortunately the heating was stuck on in the bathroom and in a warm night in June it was pretty unbearable. The bath completely filled up to the ankles the next morning when we took a shower too!

We mentioned the wasp drama at reception when checking out, and the heating issue, and the receptionist said 'excuse me a moment' and went into the office - she came back out with a £50 voucher for our next stay, so I'll think we'll be back!

Overall - amazing location, lovely little spa facilities, fantastic food, lovely staff - some issues with rooms (:

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kittyknitter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulRodenLosehill, Owner at Losehill House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay - thankfully the wasps havn't returned but hopefully you will....thank-you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,037 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    617
    285
    79
    39
    17
See reviews for
163
674
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Alderley Edge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I booked an overnight stay at the hotel back in April. The booking was for a King Room and breakfast as well as the seven course tasting menu. The hotel setting is stunning so I was already to be receptive. Check In was effortless and the staff extremely friendly and welcoming. Our room was lovely, nice big bed, lovely furnishings and good bathroom. We used the pool, the sauna and the hot tub which was a great way to spend the afternoon.

We had a walk round the hotel and my partner was thriled that there were local (known to him) beers for sale and we were therefore very hopeful about the meal itself.

Well we weren't disappointed every course from the tomato and goats cheese starter to the milk chocolate pannacotta final course with sea bass, lamb and other courses in between. Good wine and service too.

Good nights sleep followed by a 'brought to the table' Derbyshire breaKfast .

To be honest the only downside was leaving . Will definately visit again.

Room Tip: I was glad we had booked a King Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulRodenLosehill, Owner at Losehill House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us - the local flavour is so important from the food, staff, suppliers, views and beer - Peak District at its best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
85 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Yesterday was an amazing day for my family. My daughters wedding reception was held at Losehill House, and I cannot praise this hotel and it's staff highly enough. The day was perfect and a lot of the reason for this was the superb organisation and hard work of the staff at the hotel. From beginning to end they worked so hard to make everything run smoothly. This was done in a quiet, efficient and unobtrusive way.
This hotel delivers understated luxury throughout. The rooms are beautifully appointed and spotlessly clean. The food is superb. I had many people telling me it was the best 'wedding food' they had ever had. As most of us know sometimes the food at weddings is very disappointing. This was anything but. Fantastic quality and flavour, delivered to the tables with quiet efficiency.
If you are looking for a beautiful venue in the Peak District then look no further. Go and have a look at Losehill and you won't be disappointed.
Thank you to all the staff who helped to make our special weekend unforgettable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ros1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulRodenLosehill, Owner at Losehill House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Its great that you enjoyed the wedding at Losehill - we did too! Many thanks for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

As a Secret Escapes offer of £174 to Losehill House Hotel and Spa for a 7 course tasting menu and breakfast my husband and I thought it would be a lovely place to stay as part of my 60th birthday treat. We booked to stay on the 25th June.
On arrival we were given a room which I asked to be changed.This was duly done.
Getting ready for a bath I discovered stains on the bathmat and towel. The other towel was badly frayed. Not happy I went to get a bathrobe and discovered it was very tatty, old and had a hole in it!! I went to reception to complain. We were given replacement towels and bathmat after they had been checked and also newly ordered "deluxe" bathrobes that had only just been delivered, and opened. On putting this on, it too, was badly frayed!!.This time my husband took it down to reception. I was very angry,cross and disappointed by now!!
Sparkling and still water offered in the room were in wrongly labelled bottles,and a packet of biscuits was left opened with a biscuit missing!!
.The owner came to discuss our complaints, gave us a£100 spa voucher to use if we were to visit again. Totally useless as we will not be returning!!
Just to add there was a terrible smell outside the bedroom,number 5, during the night.
Food was excellent though, as were the restaurant staff.

Room Tip: Room number 5 should be avoided until outside smell is rectified.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rickannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulRodenLosehill, Owner at Losehill House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Thank-you for the review - its not really what I expected after you had said that you would definately be returning. My offer was clearly not what you had in mind hence the poor review. I am really pleased that you say you enjoyed the meals. Myself and one of my best managers spent considerable time and effort to resolve the first bedroom - with a large but claustrophic bathroom which needed a window without any blinds or curtains which nobody could see into- 99% of bathrooms don't have windows in the hotel world - we are a pleasant exception - or perhaps in reality there must be a bedroom with an even better view? The issues with the second room were also quickly resolved and then to dinner at which point the whole mood turned more positive - or so we thought. But rest assured we will continue doing our best to ensure that our guests enjoy their stay at Losehill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west yorks
Level Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I took my friend for a well deserved treat and had an 80 minute facial, 2 course lunch and used the spa facilities, as day spa customers.
It was a lovely hot sunny day so the outside hot tub was lovely. The steam room out of order which was a disappointment. The pool really cold so it was a good job we could sit out in the sun taking in the stunning view.
The staff were all lovely from the reception to dining room staff and the spa staff Harriet was fantastic, very relaxing facial, thank you.
Lovely day but would have liked the use of steam room and pool warmer.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jollymid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulRodenLosehill, Owner at Losehill House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank-you for the review - it has been wonderful in the good weather with the views from the lawns or restaurant. We are currently being run by an electricity generator whilst the national grid replace the supply to the entire valley - this is causing problems with the spa equipment re-setting on a regular basis and losing temperature - it is only this week and will be much better once we are back on mains supply - by 1 July 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nailsworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I attended a wedding here and was blown away by the food and the standard of room. We had a wonderful time in the beautiful surroundings. The staff were friendly and polite. The only niggle we did have was that we had to wait an hour after check in time as there had been a wedding the previous day and our room was not available. Great stay overall and i would return and recommend to others!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Missa83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulRodenLosehill, Owner at Losehill House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
I am really pleased that you enjoyed the wedding with us at Losehill. Check-in before 2.00pm is allways a challenge when check-out is 11.00 but we try to turn the rooms around as efficiently as we can with a team of local hardworking and dedicated housekeepers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
481 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The hotel is not only in a fantastic location, at the end of a single track road, but the food is excellent.
We had the 8 course "A Taste of Losehill", which is a series of smallish course that make an excellent meal.
The room are very roomy and have great views.
There are some good walks from the hotel and you can climb up to the top of Losehill and then if you are energetic walk along the ridge to Mam Tor.
The staff are very friendly and helpful.
The wine is slightly on the pricey side but this is not unusual for a hotel of this standard, from £21 per bottle.
It is not very often that we visit a hotel that we definitely would wish to return too but this is one of them.
Well worth a stay of at least one night.

Room Tip: Ask for King room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank purpletravelat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulRodenLosehill, Owner at Losehill House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank-you for the review - we really appreciate the feedback. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the Peak District location and creative modern food both of which we are very proud of.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hope
21.3 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
10.7 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
378 reviews
9.8 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
388 reviews
10.8 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
9.9 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Baslow
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Losehill House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Losehill House Hotel & Spa

Property: Losehill House Hotel & Spa
Address: Lose Hill Lane | Edale Road, Hope Valley, Derbyshire, Hope, Peak District National Park S33 6AF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Hope
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hope
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Losehill House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The finest Hotel & Spa in the Peak District National Park ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Losehill House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Losehill House Hotel And Spa
Losehill House Hotel Hope
Losehill Hotel Hope
Losehill House Hotel & Spa Hope, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing