We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,140)
Filter reviews
1,140 results
Traveller rating
681
307
89
46
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
681
307
89
46
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tublosehill housecourse taster menusteam roompeak districtedale suiteoutdoor jacuzzifamily suiteking roomwine flightrestaurant staffstunning viewslose hillderbyshire breakfastsmall poollounge areaan overnight stay
Filter
Updating list...
608 - 613 of 1,140 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My brother recently had his wedding reception at this hotel. It was a boiling hot day in July and having the outside space made this venue ideal!
The food for the wedding breakfast was delicious. It was served with such a high restaurant quality which is often rare to see at weddings, there was definitely no carvary feel to this meal!
The staff were really friendly and attentive, nothing was too much for them to do.
We also spent the night of the wedding in the hotel. The rooms were stunning, all the features were nicely decorated, bathrooms large and cleaned well, with some beautiful smelling toiletries.
Had a great night sleep on a comfy bed.
The breakfast the following morning was also at a high standard! Really well made and with a large choice.
I honestly cannot fault this hotel, it has stunning views of the Derbyshire countryside, not many places have that view (perfect for photos!)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Sally P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulRodenLosehill, Owner at Losehill House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Thank-you for your review we really appreciate your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Our daughter got married on the 1st August and the whole event exceeded our expectations.

The receptionist's warm greeting and with the event co-ordinator, Jules, ensuring that the plentiful, friendly staff performed, the day and evening were a great success.

Well done

David Connor

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulRodenLosehill, Owner at Losehill House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank-you for the review - its great to play a part in the special day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Location - Stunning
Facilities - Excellent
Quality of Bedroom - Excellent
Food - Fantastic
Free Wifi - Appreciated
Spa - Clean & Spacious

So why were all but 2 staff distant and disinterested and why was the service so abject and non-apologetic???

We stayed as a business group for two days, one night and from check-in to check-out I have rarely seen a Hotel of this or any other class with such a basic lack of leadership and service standards.

It is not the fault of the staff (although a friendly smile and a hello should be more natural in a service job), but clearly there is little training in the basics and we saw no leadership.

Distant and disinterested, having to chase refreshments at EVERY scheduled conference break over two days, slow service behind schedule on two lunches and as for the evening meal for 22, well it beggars belief.

The appetisers and staters came and went whilst we were left to drink water (our wine order seemed to have been misplaced or ignored). Then much of the wine list was unavailable as a result of a wedding the previous weekend - no apology, no alternatives offered, just a shrug and a sigh!

The only two staff worthy of praise were the 2 bar staff who manned the fort all evening with a smile and a helpful manner.

How the older, more experienced staff (and the totally invisible management) could learn from them.

Out party of 22 were unanimous in our incredulity at the service and it got so noticeable as to become almost laughable as the two days passed.

It goes without saying that our annual conference next year - I suspect worth a decent amount to a small Hotel will be looking for an alternative venue.

Such a shame given that everything else was excellent - but come on Lose Hill, location and amenities alone do not make you exceptional - you have to try or at least appear to care!

Stayed: July 2014
10  Thank YorkTraveller1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulRodenLosehill, Owner at Losehill House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

We have taken all of the comments and investigated with the team - a couple of communication issues resulted in scheduling problems and misinterpretation of requests- we will certainly ensure that normal standard resumes and we are sorry that we didn't meet expectations from the previous visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed overnight because my husband is a foodie and wanted to try the taster menu. It was a beautiful dat so we were able to enjoy relaxing on the hotel lawns after checking in, and enjoyed the wonderful views. The jacuzzi was hot and lived up to expectations. We didn't use any of the other spa facilities owing to the good weather. Our room was on the top floor, again with wonderful views of the adjacent hills. The bed was comfortable, and bathroom spacious. The only slight glitch was the hair driers. The first stopped working after a very short while, and although the receptionist secured me a replacement from a vacant room, it also gave up the ghost almost immediately, so bad hair day at dinner! Both dinner and breakfast were of excellent quality. The South African lady who looks after the restaurant is first class, and other bar/restaurant staff very helpful, though perhaps a little inexperienced.

Room Tip: We had room 11 and would recommend. Take your own hair drier!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 18Sue18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulRodenLosehill, Owner at Losehill House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at Losehill. Sorry about the hair dryers - looks like an addition to the shopping list!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at Losehill House in April for 2 nights.

The hotel is set back from the main roads and is in a beautiful location surrounded by breathtaking views. We stayed in the wedding suite on a bed and breakfast basis and the room was huge! We have a lounge area (with a wardrobe, TV and settee) which led into the bedroom which had a kingsize bed, dressing table and a TV. We also had a very big bathroom with a double bath, two sinks, a walk-in shower and a large mirror which came in handy when getting ready.

The spa was small, with a tiny sauna and steam room (only big enough for 4 people). Luckily when we decided to go in the spa it was empty so we had the place to ourselves. We was quite disappointed that the outside hot tub wasn't working and neither was the steam room. So really we only had access to the sauna and swimming pool (which was freezing!) Overall the spa was disappointing, we had much higher expectations as it is a 'spa hotel'.

Our stay at the hotel was lovely, the breakfast was very nice and there was a variety of food to choose from. The restaurant where you have breakfast is very tranquil and has fantastic views of the outdoor landscape.

Whilst we were there we went horse riding at Nether Booth Farm. This was only a 5 minute drive from the hotel and is definitely a must! We paid for a one hour trek and rode up into the hills, the views were amazing.

During the night we went to a local pub called 'The Old Hall' which was a few minutes drive away, the hotel itself is situated in a small town but if you are willing to drive 10 minutes away there are more things to do! We ate in a pub called 'The Castle' where the food was lovely and there was a nice welcoming atmosphere.

Overall the stay in the hotel was lovely, the room was very spacious, clean and modern.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Bofflesterxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulRodenLosehill, Owner at Losehill House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Thanks for the review - the hot tub and steam room are now working fine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews