We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic”
other travellers have booked this property
Townend Holiday Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Townend Holiday Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
101 reviews
Townend Holiday Cottage
The very popular homemade Victoria Sandwich Cakes awaits
Pretty practical crockery, which is very accessible.
Salt, Pepper, dried herbs, vinegar and oil are provided, one less thing to bring.
Hall Landing
Bathroom, full size bath, electric shower, water heating controls
Complimentary toiletries for use during your stay
Bakewell
Village view
Village view
Our Local Pub 'The Cock and Pullet'
Townend Cottage
We have wonderful walks on the doorstep
Our Village Church
Magpie Mines, just a short walk away
Monsal Dale
Monsal Dale in the winter
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ashford-in-the-Water, Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 101 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Norwegian first
Any
English first
JPHampshi...
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage was absolutely perfect for the 2 of us and our dog to stay in for a few days. Great base for climbing, mountain biking and walking. The cottage is amazingly well equipped, the lovely owner has thought of absolutely everything and keeps the cottage immaculately clean. I'm trying to think of a criticism for a well rounded review...but I can't! We had a fantastic time and would highly recommend.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanBLevi
Atherstone, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A little gem”
Reviewed 1 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We stayed over the Easter Weekend at Townend Cottage and we had a great time. We know the area pretty well but haven't actually stayed in Sheldon before. We arrived and walked in to find a delicious cake baked by Lindsey waiting on the table, 6 eggs from their hens and a pint of milk in the fridge. The cake was awesome!!! The cottage isn't big but has everything you need. Good kitchen area, dishwasher and even a washer dryer. The bathroom is lovely and the bed comfy.

Sheldon is a tranquil Peak District Village, that's still got a real village atmosphere to it. The local pub (Cock and Pullett!) is lovely. We've been there several times before but only ever for a drink as we visited during a walk. We ate there one night and had a great meal. The beers good too. Walks from the door are gorgeous. You can get down to Ashford, Bakewell, the Monsal Trail pretty easily on the huge network of Paths. The cottage provides loads of guide books and maps if you're new to the area.

All in all we had a great time and will definitely go again!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane T
Romford
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Cottage was cosy and well equipped - ideal for walks from the door!”
Reviewed 6 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Cottage was warm and cosy. Lots of nice touches - home made cake, milk and eggs in the fridge, good range of toiletries. Very quiet so ideal for a restful break. Lots of excellent walks from the cottage itself or short drives away. Bakewell only 10 minutes away by car but you can also walk there.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
579Ann
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Weekend away”
Reviewed 2 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Townend Cottage is a cosy little place to stay in Sheldon. Lindsey the owner greeted us with a warm welcome, she provided us with milk in the fridge and a gorgeous Victoria cake. The cottage as everything you need a lovely bedroom bathroom with shower over the bath. I would recommend Townend Cottage to anyone who wants a quiet retreat in the lovely little village of Sheldon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
familymas...
Andover, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful, cosy cottage in a lovely location”
Reviewed 15 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at this ideal cosy cottage. It was extremely well equipped, and the owner provided some milk, eggs and a delicious cake!. It was in a quiet location, with a pub close by. There were walks from the door, and plenty of places to visit close by.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: quiet location
Liked least: the weather
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kverndalw...
1 review
“Perfect country cottage”
Reviewed 22 March 2013 for a stay in February 2013

This is an absolutely lovely cottage. It has everything you could every need and feels very cosy and homely. It's close to Chatsworth House which we visited and the pubs of Bakewell are excellent.

The hostess couldn't have been kinder or more thoughtful. I can't recommend this cottage enough, we had an absolutely perfect weekend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cosiness
Liked least: Nothing - it really is perfect
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Citysnapp...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just Perfect”
Reviewed 22 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013

We stayed 4 nights mid March and did lots of walking. The cottage was extremely comfortable and well-equipped and Sheldon was a lovely quiet village with a nice pub. Will certainly return for more of the same! Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort, facilities and location.
Liked least: That we couldn't stay longer!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing