We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Homely cottage with great views”
other travellers have booked this property
Townend Holiday Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Townend Holiday Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
108 reviews
Townend Holiday Cottage
The very popular homemade Victoria Sandwich Cakes awaits
Pretty practical crockery, which is very accessible.
Salt, Pepper, dried herbs, vinegar and oil are provided, one less thing to bring.
Hall Landing
Bathroom, full size bath, electric shower, water heating controls
Complimentary toiletries for use during your stay
Bakewell
Village view
Village view
Our Local Pub 'The Cock and Pullet'
Townend Cottage
We have wonderful walks on the doorstep
Our Village Church
Magpie Mines, just a short walk away
Monsal Dale
Monsal Dale in the winter
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ashford-in-the-Water, Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 108 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Norwegian first
Any
English first
kaleem785
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Homely cottage with great views”
Reviewed 21 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Myself and my husband stayed for 3 nights as a relaxation retreat before our baby is born in January. We had read the reviews on this site prior to booking and with the price it was the only choice for us. I'm so glad we did stay here as it was everything we needed. Lindsey had baked a cake and left fresh eggs and milk for us which was a lovely touch. We are not big walkers (great area for walking even still) we found that the location was perfect for our needs which was visiting Matlock and Bakwell for tea and scones. I would recommend this cottage as a short getaway gem whatever your reason may be :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bed was soooo comfortable!
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoffrey...
Rainford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Superb Holiday Cottage”
Reviewed 17 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

This was our second visit to this delightful cottage. Townend cottage is a lovely cosy cottage in a small attractive village. The cottage is very well equipped with everything you need and is very clean. The bedroom has a very comfortable king size bed with quality bedding and pillows. The bathroom has a great range of toiletries. The owner, Lindsey has thought about her guest needs, she leaves a welcome pack in the cottage and this includes a yummy home made cake. We have no hesitation in recommending this cottage. We are looking forward to our next visit.
Geoff & Marje Brown

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gtravelle...
Stockport
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sheldon's Little Gem”
Reviewed 22 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

I've just got round to writing about one of the best holidays ever. We had read the very positive reviews about Townend Cottage and we hoped that our expectations would be met. I can honestly say, they were exceeded! A beautifully equipped cottage with all the home comforts. Immaculately clean and we even have a home baked cake to welcome us.
The location is great for walking and with the village pub just across the road, what more could we ask for! We will return.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanley J
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“The best”
Reviewed 22 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Great Cottage, Great location, Great Pub in village. Superb Cake!!!!
Excellent value for money. Will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was perfect
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain W
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great little cottage for 2 - clean, comfy and nice location”
Reviewed 21 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Great little cottage which is well maintained and nicely presented. Lots of extras such as shampoo, other toiletries, fresh eggs, milk and cake. The cottage also had wifi which was not advertised. The pictures don't do it justice.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean and well equipped
Liked least: No open fire or stove, which would be a great addition
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 August 2014 for a stay in March 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing