We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay but...”
Review of River Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ashford-in-the-Water
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
River Cottage
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2011

We spent a very pleasant couple of nights at River Cottage. Although the owners were away we were very well looked after. The room could have been larger but had an excellent ensuite and the little extras of 'special' toiletries and fresh milk were appreciated. Our one disappointment was the TV which was very small and located high in a corner which made it difficult to see. The cottage had a range of information leaflets and walks booklets which we took advantage of. The breakfast was first class with quality ingredients and home made preserves - slight niggle that we could not have white toast or Weetabix - but otherwise excellent. The B and B is situated on a main trunk road but this was not particularly noticable. It boasts a delightful riverside garden.
Considering the size of the room we felt that it was overpriced compared with similar establishments. If staying here you must try the White Lion at Great Longstone - much better than the recommended pubs in Ashford.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suki94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2011

My wife and I had a couple of days away in Derbyshire in June, walking and visiting Hardwick Hall and Chatsworth, and had the great good fortune to choose River Cottage from the internet.

From the moment we arrived until we left it could not be faulted. The ensuite room was clean, comfortable and well furnished, something that had obviously been done with careful thought. The bathroom was very modern and again it was well laid out with a large walk in shower, which was lovely after a day's walking.

The house is set in a garden that has the river at the bottom, and we enjoyed feeding the trout with the surplus toast from breakfast. We had the full English breakfast which was cooked to order, well presented and delicious - cerials and fresh fruit and juices were also available.

The house is set close to the A6, but we were not disturbed in any way by it - thinking back, I can't remember hearing any traffic noise whatsoever.

In summary, it's the best B&B that I have used. The rooms are superb, as is the breakfast and the high standard of service offered by the people who run it. If you are in the area, stay there, you won't be disappointed and it's great value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dugb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

My adult daughter and I wanted a launch point for our visit to Chatsworth, and I can't imagine a nicer place to stay than the River Cottage. Located just minutes from Chatsworth, this lovely B&B gives the genre a good name. We wound through country lanes and finally found our way to as pretty a cottage as you could hope to find. Our room looked over the garden, but then the entire community seems like a garden. The modern bathroom was well equipped with toiletries and modern fixtures. The room wasn't large by any means, and the bed could use a bit better support, but it was sort of like sleeping at a friend's place--we felt at home. Breakfast was as large as you could handle or smaller, upon request, and served in a lovely sunny room alongside the garden. And what a garden! Nothing at Chatsworth was better maintained; flowers of all sorts, alongside the lovely river. We weren't able to do as other guests and sit by the riverside with a cocktail--the downside of planning too many activities. The neighborhood pub offered friendly service, delicious food, and that ale! Our only regret about our stay at the cottage was that the owners were away; I'd have loved to meet them and talk gardens.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WickB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2011

Supremely comfortable, great breakfast, fantastic service and excellent suggestions for things to do and places to eat in the local area. We would recommend to our friends and certainly hope to return in the future! Many thanks for a fantastic stay!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimmyDCarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2011

We had a two night break staying with Gilly and John. We arrived very late and a bit confused by sat nav (Gilly guided us in!) to a warm welcome. The room was spacious and very comfortable, with some nice touches to make you feel at home (fresh milk is much better than UHT sachets!). Breakfasts were fantastic with the best selection of homemade jams we've seen for ages. The location is convenient for the local village, the village shop is handy to pick up a packed lunch. Pubs are okay, but beware the rural opening hours. The recommendations Gilly and John gave for walks, things to do and places to eat were spot on. Overall a great weekend and we'd definitely look fir a return trip.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KJW2512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2010

A wonderful place to stay, the location, hosts and accommodation are all stunning. Gilly and John offer a complete experience, from the warmest of welcomes to the outstanding breakfasts and a level of luxury in the accommodation that is a real treat. This was our second visit back to River Cottage and we will definitely return to enjoy what is a very special place. We will very much look forward to enjoying a wine again by the river in the beautiful garden and surroundings.Thank you for being such wonderful hosts and for sharing your unique property.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacksonsonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2010

Had a great 2 nights at River Cottage. Why can't all B&Bs be like this one. Wonderful welcoming hosts.... how do some people mAke it all seem so effortless whilst providing a wonderful home to share along with such fabulous service and lovely little personal touches. It's easy to forget sometimes that this lovely B&B is also a family home. Well Jilly and John made us feel like it was our home too for 2 nights. A breakfast to die for to top it all off. Many thanks Jilly and John

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tripjenstrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashford-in-the-Water
1.8 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
1.7 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
396 reviews
4.9 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Peacock at Rowsley
The Peacock at Rowsley
#1 of 2 in Rowsley
498 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riverside House Hotel
Riverside House Hotel
#2 of 4 in Ashford-in-the-Water
228 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Devonshire Arms at Beeley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Cottage

Address: River Cottage Buxton Road, Ashford-in-the-Water, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1QP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell > Ashford-in-the-Water
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ashford-in-the-Water
Price Range: £80 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — River Cottage 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We now offer this awarding wining property as an exclusive use self catering cottage in Ashford-in-the-Water, arguably the prettiest village in the Peak District National Park. Perfect for large groups accommodating up to 20 guests. Beautiful riverside location, a stroll away and stunning walks from the front door. 10 minutes from Chatsworth House, 5 minutes from Haddon Hall and at the start of the Monsal Trail. Spend lazy afternoons sitting by the river feeding the trout, or come and walk the trails. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
River Cottage Hotel Ashford-In-The-Water
River Cottage Ashford-In-The-Water, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing