We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location, fabulous cottage and a very warm welcome”
Review of Churchdale Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ashford-in-the-Water
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Churchdale Farm
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We stayed in Derwent with our 1 year old and found it extremely comfortable and a very well laid out house. It was really well equipped and location wise could not have been better for exploring the Monsal Trail and Chatsworth as well as nearby towns such as Bakewell. There is a wealth of child friendly activities on your doorstep so we didn't have to travel far. We would thoroughly recommend this cottage.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmilyJaneYoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2013

My husband, daughter and myself have recently spent a most enjoyable week in Dove Cottage. The owners were very hospitable and have acquired the knack of being available at all times, while not being intrusive.The cottage itself is very welcoming,clean and comfortable, and we enjoyed having a picnic table and benches just outside, of which we took advantage on the sunny days. Equally, on the few duller days, we lit the log-burning stove in the evenings. We were so pleasantly surprised at how many attractions there are within a short radius of the cottage, both within walking and driving distance. In fact, we had one of the best, most relaxing holidays that we have all had for some time .

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank montmort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a week in the Dales. From the warm welcome on arrival, Wye cottage and the holiday was everything that we hoped it would be. A lot of thought has gone into the layout and the cottage benefits from a fully-equipped kitchen and excellent soft furnishings. The bed was so comfortable that had we had room in the car we would have tried to take it away with us! As others have said, the cottage is well located and we enjoyed visits to the caves, Haddon Hall, Hardwick Hall, Ilam Park, Dovedale and, of course, the Monsal Trail. In sum, the trio of Churchdale Farm cottages are a gem in the Dales. We recommend them unreservedly to anyone looking for a base to explore this beautiful part of the Country.

Room Tip: Wye Cottage is an excellent choice for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HenGus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

We may have stayed on an off week, judging by other reviews on this site, but arrived to find kitchen not fully cleaned. Kitchen was layout also cluttered and poorly lit, with little worktop. The only storage space for food was in cupboard under stairs, which was warm from radiator. Owners seemed busy and though they did quickly make an effort to do some cleaning, the kitchen still smelt. Was disappointed. I don't normally give negative feedback, but these things dented our enjoyment of our holiday.
However the location was fantastic, bed very comfortable and bathroom clean and modern. Great cycling on Monsal trail from door. If they sorted these things we would probably have found it as good as pervious reviewers

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank clare r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ashfordh2o, Owner at Churchdale Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2013

We regret that on this occasion the cooker hood was missed on our final inspection. The client told us about this at 8pm and we left our family dinner party immediately to attend to it. Having cleaned the cooker hood and replaced the filter we chatted to the guest. She told us that she did not like the layout of the kitchen and had moved all the glass and crockery to the store cupboard (which does not have a radiator in it) . No mention at all was made of smell or other issues.
We have just had a Quality in Tourism Inspection and have retained our five star gold award. The inspector was happy that the kitchen met with all their standards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

Myself and my wife have stayed at churchdale farm on a number of occasions and we have loved it every time. The cottages are extremely comfortable and well equipped and they are very well located. Close to chatsworth as well as great access to the rest of the Peak District. We would definately recommend these cottages to anyone. We hope to go there again soon.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richjmason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

This was our first time visiting Churchdale Farm, staying in the Derwent Cottage. We received a warm welcome from the owners who answered any questioned we had. The cottage was well equipped, very clean and furnished to an excellent standard. We have stayed in 5 star hotels that were not as clean as this cottage.
We even had fresh flowers, a bakewell tart and milk waiting for us !!
On the day it poured with rain we enjoyed sitting around the log fire, playing board games.

The Location is great for accessing Bakewell, the Monsal Trail and Chatsworth. We could step out of the cottage and walk to the Monsal trail and all the linked walks in 5mins. Bike hire from Hassop station is only a 20min stroll on a traffic free path.

We will be definately coming back here. hopefully very soon.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClareSG18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

This was our first visit and one we would recommend to anyone, the place is lovely and the owners and just so friendly and nice. The cottage was so well equipped you did not have to worry about anything. The recommendations for the pubs was spot on! and we will definatly be coming back,That is if we can get a booking!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robbie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Churchdale Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Churchdale Farm

Address: Ashford-in-the-Water, Ashford-in-the-Water, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1NX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell > Ashford-in-the-Water
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Ashford-in-the-Water
Price Range: £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Churchdale Farm 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Churchdale Farm offers 3 spacious owner-managed 5 star holiday cottages. They are beautifully furnished, have a wealth of exposed beams, log burning stoves, free WiFi internet, freesat TV, DVD players etc. Formerly part of the Chatsworth Estate, Churchdale is a small working sheep farm and the cottages have been converted from old farm buildings ideal for couples and young families. Churchdale Farm, in the centre of the Peak District is within 5 miles of Chatsworth, Haddon Hall and Bakewell. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Churchdale Farm Ashford-In-The-Water, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing