We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B in super village location with perfect hosts”
Review of Chy an Dour

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ashford-in-the-Water
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chy an Dour
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Another wonderful three days at Chy-an-Dour. We have stayed here many times over the past 10 years and can thoroughly recommend this B&B. Ann and Stuart are really friendly, but not intrusive, and as they are both locals their knowledge of the area is fabulous. There is a small car park for all guests just opposite - this is an added bonus, especially in a popular village like this. Ashford in the Water is a very pretty village and it was great to be there during 'Well Dressing Week' in June. Ann's superb breakfast really sets you up for the day and kept us going until dinner in the village at the Ashford Arms just a few minutes walk away (very good value and best to book as it gets busy).

Room Tip: We usually stay in the large Double Room which is self-contained without going through the main hous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Me and OH have just returned from a super walking and drinking weekend in such a beautiful village. Ann and Stuart were lovely hosts, very welcoming but not in your face! Even had books in rooms , muddy boot tray and hair dryers. Really comfortable beds and quality bedding., good shower, well stocked tea tray., and so pristine clean. A Great breakfast set us up for two days of walking the monsal trail., which is around 25mins away thru fields at top of road.,( turn right out of b&b. go past highfield farm then turn right thru stile and follow signs until you climb over a stile and find yourself slap bang in the middle of walkers and cyclists. Go to the right and after a steady half hour walk., you end up at the viaduct at Monsal head.) Fabulous climb up to the top for one of the best views in the peak district!! We also enjoyed some great real ale., fabulous pub grub (mackeral pate at bulls head in the village gorgeous), some fabulous charity shops in bakewell when rainy (designer bag £15!!!) and some laughs with the village locals in the pub. A fantastic weekend all topped off with a great little gem that is Chy an Dour. Could not fault it and We would not hesitate to go back!! thank you xx

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jelly2t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

What a beautiful area, beautiful home and beautiful hosts. Stuart and Anne made us feel at home. With Anne's amazing English breakfast to the very cosy and comfy bed. Both my daughter and I will remember the experience of Chy-an-Dour for a very long time.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnnaKingaroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Stayed here saturday night, a lovely little b&b set in the perfect location for visiting the peaks. Ann and Stewart were very friendly and welcoming, the room was lovely and clean, and i most recomend her cooked breakfast in the morning, would definately recomend a stay if your visiting the area

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

My husband and I stayed here for two nights with my mother in law, we had the double room with a twin next door,the rooms were perfect for 3/4 people travelling together. The hospitality was superb, breakfast lovely and Ann was most helpful when giving information on the local area. Would definitely return. Ashford in the water is a beautiful village.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This is a wonderful B&B and we were given the pine room which was fitted out to a high
standard, the breakfasts were first class and Ann & Stuart are very kind and caring hosts
and we will use their establishment again in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Me and my partner stayed here for the weekend and had a fantastic time. It is about half an hour walk from the centre of Bakewell, which is a really nice walk even in November.
The place is very homely and has everything we need such as hair dryer, towels, wifi etc.
We had breakfast in the morning which was very tasty and sat by a window with a wonderful view. I recommend anyone to stay for a nice trip to the English countryside.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank April B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Chy an Dour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chy an Dour

Address: Vicarage Lane, Ashford-in-the-Water, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1QN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell > Ashford-in-the-Water
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ashford-in-the-Water
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Split Level bungalow situated in a quiet position over looking the picturesque village. Which is one mile from the monsal trail. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chy An Dour Ashford-In-The-Water, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing