We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (159)
Filter reviews
159 results
Traveller rating
118
31
7
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
118
31
7
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub quiz night peak district four nights lovely village welcoming place to stay watch the football main bar regular venue juliet balcony monday or tuesday great room toast one night stay lovely hosts spent days warm welcome
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 159 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2017

We didn't stay at the pub but had our meals there and the pub has a real local feel with the main bar quite busy and lively but the lounge area is more like a pub restaurant. The menu offers the usual pub favorites all cooked to order and Lynn the landlady is very helpful if you have dietary challenges such as GF. She even got some special puddings for my wife. Our friends that stayed at the pub spoke highly of the accommodation and the flexible breakfast arrangements

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dwim1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynne S, Manager at The Shoulder of Mutton, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2017

It was a real pleasure to spend time with your friends who visited us for a week landscape painting. The size of the party, meant they had the accommodation to themselves for the majority of the time and the atmosphere was that of a house party! Enormous fun. The weather was a real "mixed bag" the week you were here and the group coped well with their outdoor painting classes which ranged from 30 degrees of heat, to wet and cold!!
We pride ourselves on offering a selection of vegetarian and gluten free options, especially where our guests have the foresight to give us advance information as you and Sally were sensible enough to do!
A great week, which will hopefully be repeated at some future point.
Regards
Lynne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2017 via mobile

Went for a couple of days walking with my son. Great base, local walks excellent-particularly if you do the work to get up on the ridge.
Could not have asked for more-made very welcome, rooms and food simple but. Will visit again.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynne S, Manager at The Shoulder of Mutton, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2017

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay in this beautiful little village of ours and that the walking and accommodation met your expectations.
Thank you for taking the time to let other potential guests know your views.

Regards

Lynne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2017 via mobile

Excellent location, in a quiet village Great welcome from lynne and her staff. Rooms very comfortable and food was amazing especially breakfast
nothing to much trouble. A must is the quiz night such a laugh and good banter.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank sallyandcliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynne S, Manager at The Shoulder of Mutton, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2017

Hi Cliff and Sally,

We thoroughly enjoyed having you to stay with us here at The Shoulder and are pleased you both found it a pleasant experience too!

There is always a welcome for you here if you should wish to return!!

Regards

Lynne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017

A lovely traditional pub, open fire, friendly staff an homely food. Three of us had steak pie and chips and the meal was excellent, the pie was full of juicy well cooked steak without too much pastry, a perfect pub lunch. The fourth person in our party had the gammon and only left some of their meal due to the size of the portions. Proper pub grub and in a delightful part of Derbyshire. The pub is also dog friendly, would definitely recommend. From a previous visit,the letting rooms are also clean reasonably priced and nicely decorated. We have paid twice as much per night for much lesser quality.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MrsStephanieShaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynne S, Manager at The Shoulder of Mutton, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2017

What a joy to know that our food was up to a standard you enjoyed. Many reviews on this site are regarding the bed and breakfast business, so its great to hear that we are also succeeding on the "food" front!
Looking forward to seeing you again very soon.

Regards

Lynne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2017

This was our third stay at The Shoulder and Lynn and all of her staff deserve full marks for consistency. They are always so friendly, helpful and customer focused with nothing being too much trouble (and their regulars are welcoming too). Adding in the great food and location means this is well and truly going to be a regular venue for our get-together with friends for years to come.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynne S, Manager at The Shoulder of Mutton, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2017

A pleasure, as always, to have you guys back to stay with us. It is always special when old friends return and we are happy you felt we were still "on the ball"!
Here's to the next time!
Regards

Lynne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews