We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Perfect Little Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Townend Holiday Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Townend Holiday Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
106 reviews
Townend Holiday Cottage
The very popular homemade Victoria Sandwich Cakes awaits
Pretty practical crockery, which is very accessible.
Salt, Pepper, dried herbs, vinegar and oil are provided, one less thing to bring.
Hall Landing
Bathroom, full size bath, electric shower, water heating controls
Complimentary toiletries for use during your stay
Bakewell
Village view
Village view
Our Local Pub 'The Cock and Pullet'
Townend Cottage
We have wonderful walks on the doorstep
Our Village Church
Magpie Mines, just a short walk away
Monsal Dale
Monsal Dale in the winter
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ashford-in-the-Water, Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 106 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Norwegian first
Any
English first
Nick B
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Perfect Little Cottage”
Reviewed 12 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

If you want a great location for visiting Bakewell, Chatsworth and the Peak National Park, then you can't do better than Sheldon. It's blissfully quiet, beautiful, full of character and typifies the nature of many small villages in the Derbyshire Dales. In addition, there is a local pub with good beer and a decent, simple menu.

Townend Cottage is small, but perfect for two, and is very comfortable and well equipped. Nothing seemed to be missing and everything you realistically need is available, including wi-fi and Freeview TV. Lindsey and her husband were very freindly and welcoming, and provide the most delicious lemon-drizzle cake and a half-dozen of the best eggs we've come across!

Excellent!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort and convenience
Liked least: Small bathroom
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mandy b
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just perfect in every way!”
Reviewed 5 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Fabulous location in the most wonderful little village. The pup was just the job at the end of a long day walking with good beer and good honest food. The cottage was perfect for the two of us (plus dog), spotlessly clean and such a nice touch with the little extras. (yummy home-made cake, fresh eggs and milk).
Well done and will be back in the autumn.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Too many great things to mention just one!
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crimewrit...
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
328 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Excellent location, cosy cottage”
Reviewed 31 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We had a lovely week at Townend Cottage. The location was ideal - close to all of the things we wanted to see. Lindsey was a wonderful host who, in addition to providing a delicious cake to welcome us, quickly sorted out our problem with a beeping smoke alarm. The cottage is quite tiny, but adequate for two people (and a dog), and it's well equipped with most of the necessities. The bed was one of the most comfortable we've ever slept in.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the comfortable bed
Liked least: no enclosed garden for our dog
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ritameter...
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
“cosy & convenient to pub”
Reviewed 13 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Townend Cottage was all one would want-it was so warm & cosy when chilly & snowy outside
Lindsey had made it so welcoming especially with the eggs, cake & milk-real home from home
Bed fantastically comfortable
Pub so handy & served really good food
Would definitely return

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: comfort of all
Liked least: the only window one could look out of was the door
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andry64
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage in unspoilt village”
Reviewed 14 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

My husband and I were looking for somewhere to go for a few days to chill out and relax. I saw this property whilst searching the internet and thought it looked exactly what we were looking for, I was definitely right! The cottage is lovely and cosy and we arrived to eggs, milk, tea and coffee along with a home-made lemon drizzle cake, which was very welcome. The cottage had everything we needed, and more, ample toiletries in the bathroom, soft towels, loads of storage in the bedroom and the bed was very comfortable. It's obvious the cottage has been very well looked after. The village itself is very peaceful which is just what we wanted, we ate in the local pub a couple of times and the food was lovely. There are some good walks in the local area and plenty to discover by car, would definitely recommend and would love to stay here again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The attention to detail and all the extras included made us feel very welcome
Liked least: Can't really think about anything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahandR...
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Will be back!!!”
Reviewed 23 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

My partner and I stayed in Townend Cottage 9th-12th March 2016 - we were looking for a short break away from the hustle and bustle of home for our birthdays and what we got was exactly that!!

The cottage is in a little village called Sheldon which itself doesn't have much but that's what we liked. The local pub The Cock and Pullet was what we'd call a 'proper' pub, open fire, home made food (amazing by the way!), comfy, cosy, friendly locals - perfect.

There are lots of places to visit and things to see within 30 mins drive. We went to see the Lady Bower Reservoir and were lucky enough to witness the spillways or 'plug holes' in full action!! Amazing site.

We also visited Castleton but the castle was closed on the day we went :(

The cottage itself was comfy and cosy and once we got it nice and warm it was perfect. Lindsey had even made us a homemade lemon drizzle cake which was fantastic and moist! The eggs and milk were a lovely touch too.

We were surprised by how clean the cottage was and how much stuff is provided for you - I can't think of a single thing I thought we needed that wasn't already there.

I would recommend this lovely quaint cottage to anyone and we'd definitely visit again!!

Thank you for having us stay!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean and well equipped.
Liked least: The fact we were only there for 4 days :(
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevin l
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 20 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

What a lovely place , we were blessed with snow on our stay and it made the views on our walks even more spectacular and walked from the cottage . Everything in the cottage you could possibly want from nice glasses to a slow cooker . I enjoy cooking while away and was very impressed with the attention to detail with all the utensils. Great choice of dvd s to choose from. Great pub seconds away serving good food and beer all at a reasonable cost. Lindsey lived next door but only saw her the day we left although had there been a problem a note said just knock or ring and it would be sorted, we had no problems at all. I have to mention that I messed Lindsey about with dates but she was so helpful and not a hint of frustration. Thank you Lindsey.
Would love to go back again could not rate it high enough.
Kevin

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: ever thing , location ,c the cottage itself, great local pub, lovely walks
Liked least: Thought hard , but nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing