We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our 8th visit need we say more”
Review of Chy an Dour

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ashford-in-the-Water
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chy an Dour
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Our 8th visit need we say more”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Just had a wonderful 5 nights at Chy an Dour, It was our 8th visit so need we say more. The service and standards just keep getting better, a great welcome, comfortable bedroom and a great breakfast what more could you ask for. Sad to leave but looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: All rooms are good but twin is our favourite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malcolm w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    5
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
42
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pevensey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Another wonderful three days at Chy-an-Dour. We have stayed here many times over the past 10 years and can thoroughly recommend this B&B. Ann and Stuart are really friendly, but not intrusive, and as they are both locals their knowledge of the area is fabulous. There is a small car park for all guests just opposite - this is an added bonus, especially in a popular village like this. Ashford in the Water is a very pretty village and it was great to be there during 'Well Dressing Week' in June. Ann's superb breakfast really sets you up for the day and kept us going until dinner in the village at the Ashford Arms just a few minutes walk away (very good value and best to book as it gets busy).

Room Tip: We usually stay in the large Double Room which is self-contained without going through the main hous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chesterfield
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Me and OH have just returned from a super walking and drinking weekend in such a beautiful village. Ann and Stuart were lovely hosts, very welcoming but not in your face! Even had books in rooms , muddy boot tray and hair dryers. Really comfortable beds and quality bedding., good shower, well stocked tea tray., and so pristine clean. A Great breakfast set us up for two days of walking the monsal trail., which is around 25mins away thru fields at top of road.,( turn right out of b&b. go past highfield farm then turn right thru stile and follow signs until you climb over a stile and find yourself slap bang in the middle of walkers and cyclists. Go to the right and after a steady half hour walk., you end up at the viaduct at Monsal head.) Fabulous climb up to the top for one of the best views in the peak district!! We also enjoyed some great real ale., fabulous pub grub (mackeral pate at bulls head in the village gorgeous), some fabulous charity shops in bakewell when rainy (designer bag £15!!!) and some laughs with the village locals in the pub. A fantastic weekend all topped off with a great little gem that is Chy an Dour. Could not fault it and We would not hesitate to go back!! thank you xx

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jelly2t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

What a beautiful area, beautiful home and beautiful hosts. Stuart and Anne made us feel at home. With Anne's amazing English breakfast to the very cosy and comfy bed. Both my daughter and I will remember the experience of Chy-an-Dour for a very long time.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnaKingaroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Stayed here saturday night, a lovely little b&b set in the perfect location for visiting the peaks. Ann and Stewart were very friendly and welcoming, the room was lovely and clean, and i most recomend her cooked breakfast in the morning, would definately recomend a stay if your visiting the area

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

My husband and I stayed here for two nights with my mother in law, we had the double room with a twin next door,the rooms were perfect for 3/4 people travelling together. The hospitality was superb, breakfast lovely and Ann was most helpful when giving information on the local area. Would definitely return. Ashford in the water is a beautiful village.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This is a wonderful B&B and we were given the pine room which was fitted out to a high
standard, the breakfasts were first class and Ann & Stuart are very kind and caring hosts
and we will use their establishment again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashford-in-the-Water
1.6 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
1.7 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
2.3 mi away
The Lathkil Hotel
The Lathkil Hotel
#1 of 1 in Over Haddon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Baslow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
7.6 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riverside House Hotel
Riverside House Hotel
#2 of 4 in Ashford-in-the-Water
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chy an Dour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chy an Dour

Property: Chy an Dour
Address: Vicarage Lane, Ashford-in-the-Water, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1QN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell > Ashford-in-the-Water
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ashford-in-the-Water
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Split Level bungalow situated in a quiet position over looking the picturesque village. Which is one mile from the monsal trail. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chy An Dour Ashford-In-The-Water, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing